POLY?

EverTrainz

Electric Blue
Hi, I'm relatively new to tracking in Surveyor... Some posts in the Tips/Tricks thread mention High Poly and Low Poly track, and also HP and HR track on the DLS, so my question is what is High/Low Poly, What is poly in general, and what is HP and HR???

-Thanks, Ron

Polys in this context mean polygons which the models use. i.e. models are made from polygons. Assets with high poly counts take longer to "paint" onscreen and therefore make the game run slower. That's a simplistic way of looking at it. Polygons, for Trainz purposes, are triangles or tris. So if you are going to build a really busy freight yard with lots of track then lower poly versions of track may be better. It's a trade off between faster running time and detail.

The model makers are somewhat obsessed about poly counts so it gets discussed a lot. Trainz has a bundle of techniques to try and overcome the problem of high poly models.

Sorry, I don't know what HP and HR means in the track context.

I laid a 30 track yard with MP Wood v2 track, and tested its framerates and it was @ 27 FPS

I replaced the tracks with Greenery (no longer existent web site) and the framerates were drastically lower

I replaced the tracks with a super detailed track, an the framerates were slayed to a standstill

I noticed that my framerates were slayed in a complex switch interlocking ... I deleted the PRR Dwarf signals and the framerates came back to normal.

The most important thing with chosing a track is: Does it kink in switchs (displaying a series of straight segments, and is not really a curve at all).

Hundreds of railcars, some high poly locos, trees, buildings, grass ... etc ... will slay framerates ... as do all splines (which means track should be avoided at all costs, an a route should be a "Rails To Trails" route). :hehe:

Hi Ron,

Welcome to Trainz, if you haven't been welcomed yet!

Paul and Cascade have answered this very well.