PDA

View Full Version : Track generation question



SteveB2011
March 2nd, 2013, 12:00 AM
I am new to trainz and I have noticed something odd. The track detail(slepers, rail etc) only appear a few virtual metres in front of my train. Other than that the surrounding detail is fine. Is this normal or have I got to fix something?
Thanks in advance!

Dermmy
March 2nd, 2013, 01:10 AM
What you are seeing is LOD - Level Of Detail.

Close to the camera you have high LOD, then progressively less detail as the distance increases. 5 or 7 LOD steps are not unusual on high-detail assets like locos or high-impact assets like track. If the track was at its highest detail settings all the way to the horizon your Trainz experience would be a slide-show at best.

It's worth experimenting with different tracks, some asset creators implement LODs much better than some others. Sometimes it's a dead-set line across the screen, but better assets will have a more gradual transition....

Andy

Just noticed Post #1 - welcome to the forums :)

SteveB2011
March 9th, 2013, 11:12 PM
Thank you for the response
This does answer my question and you have explained it very well!