PDA

View Full Version : JR CSX SD80 MAC



64Warhorse
July 30th, 2012, 08:48 PM
Just bought this loco from the good folks at Jointed Rail. Took it out for a spin on the North East Corridor. Got it up to 226 MPH, and still accelerating, before it derailed ... :eek::D:eek::D:eek::D

RRSignal
July 30th, 2012, 08:50 PM
Sweet. I think it may have been the DLS SD80MAC, but I took a Conrail one out for a spin...on the Disney monorail.

Surprisingly, it didn't look half bad riding on a single rail.

Enzo1
July 30th, 2012, 10:59 PM
Sweet. I think it may have been the DLS SD80MAC, but I took a Conrail one out for a spin...on the Disney monorail.

Surprisingly, it didn't look half bad riding on a single rail.
Ah I love it when you say that it was off of the DLS, when he said he bought it... Wow, I guess you cant read?, Anyhows, Thats awesome, I didnt know that JR had a locomotive that would go that fast, I know RRmods does.... You should try building a racetrack for it, and watching it go as fast as it can go, that would be SWEEET!!

yutzk
July 31st, 2012, 08:03 AM
Thats definitely a new one. Have never been able to get one going that fast....ever. Not sure how that ended up doing that to be honest...

RRSignal
July 31st, 2012, 09:32 AM
Ah I love it when you say that it was off of the DLS, when he said he bought it... Wow, I guess you cant read?, Anyhows, Thats awesome, I didnt know that JR had a locomotive that would go that fast, I know RRmods does.... You should try building a racetrack for it, and watching it go as fast as it can go, that would be SWEEET!!

As usual, the proverbial pot calling the kettle black: I was sharing an "SD80MAC" moment of my own. Also, did you not notice that the OP was talking about JR's SD80MAC, so why are you bringing up the RRMods one? Well, hypocrisy from you is not a surprise: You're the guy who said the internet 'should be shut down' but continues to post on it.

Deano5
July 31st, 2012, 10:57 AM
Ah Thats awesome, You should try building a racetrack for it, and watching it go as fast as it can go, that would be SWEEET!!
Oops, I've some how got into the Scalelectric forums by mistake. :o

harpman
July 31st, 2012, 12:45 PM
Well, I like both RRMods and JR, but I'm also into very prototypical locomotive speeds. So, I'd prefer the engine specs were realistic. I have a few steam engines that won't pull past 35 mph, which is very realistic.

bill

yutzk
July 31st, 2012, 01:46 PM
Our SD80MACS do in fact have a engine spec that is realistic. I can assure you of that. I'm honestly not sure how this specific user got his to 226 mph but i suppose it could be some game glitch or something as well.

Jokel317
July 31st, 2012, 01:51 PM
Unless he has some roller coaster like route design it might be possible or some very high mountain grade. I myself am into prototypical operations. But I have seen where units gain excessive speed on grades. I would never run a train see how fast it would go. As I try my best to slow it down if that fail`s I use my brakes lol.

RRSignal
July 31st, 2012, 02:23 PM
Generally I'm the same way; I don't think I've gotten any of the available SD80Macs above 70 or so, but, then again, I haven't really tried too hard.

Enzo1
July 31st, 2012, 02:44 PM
hypocrisy from you is not a surprise: You're the guy who said the internet 'should be shut down' but continues to post on it.

A comment that keeps getting older and more lame by the second

RRSignal
July 31st, 2012, 04:39 PM
A comment that keeps getting older and more lame by the second

But it's so epic! I mean, I couldn't have believed somebody actually would have written that, had I not seen with my own eyes that you did. And was serious.

norfolksouthern37
July 31st, 2012, 05:01 PM
the JR SD80MAC cannot go that fast on its own, the spec was edited, or something else added to it. these engines have realistic engine specs and carefully calculated traction values that would not make this possible.

64Warhorse
July 31st, 2012, 05:05 PM
Unless he has some roller coaster like route design it might be possible or some very high mountain grade. I myself am into prototypical operations. But I have seen where units gain excessive speed on grades. I would never run a train see how fast it would go. As I try my best to slow it down if that fail`s I use my brakes lol.

No, this wasn't even a route I designed, it was one of the ones that came with Trainz 12, and it's pretty much flat. All I did was drop the loco into it, and let it run at max throttle with no train to pull. I tried something similar with a NS Dash 9 that was included in the game, and it topped out at about 90 mph. I'm not at all upset about this, and I would cheerfully recommend JR content to a friend, I just thought it was amusing enough to be worth posting. :)

PS --- I generally agree with your philosophy of operations, but I was curious to see how the new toy would behave ... :hehe:

haddock56
July 31st, 2012, 05:51 PM
Well i have a layout called 'The Racetrack' I could rrelease, but until this thread I wasn't sure if anyone would need such a test track. Decided to drop the JR ATSF B40-8W on it with no train and it went up to 110 mph. Somehow I didn't figure on going that fats, but that explains the ATSF assigning them to priority intermodal trains and such.

64Warhorse
August 1st, 2012, 04:47 PM
the JR SD80MAC cannot go that fast on its own, the spec was edited, or something else added to it. these engines have realistic engine specs and carefully calculated traction values that would not make this possible.

Quite possibly true, but not by me. I ran it EXACTLY as it came from JR. :)

maruffijd
August 1st, 2012, 06:18 PM
Quite possibly true, but not by me. I ran it EXACTLY as it came from JR. :)

I second this with the JR CR SD80MAC. topped out at 203 MPH

norfolksouthern37
August 2nd, 2012, 10:15 AM
i did a test last night with the SD80MAC

cab mode: max speed was 72 mph.
DCC mode: max speed was 80mph.

running in a continuous loop for a 10 minutes it never went over those figures.

Euphod
August 2nd, 2012, 07:47 PM
Ah I love it when you say that it was off of the DLS, when he said he bought it... Wow, I guess you cant read?

Now I see why RRSignal would attack you in a different thread a couple days ago. I posted that it was beneath him to do so and he altered his post, for which I thanked him. I ask you now to refrain from escalating this feud you have between each other or at last keep it out of the forums.


i did a test last night with the SD80MAC

cab mode: max speed was 72 mph.
DCC mode: max speed was 80mph.

running in a continuous loop for a 10 minutes it never went over those figures.

Thanks for that, I was wondering if there was a difference between the two modes.

harpman
August 3rd, 2012, 12:06 PM
Our SD80MACS do in fact have a engine spec that is realistic. I can assure you of that. I'm honestly not sure how this specific user got his to 226 mph but i suppose it could be some game glitch or something as well.

I'm certain you are correct. As I said, I really like the JR and RRMods offerings and the prototypical operations. Honestly, my mistake was the sideways implication that the engine specs weren't typical. In reality, I couldn't alter or even find an engine spec in my system, I haven't the knowledge. My apology if my run-on thought process made it sound as if I were blaming the engine spec. I wasn't. I'm big into realism, and dirty locomotives.

bill