.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: walking around the cabin of loco

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, nsw, leonay
    Posts
    21
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default walking around the cabin of loco

    hello all
    i keep seeing YouTube videos of trainz
    where the driver walks around the cab eg.through the engine room to the other end of the loco
    i have noticed this a lot on a lot of Russian locos

    just wondering how this is possible ?



    thanks
    lelo4851

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,571
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default

    If you are actually seeing an animated driver walking then I cannot help. But putting "-freeintcam" in trainzoptions.txt (in the userdata folder) will allow you to move around using the cursor keys.
    Or it could be the camera positions in the config.txt and they you can implement by pressing the [ or ] keys.

    The freeintcam is actually intended to help creators determine camera positions but I have used it to "walk" through carriages.

    Paul


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,805
     

    Default

    You can walk about inside the cab, but once outside, the view is rather limited to what mesh you see.
    ie: http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showt...764#post501764

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The willage of Bolungarvik, Iceland
    Posts
    429
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cascaderailroad View Post
    You can walk about inside the cab, but once outside, the view is rather limited to what mesh you see.
    An inspiring fountain of knowledge.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,805
     

    Default

    I wouldn't say a fountain of knowlege ... sometimes I'm more like the Conemaugh river, after a hard rain storm, (my cawfee resembles Juniata river flood water).

    I use freeintcam for takings screenshots all the time.

    Hey ... who stole my seats ?
    http://i525.photobucket.com/albums/cc339/cascaderailroad/Screen_007-18_zps67a988e9.jpg
    http://i525.photobucket.com/albums/c...ps1a100a11.jpg
    Last edited by cascaderailroad; September 24th, 2013 at 09:44 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    111
     

    Default

    Is it just Trainz12. I can't find trainzoptions.txt
    Specs: Ryzen 5 2600X, GTX 1060 6ggb, 16gb ram, 1TB ssd

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,805
     

    Default

    I think you have to create a text file in notepad, and insert it into the game somewhere ... someone will be with you shorty

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    111
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cascaderailroad View Post
    I think you have to create a text file in notepad, and insert it into the game somewhere ... someone will be with you shorty
    cheers
    -james
    Specs: Ryzen 5 2600X, GTX 1060 6ggb, 16gb ram, 1TB ssd

  9. #9

    Default

    Hello Shorty, I am Someone, the information you seek is here.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,571
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default

    I'm someone too and the information was in my post which was number 2 of this thread.

    Just remember that you are looking at the interior mesh and if you "walk" outside the mesh you will generally see what appears to be an incomplete mesh. That's because there is no value in creating something that would not normally be seen.

    The -freeintcam option can be very useful for tracking down "attached" meshes that are not in the right place due to a stuff up by the author (me). I've found stuff down at track level and at several metres (yards) up in the sky.

    Paul


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,805
     

    Default

    Freeintcam is also great for taking screenshots of other trainz, by roaming outside of the cab of a loco placed on BNSF50 Invisatrack

    I set my -surveyorfov at 35, -driverfov at 95, and my cabinfov at 75
    Last edited by cascaderailroad; April 21st, 2014 at 06:35 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,571
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cascaderailroad View Post
    Freeintcam is also great for taking screenshots of other trainz, by roaming outside of the cab of a loco placed on BNSF50 Invisatrack

    I set my -surveyorfov at 35, -driverfov at 95, and my cabinfov at 75
    That's a good idea. You could probably achieve much the same by using N3V's Test Car asset <kuid:523:1972941>.

    Curiously, the last line of your post didn't show in my browser. Invisible ink? (Ah. Invisible edit. )
    Last edited by pcas1986; April 21st, 2014 at 06:41 PM. Reason: +info

    Paul


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •