PDA

View Full Version : what happened



sardon
April 16th, 2007, 08:13 AM
I worked on my layout all afternoon yesterday and did quite a bit of changing land. This am I went up on my mountain to work on it and it is almost COMPLETELY DESTROYED!!!!!! My coal mine is sunk way down into the ground in a deep cavern- track is gone etc!!! When I was working yesterday I was nowhere near where the mountain is.:mad: :mad: :mad: I am so mad and dissapointed that I feel like clicking on delete for the WHOLE layout. How could this have happened? Anyone else experienced this? I probably am the only one --as usual. I have to let it set for awhile until I cool down. If I do anything now it will be wrong. I really would like to know if anyone knows how this could have happened. I was working about 4 blocks away from the mountain.

Don

lewisner
April 16th, 2007, 08:25 AM
It sounds something like what happened to my route- someone advised me to delete the "assets.tdx" file to cure some problem and the next time I opened it all baseboards had returned to Zero Height except the first 3 and the last one.So track and so on was buried underground or hanging in mid air.Also all Textures were removed and it went back to grey and yellow.9 1/2 months work..........:eek:

goodell911
April 16th, 2007, 08:45 AM
Sorry to hear it... Nothing sucks worse than losing months of work, I know first-hand.

I've learned to protect my projects (and myself) from fatal surprises by saving 2 copies... One copy is my 'workbench' in-progress, the other copy is where I save 'verified' or 'safe' work performed on my 'workbench.'

When TRS is in a foul mood and dealing-out unpleasant surprises, I usually only lose a few hours or a day's worth of work at the most.

I realize this doesn't help your current situation or address the fundamental problem... but it WILL make the future a lot less painful.

Good luck,
~Rick

nwhitney
April 16th, 2007, 09:55 AM
Were you using the Undo button? There've been posts warning about using it multiple times. Doesn't do you much good now though. Sorry.
Norm

sardon
April 16th, 2007, 11:20 AM
Yes, as a matter of fact, I was using the undo button. Has that caused problems before? If you make a mistake how else do you correct it?
I guess I shouldn't complain too much. My loss was nothing compared to yours of over 9 months of work. I DO save but I guess not often enough.

Don

lewisner
April 16th, 2007, 11:41 AM
I didn"t entirely lose my work because the track was still there but I had an extensive area of Beach, Cliffs and Sea , all of which were levelled and all Water was deleted.The lesson I learned was that "All advice given in this Forum is advice ONLY and may be wrong, or you may execute it wrongly.So think carefully about the consequences, since you can"t sue anyone." Could this be made a Sticky? NOTHING on a Computer is "safe" since it doesn"t really exist to start with.:rolleyes:

leader2302
April 16th, 2007, 08:24 PM
Yep, it's the dreaded "undo" button error.

When it happened to me I was lucky and had a backup cd of my layout so I only lost an hour of work. Since then, I have never used the undo button.

Here is how to continue work on your route without using the undo button:

When you are ready to build something or texture an area, save your route first. Then do the addition/change to your layout. If you want to "undo" what you just did in surveyor, exit the layout without saving and reload the route again. Presto- "undo without the undo button".

Using this method takes a while to get used to but it is almost as fast as the undo button and most importantly SAFE for your route.:)

lewisner
April 17th, 2007, 02:42 AM
I use the undo button frequently and it has never caused me any problems.The only thing is that the route I am currently working on is 500Mb so when I push the Undo button it takes a looooong time for it to digest the changes...;)