.
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 81

Thread: Car Tagger

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,393
     

    Default Try this, please

    OK - here is a workaround for getting a tagged session from one person to another.

    I'd be really grateful if you guys could try it. At this stage think of it as a "proof of concept".

    Download this zip file:

    https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resi...nt=file%2c.zip

    Extract the file to a temporary folder.

    The cdp file contains a route I've been working on plus a session. It also contains the latest version of Car Tagger - I had to get it off the DLS back pages.

    Install the cdp file using Content Manager and capture any missing dependencies. From a clean install of TS12 + SP1 + Hot Fixes I had to download 81 dependencies. Most of these are commodities. If you have any of my routes installed the downloads may be just three or four.

    The zip file also contains a folder "inglenook car tagger test - 1-01-2014, 11.07".

    Copy this to TS12/UserData/cache/sessions.

    Now we should be good to go.

    Start TS12, then Select Route / Inglenook / View Session / inglenook car tagger test - 1-01-2014, 11.07 / Resume Session.

    The cars are all tagged. Use Esc to close the Tagger window. Mouse click on the locomotive to drive the saved session. Moving backward or forward (- and + keys) along the consist will bring up the Tagger window. Again, Esc will close it.

    Use the Map View (Ctrl-M toggle on/off) to locate the industries designated in the Tagger window. All industries have the prefix "IND". The appropriate freight cars will unload or load when spotted between the yellow marks at the correct industry.

    Tell me how it goes.

    Phil

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Austin
    Posts
    1,593
     

    Default

    Unknown Location: SP SD45,<kuid2:45324:100139:1>

    Have everything else except 20ft Container Steel Coil 2 product,<kuid2:97008:48142:1>, a commodity for LARS IndustRail v3,<kuid2:69871:2137:1>

    When I open the saved session, there are no traincars on the route.

    Were you able to successfully restart the session after it was saved?

    David
    Last edited by Dap; December 31st, 2013 at 10:00 PM.
    Dap, Newton & Northwestern RR
    Boone, Rockwell City & Northwestern RR
    Marshalltown & Dakota RR
    Boone Valley Coal & Rwy Co.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Delaware, Dover
    Posts
    2,316
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dap View Post
    Unknown Location: SP SD45,<kuid2:45324:100139:1>
    That is the built-in Mojave SD45

    Harold

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Austin
    Posts
    1,593
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hminky View Post
    That is the built-in Mojave SD45

    Harold
    Doesn't seem to be built in to my installation. TS12, build 49922
    Dap, Newton & Northwestern RR
    Boone, Rockwell City & Northwestern RR
    Marshalltown & Dakota RR
    Boone Valley Coal & Rwy Co.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Austin
    Posts
    1,593
     

    Default

    Phil,

    Finally got it installed in my Virgin Trainz installation.

    Has one consist with one 4 bay hopper loaded with coal and two flat cars, one loaded with coils. Destinations are IND Coal Pit, IND Truck Load 2 and IND Steel Coil

    Now, when these cars are delivered and loaded or unloaded, will I have to assign another destination?

    David
    Dap, Newton & Northwestern RR
    Boone, Rockwell City & Northwestern RR
    Marshalltown & Dakota RR
    Boone Valley Coal & Rwy Co.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Delaware, Dover
    Posts
    2,316
     

    Default

    The saved session is not needed.

    Tagging the cars indicates industries with 0%. Those would be the logical destinations.

    After unloading they would probably go off-world thru the portals just like real life.

    Harold

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,393
     

    Default

    Hi David --

    Thanks.

    It did work for you? Did you manage to find the industries to unload the coal and coil; and load the truck? And did they unload and load?

    "Now, when these cars are delivered and loaded or unloaded, will I have to assign another destination?"

    No. It's just to see if we can share tagged freight cars. It looks as if we can, but it needs an external hosting site and instructions on how to get the saved driving session back into Trainz.

    Phil
    Last edited by philskene; December 31st, 2013 at 10:53 PM.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,393
     

    Default

    Harold --

    The way that I think that this might work on that particular little switching layout is:


    1. An AI with a consist of loaded and empty freight cars leaves the Fiddle Yard and stops at the Arrival Track.
    2. The AI locomotive uncouples and refuels at the Loco Depot.
    3. A switcher driven by the Player attaches to the consist. The cars are all tagged. The Player reads the details in the Tagger screen.
    4. The switcher loads and unload the cars using the information shown in the Tagger screen.
    5. When all the cars have been loaded / unloaded the switcher spots the cars on the Departure Track, the AI locomotive attaches and returns to the Fiddle Yard.
    6. This triggers another AI and the process continues.


    But all of this is contingent on somehow being able to share a tagged session.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Austin
    Posts
    1,593
     

    Default

    After I have delivered and the car has been loaded or unloded, I tried to tag it for a portal, but got the dreaded red bug. Threre were two items reported:

    ThreadException line 482 cartagger.gs
    Soup.SetNamedTag>parent soup is locked line 454

    Wolf, take a look at my cmtm code to see how a subsoup is revised. CMTMSystem4.gs lines 642 - 652 is a good example. You have to make a new soup, then copy the subsoup you want to modify into the new soup, change the copy and then insert the copy into the main soup.

    It would be nice if the second destination was placed automatically. One could randomly assiign portals. That way there could be some actual yard activity of sorting the cars that are picked up.

    David
    Dap, Newton & Northwestern RR
    Boone, Rockwell City & Northwestern RR
    Marshalltown & Dakota RR
    Boone Valley Coal & Rwy Co.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Delaware, Dover
    Posts
    2,316
     

    Default

    Would it be possible to assign industries with the lowest percentage to cars emitted from a portal?

    I know that tagging could be done manually but having the program assign them would add realism.

    Then they could be dropped off at a receiving yard and dispersed by a way freight.

    Harold

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    32
     

    Default

    I'm putting in a new soup into the allTags at 482. I don't see how allTags can be locked at all. (It is the equivalent of CMTMSoup at 654.)
    So I'm not modifying any subsoup at all.

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Austin
    Posts
    1,593
     

    Default

    Look at the example under IsLocked in the Class Soup API
    Dap, Newton & Northwestern RR
    Boone, Rockwell City & Northwestern RR
    Marshalltown & Dakota RR
    Boone Valley Coal & Rwy Co.

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    32
     

    Default

    That all didn't make sense to me. I reproduced the issue though. At line 450 I set allTags to the saved soup, which is a locked soup.
    In effect it means any restored save can't re-tag. Can you confirm you were using a restored save?

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Austin
    Posts
    1,593
     

    Default

    Yes, I was using Phil's Inglenook route and session.
    Dap, Newton & Northwestern RR
    Boone, Rockwell City & Northwestern RR
    Marshalltown & Dakota RR
    Boone Valley Coal & Rwy Co.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Delaware, Dover
    Posts
    2,316
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dap View Post
    After I have delivered and the car has been loaded or unloded, I tried to tag it for a portal, but got the dreaded red bug
    Ran the route from the session and tagged the cars myself.

    Was able to tag to a portal after unloading. Am using HF4.

    Harold

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •