PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone help me I have three questions?



flr1972
December 8th, 2012, 04:00 PM
Three questions.

1) Can anyone point me towards a tutorial or tellme how or where you get the “locomotive avatars” most everyone has to the leftof their name on the forums?

2) In the last month, in surveyor mode, for noapparent reason I have had about 90% of my locos and rolling stock turn red in the asset list. I know this means a missing dependency or abad data base. Furthermore the affecteditems did not show up in regular scenario play. (e.g. scenery but no train) I tried both types of data base repair with no luck. Has this happened to anyone else? If sohow did you fix it? The only solution Ihave found was to reinstall Trainz, 5 times so far.

3) First a huge thank you to all of the Auran staffand to Shane they have spent many hours trying to help me figure this oneout. My Content Manager will notdownload items from the Download Station. I can search the D.S. and get K.U.I.D.’s ect. But I cannot downloadfiles. The C.M. will say searching,downloading, idle. The “current speed”and “downloaded today” have always sat at zero. However I can go Aurans root F.T.P. server and download from there onefile at a time. As anyone can understand this becomes a bittime consuming when some rolling stock requires 100+ dependency’s.

I have a First class Ticket, I have tried turningoff my fire wall, I set all suggested .exe’s to run as administrator, tried 10 or more different internet accesspoints, and bypassed my router just to name a few steps I have taken. I can download F.T.P. files from several otherplaces with no difficulty or errors. Any suggestions? Am I the only one with this issue? My last thought is I have a bad download/s.

If it matters to anyone I am running Win 7 Ultimate64.

Thank you inadvance for any ideas or suggestions, or just letting me know I’m not the onlyone with this problem.

shaneturner12
December 8th, 2012, 04:20 PM
Hi again...

To answer your questions:

1. Visit http://forums.auran.com/trainz/profile.php?do=editavatar, then select the avatar you want (use the drop-down box to select different categories), then click Save Changes.
2. Check the affected assets in Content Manager for either a red ! (which indicates it's faulty - you can find what the errors are by right-clicking and clicking View Errors and Warnings) or a yellow ? (which indicates it has missing dependencies - right-click the asset and click View Dependencies).
3. See below...

Firstly have you activated your First Class Ticket? If not, visit https://www.auran.com/planetauran/AT_display_tickets.php#FCT, then click the Activate link next to your First Class Ticket.

Once this is done, click the Clear button in the Download Helper panel inside Content Manager.

If this does not fix it, click Planet Auran above (whilst Trainz/Content Manager is not running), followed by Edit Account, then click the Edit link next to Password. Re-enter your password into the relevant boxes, then click the Save button (it may say Submit), then re-launch Content Manager. Note that this will change your FTP password.

Shane

flr1972
December 8th, 2012, 04:33 PM
Shane,

I hope someone is paying youfor all you do.

I have activated my F.C.T. butI will try another password change it's 1and7 and the special characters that messthings up?
I am just a little obsessedwith trying to get this C.M. to work then throw "condition red" in there and its love for the game that keeps me trying.

shaneturner12
December 8th, 2012, 04:36 PM
Firstly, edit your post ASAP to remove any personal information.

Secondly, remember to clear out your download helper list.

Shane

sniper297
December 8th, 2012, 05:31 PM
If you have Vista or Windows 7 check that the UAC isn't interfering with the repairs and downloads.

flr1972
December 8th, 2012, 06:13 PM
User account control right? How far does it need to be turned down?

JCitron
December 8th, 2012, 06:15 PM
User account control right? How far does it need to be turned down?

Go down one notch from the bottom if you choose to do it this way.

You can also run as Administrator. Right-click on shortcut and choose run as administrator.

John

shaneturner12
December 9th, 2012, 04:02 AM
I usually find running as administrator is better than messing about with UAC settings, especially as UAC is designed to prevent malware from altering critical files.

Shane

flr1972
December 9th, 2012, 10:25 AM
I am willing to try just about anything to get the C.M.to work even for a few minutes a day. Anyway lowering the U.A.C. settings did notwork. Thanks for the idea.

I am considering tryinga ritual conducted by a medicine man with one of those wooden masks, fire, andbongo drums to scare the evil spirit out of my computer. I just can't think of any other reason my C.M.doesn't work.

shaneturner12
December 9th, 2012, 10:28 AM
How did you get on with the advice I gave you yesterday re clearing the download helper list and changing your profile password?

Shane

flr1972
December 9th, 2012, 10:33 AM
I am willing to try just about anything to get the C.M.to work even for a few minutes a day. Anyway lowering the U.A.C. settings did notwork. Thanks for the idea.

I am considering tryinga voodo ritual conducted by a medicine man with one of those wooden masks, fire, andbongo drums to scare the evil spirit out of my computer. I think it a logical next step ;-]

flr1972
December 9th, 2012, 10:35 AM
I have not tried another password reset, Iwill in a bit.

shaneturner12
December 9th, 2012, 10:38 AM
Remember - make sure Trainz is not running at the time, and also remember to clear out your download helper list.

In some instances, an extended database repair may be needed.

Shane

flr1972
December 9th, 2012, 10:49 AM
It worked... Un-beleveable after two months, almost to the day, it worked. The password contained special character, that had to be it.. Thank you very much Shane if I could I would buy you several beers, thank you.

flr1972
December 9th, 2012, 10:52 AM
It worked!!!!!!!!!! I wish I could buy you several beers..

shaneturner12
December 9th, 2012, 10:52 AM
Special characters in both usernames and passwords can cause havoc sometimes - I'm glad to hear that that problem is now fixed. Hopefully it will also sort out question 2 as well.

I like your avatar as well.

Shane

flr1972
December 9th, 2012, 11:11 AM
Unfortunately I think we will have to troubleshoot #2 if it happensagain. Once again I, and my wife, thank youfor your help this issue was consuming way to much of my time.

I chose that avatar because I remember the C/N loco’s with that paint schemegoing by the tracks by my house as a child.