PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone still on TRS2006?



Blutorse4792
July 20th, 2012, 12:42 PM
I installed '06 on my new PC yesterday. Has everyone moved onto bigger and better things, or does '06 still have a decent amount of users?

I'm gonna upgrade eventually, but I lack sufficient funding at the moment.

jjanmarine3
July 20th, 2012, 12:56 PM
I have later versions too but keep on going back to TRS06. It just have something special for me.

cascaderailroad
July 20th, 2012, 12:56 PM
I use TRS2006 in Surveyor to build routes ... Others still use TRS2004, and prior versions.

As the unsupport of TRS2006 the DLS downloading may have been cut off, if you do not have TS10 or TS12 ... I am not sure of that fact though.

Because I also bought TS10 (which I reccomend) I still have downloading capabilities from the DLS, and the DLS Black Pages: http://www.auran.com/TRS2004/DLS.php

If you buy a FCT (I reccomend an 1 year FCT, as it costs @ 0.6 cents per day) you will have fast downloading in TRS2004, TRS2006, previous versions, as well as TS10 & TS12.

TS10 & TS12 require a pretty fast PC, and most integrated graphics laptops that can run TRS2006, will have choppy framerates in TS10 & TS12.

A high quality video card, and a fast CPU, is the key requiremet of TS10 & TS12.

TRS2006 will operate pretty darn good on low end laptops and desktops ... this is why I use TRS2006.

Also in TRS2006 it does not have the layers that TS10 & TS12 have, that can mess up a surveyor route, with black hole pits when replacing textures, and such.

I would be using TS10 if my PC was higher end specs.

If you have a good PC, especialy a full size tower desktop that has a 300watt + power supply, you can add a video card with wattage that has a MATCHING wattage to your Power Supply) ... I would also reccomend TS12 ... but it does not have compatability with older most assets.

TRS2006 takes screnshots in TGA format, that must be converted to a jpg using Irfanview http://www.irfanview.com/ ... TS10 & TS12 take screenshots directly as a ready to use jpg image.

Alot of updated assets are now broken in TRS2006 ... but you can change the trainz-build line in the config file, of all the assets, and all the assets dependencies, and fix all these broken assets with tedious, easy to do work. Fortunately there are still quite a few decrepid dinosaurs like me that will help you out with fix's and difficulties.

Deano5
July 20th, 2012, 02:29 PM
I use 12 mainly now but still keep 06 along side it too. 06 has my routes built from it's surveyor and just don't look too good in 12, lot's n lot's of work needed to bring them up to 12 scratch standards.
Many years of downloaded content that look darn good in 06 like Trunda's Greenery trees and grass, plus 06 runs smooth as silk on modern desktop systems.
My kids love to use 06 on their computer too.
As much as I think 12 is a great version and on the right tracks to the way forward, I still think 06 is the best version so far all round. :wave:

sparky15
July 20th, 2012, 04:10 PM
I use the Mac version most but keep a copy of TC with the JA files from Trainz Driver through boot camp on my Mac.*

westrain
July 20th, 2012, 05:35 PM
Still with TRs06

StephenCherry
July 20th, 2012, 06:00 PM
Still using TRS06, spent too long building route in surveyor to ditch it. Have got TRS10 installed, but not used it. It does allow access to DLS.

289v8
July 20th, 2012, 06:40 PM
Post Deleted.

cascaderailroad
July 20th, 2012, 06:45 PM
I will eventually put my TRS2006 route into TS10, because of the improved graphics ... and as soon as a TS13 comes out ... I will eventually switch over to that version.

I bought a good ol', brand new TRS2004, for I saw it on EBay for $13.00 including shipping.

jjanmarine3
July 21st, 2012, 01:52 AM
I will eventually put my TRS2006 route into TS10, because of the improved graphics ... and as soon as a TS13 comes out ... I will eventually switch over to that version.

I bought a good ol', brand new TRS2004, for I saw it on EBay for $13.00 including shipping.

Will be watching for this one Cascade.
I would like to get TRS2004 as well if I can .