PDA

View Full Version : Sim. Central download issues



stratforduk6
September 23rd, 2012, 09:11 AM
Hi,
I downloaded the classic carbon city digital download for my ts12: railway sim. once I downloaded it, a message came up and said 'Classic Carbon City could not be verified' and I cant open it. Please help me

shaneturner12
September 23rd, 2012, 09:13 AM
Hi Stratforduk6,

Welcome to the forums.

The likely reason for the error is that the file may have become corrupted during download. Try downloading it using a download manager, or Google Chrome. (Firefox may also be able to do it as well)

Shane

stratforduk6
September 23rd, 2012, 09:35 AM
It downloads ok but its downloaded as a 'file' which my computer doesnt know what to open it with

shaneturner12
September 23rd, 2012, 09:38 AM
Have a read of my latest blog entry on the Blogs page.

Shane

Mick_Berg
September 23rd, 2012, 09:39 AM
It downloads ok but its downloaded as a 'file' which my computer doesnt know what to open it with
Maybe it's an .exe file, my S&C addon came that way. Just rename it to file.exe.

Mick Berg.

Robert2d6
September 23rd, 2012, 09:49 AM
Just rename it and put .exe after the file name , save it and click on it. You then have to put the serial number in the install program, that they emailed you.

stratforduk6
September 23rd, 2012, 10:03 AM
Is it the serial number with the main game or carbon city?

Robert2d6
September 23rd, 2012, 10:14 AM
Is it the serial number with the main game or carbon city? You should get a confirmation email with a new serial number for Carbon City. I made the mistake yesterday of putting the TS12 serial number in the Blue Comet installer, and it acted like it accepted it, but never installed anything. About 1/2 hour later I looked at my email in box and there was the confirmation email with the new serial number.

stratforduk6
September 23rd, 2012, 10:16 AM
Is there any way of getting the email sent again?

shaneturner12
September 23rd, 2012, 10:19 AM
If it has not come already, contact Helpdesk.

Shane

clam1952
September 23rd, 2012, 10:45 AM
Is there any way of getting the email sent again?

If you haven't had an email it's not the end of the world, as with the old site all the info you need should be on the new one. There is a known issue with the email server, it's a bit hit and miss as to whether you receive emails from N3V or they go missing, doesn't seem like N3V have fixed it yet if it is something they can.

Log into account.
Recent orders will be displayed, click view order, serial number should be there.
Alternatively.
On the Left click My Orders, click the relevant order, serial number should be there.
Downloads are again on the left, My Downloadable Products.
If for some reason there is nothing there when clicking the links but your orders show completed then raise a ticket.

Links on the left are an orange red colour, I'm beginning to wonder if some can't see them, due to perhaps changing default web page colours with a browser add-on? Or perhaps a browser incompatibility problem with the website or some browser or paranoia add-on setting to do with security as one or two are saying there are no such links.
There definitely were when I checked, even if you haven't ordered anything. I checked the site out thoroughly before ordering to make sure it was similar to the old site and had links to records of your purchases. The links are still visible to me.

Scottbe8
September 23rd, 2012, 09:41 PM
You may have a message waiting for you in your PlanetAuran inbox. They've made mention of switching entirely to their own internal message system.

BD1
September 27th, 2012, 09:23 AM
Hi Stratforduk6,

Welcome to the forums.

The likely reason for the error is that the file may have become corrupted during download. Try downloading it using a download manager, or Google Chrome. (Firefox may also be able to do it as well)

Shane

I do not have TS10 installed on my PC, I have to re-install my TS10 disc.

Do I have to have my TS10 installed on my PC in order to download my assets that I ordered from Simulator Central ?
================================================== =========================================

N3V strongly reccomends against using a Download Manager.

I have IE8, and have Google as a browser.

Should I be downloading by using Firefox, or Google Chrome (Download Managers: that N3V strongly does not reccomend using to download) ?
================================================== ================================================== =======

I didn't buy TS12, so the files I purchased should be smaller and take less time to download, as they are Packs of locos.
================================================== =======================================

I believe that all the downloads will go to my PC Downloads folder ?
Or are they installed in my TS10 folder or TS10 Content Manager ?
=================================================

I am lead to believe that the downloads may be a RAR which needs to be opened, and the CDP's are inside of the RAR file ?
================================================== =========================================

How can I save the downloads, for safekeeping, externally from my present PC, and externally from my TS10 installation ?

Can I just save them as I usually do, as a CDP, and store them on a type of media (external hard drive, DVD, memory stick, etc) ?
================================================== ===================================

I have downloaded freeware RAR and CDP files from many 3rd party sites, and have never had any problem downloading using IE8, and regular old Google.
Should I expect this downloading from Simulator Central to be equally as painless and easy to do, using IE8 ?

shaneturner12
September 27th, 2012, 09:30 AM
In order:

To download the files, you shouldn't actually need Trainz installed. To install them though, you will need one of the supported versions installed (which versions are supported depends on the addon)

If N3V no longer recommend using a download manager, that's news to me, as they previously advised using one (and in fact named Free Download Manager as their recommendation)

The packs are the same size regardless of version. The download files will go into your downloads folder as setup files.

It should be a .rar file, but some users have had some luck by renaming it to an .exe file.

To backup the files, copy the installation file(s) to an external medium (like you've suggested)

Shane

BD1
September 27th, 2012, 09:40 AM
Thank You

I am tired, and will try downloading tonight ... do the downloads expire if left un-downloaded ?

(snip~ Simulator Central: "Please Note: We advise against the use of download managers to download your product files".)

shaneturner12
September 27th, 2012, 09:42 AM
I will personally contact N3V about that, as I feel that is going to cause problems.

They do not have a time limit, but do have a amount limit.

Shane

BD1
September 27th, 2012, 10:43 AM
I just checked the time in Brisbane and it is 1:38 AM Sept 28th.

The Simulator Central site still shows all the sale items, and TS12 for $ 12.48.

Has the sale been extended beyond Sept 27th ? Wheeeeeee !

shaneturner12
September 27th, 2012, 11:05 AM
I don't know on that one - be prepared for the full price though.

Shane

RRSignal
September 27th, 2012, 11:09 AM
Just bought a few more things, including Ocemy's Schnabels at the sale price. I'm a sale junkie and couldn't resist. ;)

BD1
September 27th, 2012, 08:59 PM
I pressed download the Blue Comet that I bought.

It previously said: Status Available -------------Remaining downloads 10

The Blue Comet Installer file saved to My PC Downloads folder. It is not a RAR nor a CDP

Now it says: Status Available -------------Remaining downloads 9

Does that mean that there are 9 more additional blue comet files that I must download in order to complete the Blue Comet ? And should I press "download" 9 more files from that Blue Commet download button. And will one of them be the actual CDP ? Of if I press the download button 9 more times, does my download capability expire for the Blue Comet?

Sorry for me being such a dunce

Robert2d6
September 27th, 2012, 09:03 PM
I pressed download the Blue Comet that I bought.

It said: Status Available -------------Remaining downloads 10
The Blue Comet Installer saved to My PC Downloads folder

Now it says: Status Available -------------Remaining downloads 9

Does that mean that there are 9 more additional blue comet files that I must download in order to complete the Blue Comet, and should I press download 9 more files from that Blue Commet download button. And will one of them be the actual CDP ? Of if I press the download button 9 more times, does my download capability expire for the Blue Comet?

Sorry for me being such a dunce


I think that means you have 9 attempts to download the installer. I just bought the Dutchess Steam Loco at the sale price.

BD1
September 27th, 2012, 09:06 PM
Thats what I thought. I have 9 more attempts to download, then the download goes into cyberspace.

The Blue Comet Installer (which is a "File"), will not open in the TS10 CM

How do you install the Blue Comet Installer ?

What opens the file ?
==================

Simulator Central support help page advises:
How do I install the files that have been downloaded ? Most files are installed by double clicking on the Setup.exe. If your files do not have an extension, it is possible your download manager renamed the files. You can try adding the .exe extension to the setup file or re-download using your browser to manage the download.

=================
Does that mean that I simply change the BlueComet Installer file name to: BlueComet Installer.exe ?

==============

EDIT: Renaming the file by adding on the tag: .exe seams to be working

Robert2d6
September 27th, 2012, 09:11 PM
Thats what I thought.

The Blue Comet Installer (which is a "File"), will not open in the TS10 CM

How do you install the Blue Comet Installer ?

What opens the file ?

That should be an execute file. Just rename the file Bluecometinstaller, ( or however it is written) . exe . Some browsers change the file type and don't put the .exe on the end, and windows doesn't know what to do with it then. As soon as you rename it to an .exe file and click on it, it will start. You then have to put in the serial number that they emailed you, when asked by the installer. If I am remeber correctly, the installer takes awhile, before it completes the install, so don't panic if it looks like it is not working. That bar that moves across, doesn't move at all at first.

JCitron
September 27th, 2012, 09:24 PM
Thats what I thought. I have 9 more attempts to download, then the download goes into cyberspace.

The Blue Comet Installer (which is a "File"), will not open in the TS10 CM

How do you install the Blue Comet Installer ?

What opens the file ?
==================

Simulator Central says:
How do I install the files that have been downloaded ? Most files are installed by double clicking on the Setup.exe. If your files do not have an extension, it is possible your download manager renamed the files. You can try adding the .exe extension to the setup file or re-download using your browser to manage the download.

=================
Does that mean that I simply change the BlueComet Installer file name to: BlueComet Installer.exe ?

Isn't this an EXE file that needs to be installed?

If this is a setup file with an EXE, you need to double-click on this and the files will be automatically extracted and added to Trainz. You will also need to type in your serial number for the package in order to make the content active. Check your downloads folder if you are using Windows 7 for your downloaded content.

John

BD1
September 27th, 2012, 09:32 PM
It is working: by renaming the BlueComet Installer file name, and adding on the .exe tag.

Now to test it in TS10 program/surveyor

I hope my own dunderkopfness has helped others with problems downloading

JCitron
September 27th, 2012, 09:37 PM
It is working: by renaming the BlueComet Installer file name, and adding on the .exe tag.

Now to test it in TS10 program/surveyor

I hope my own dunderkopfness has helped others with problems downloading

Awesome! Have fun it's a great package. I run the loco and some coaches as a railfan special on my route.

John

Robert2d6
September 27th, 2012, 09:50 PM
The only thing I wish they would do is give you a list of names to look for in the Railyard for the add on you just bought. I remember needing help finding the Blue Comet stuff which I think was named CNJ, and I just downloaded the Dutchess add on, which has a couple of locos which I found but a bunch of additional rolling stock, which I have no idea where to look for it, since I don't know what it is called. There is so much stuff in the Railyard, it is hard to tell what is default content and what is add on's that I purchased.

JCitron
September 27th, 2012, 09:54 PM
The only thing I wish they would do is give you a list of names to look for in the Railyard for the add on you just bought. I remember needing help finding the Blue Comet stuff which I think was named CNJ, and I just downloaded the Dutchess add on, which has a couple of locos which I found but a bunch of additional rolling stock, which I have no idea where to look for it, since I don't know what it is called. There is so much stuff in the Railyard, it is hard to tell what is default content and what is add on's that I purchased.

This is why I use content manager to find my content. I almost never go into Railyard anymore. Personally I feel that this module needs a complete rebuild. If anything it would be a nice place to view the consists we've put together in Surveyor, or perhaps use this as a way to manage consists instead of building them in Surveyor.

John

BD1
September 27th, 2012, 10:07 PM
Does the Blue Comet come built into TS10 ?

It seems that I have 5, or more of (3 Blue, 2 Black) them in various numbers, (which are renumbered automaticly with ARN).

Did I buy something that was built in to the original game ? Ahhh Haaa Haaa ! :hehe: Haaa Haaa Haaa ! on me !

I am so confused, I think I need sleep ! :sleep: My mom says: "All trains look alike, you seen one, you seen them all". Right now my mind is a blur of Trainz !

BD1
September 28th, 2012, 12:38 AM
I really can't understand when you buy, and pay money for payware, why it is broken and needs manual fixing to get it to work.

I am getting a Thread Exception Null Reference in the Aerotrain GS

I installed the Aerotrain and it shows up in Railyard, but will not show up in surveyor.

I had TS10 build 44088 and updated to SP3 49933

What do I have to do to get the Aerorain to show up in surveyor ?

I see no errors in CM nor missing dependncies
==================================
EDIT: I opened the 1 of the 6 Aerotrains for edit in CCP, saved, rewrote the config file, and reverted, and they show up now ... still the other 5 do not show up, nor any of the Aerotrain cars

shaneturner12
September 28th, 2012, 02:35 AM
That is concerning. Have you contacted the Helpdesk about it? While you're at it, see what is going on with your serial number(s) as nothing is showing next to your username.

Shane