PDA

View Full Version : Updating Trainz Asset database..?



Ronayne
May 29th, 2012, 09:28 AM
Hello all,

Just about everytime I start Trainz, the annoying 'Updating Trainz Asset Database' window comes up, and it takes a good period of time to do this.
Is there any way to stop it from doing this?

Thanks,

Chris

shaneturner12
May 29th, 2012, 09:39 AM
Hi Chris,

The most common reason for this is if you shut down your system too quickly after closing Trainz.

Trainz needs at least 2-3 minutes (5 is advised) after the main game has closed for the background processes to finish their jobs and close normally.

If you wish to see when this has happened, click Options on the Launcher, followed by Developer, then tick the 'show database process windows box', then click OK.

Shane

Ronayne
May 29th, 2012, 01:36 PM
Thanks Shane. I'll keep that 5 minutes in mind.

shaneturner12
May 29th, 2012, 01:54 PM
It's OK - the 5 minutes should be enough for it to close properly, unless you've been doing a lot in Surveyor or Content Manager.

Shane

tomurban
May 29th, 2012, 02:21 PM
I see that the OP has TS2012. In my installation of TS2012 taddamon closes down in 30 seconds after leaving the program. TS2010 takes a little longer, a little over a minute. This will probably vary depending on your computer specs.

JCitron
May 29th, 2012, 09:47 PM
I find running the program with the database command consoles running. This shows the database activity. When they close, it's safe to turn the computer off.

John

belgian46
June 18th, 2012, 11:05 AM
Hello everybody,

My last work with Trainz 2010 dated from Saterday June 16th.

Today when I wanted to start Trainz 2010, it just refused to start.

Restarted my pc, and then when I started Trainz 2010 I got the message

Updating trainz asset database - after a while I got Scanning for modified asset files and later on I got checking for faulty assets.

The final results was 2314 errors 150 warnings :eek: :confused:.

Some errors were

Error: Asset <kuid2:130544:53001:1> does not match the asset database record

Message: Asset <kuid:457924:100028> failed validation.

Error: Texture 'i10_b8_body/coupler\Env_metal.texture' is missing or could not be loaded for mesh
'i10_b8_body\coupler\coupled.im'.

Error: Attachment point 4 (a.sitpoint1e) in 'queues\passengers\attachment-points' was not found.


Warning: Progressive meshes are no longer supported by Trainz. Though these meshes may work in
Trainz, it is recommended that you switch to a LOD mesh.

Message: Asset <kuid2:75134:67025:1> failed validation.
Error: The Tag 'form' is not permitted within a container of type 'texture-group'.
Error: The Tag 'owner,' is not permitted within a container of type 'texture-group'.

Does anyone know if those errors are automatically corrected? Is there a guide where I can read about these possible errors ?

Thank you

Best regards

Kurt :wave:

belgian46
June 18th, 2012, 12:40 PM
Hello everybody,

Some extra info

Something weird happened. After the update trainz asset database process I wanted to start trainz from within contentmanager.

When clicking on the start trainz item - content manager wanted to commit a route, which was created with Transdem a few weeks ago. When I tried to import that route at that time as content, a taddaemon error was received. The content couldn't be imported due to its big size ( nearly 2gb ). Now, it's strange that content manager is trying to commit that large route, without me using the import content item. So something odd is happening when the update asset database starts

I think this database is no longer reliable.

And something remarkable I noticed when checking the content of content manager. Routes which had been deleted by me where back in content manager.

Best regards

Kurt :wave:

shaneturner12
June 18th, 2012, 12:52 PM
If you have a TADDaemon error, make a note of the asset(s) in question, as I have an open Helpdesk ticket on that issue.

Shane

belgian46
June 18th, 2012, 01:14 PM
If you have a TADDaemon error, make a note of the asset(s) in question, as I have an open Helpdesk ticket on that issue.

Shane

Hello Shane,

I have created a few weeks ago a helpdeskticket concerning the taddaemon error, which occurs when importing content in Trainz which is larger than 500Mb. I have received a reply from Zec, wherein he asked me what actions I had done.

Did I Import cdp or import content ?

This was my answer to Zec's question

1) I'm making a route via Transdem.
2) When the route has been created, I try to import the complete content ( folder in userdata - editing ) via content manager - import content
3) I immediately receive the error
4) Error received - see Taddaemon error
5) Then I click on the text - to see what this report contains, click here
6) I had a look at the report which contains three files -
7) I saved the three files into seperate txt files - registry.txt, errorlog.txt and crash_dmp.txt
8) Afterwards, I try to close down content manager. This can only be done the hard way via taskmanager

Best regards

Kurt :wave:

Scottbe8
June 18th, 2012, 02:43 PM
Hello Shane,

I have created a few weeks ago a helpdeskticket concerning the taddaemon error, which occurs when importing content in Trainz which is larger than 500Mb. I have received a reply from Zec, wherein he asked me what actions I had done.

Did I Import cdp or import content ?

This was my answer to Zec's question

1) I'm making a route via Transdem.
2) When the route has been created, I try to import the complete content ( folder in userdata - editing ) via content manager - import content
3) I immediately receive the error
4) Error received - see Taddaemon error
5) Then I click on the text - to see what this report contains, click here
6) I had a look at the report which contains three files -
7) I saved the three files into seperate txt files - registry.txt, errorlog.txt and crash_dmp.txt
8) Afterwards, I try to close down content manager. This can only be done the hard way via taskmanager

Best regards

Kurt :wave:

Alright, I would suggest copying the folder from /editing to your desktop. You should never import from within the Trainz directory.

JCitron
June 18th, 2012, 08:17 PM
Kurt,

When Trainz has recovered from a database crash, content maybe left open for edit and may also show errors in Content Manager. It is suggested that you view faulty content and select the faulty items. In many cases these errors are false and the assets will disappear from the faulty content list. In other cases, actual faulty content will remain faulty and need to be repaired, redownloaded, or deleted.

In any event, you should have manually committed the content in CM before launching Trainz.

John

belgian46
June 19th, 2012, 03:23 AM
Alright, I would suggest copying the folder from /editing to your desktop. You should never import from within the Trainz directory.

Hello Scottbe8,

Thank you for your information. I will change the import strategy.

Best regards

Kurt :wave:

belgian46
June 19th, 2012, 03:39 AM
Kurt,

When Trainz has recovered from a database crash, content maybe left open for edit and may also show errors in Content Manager. It is suggested that you view faulty content and select the faulty items. In many cases these errors are false and the assets will disappear from the faulty content list. In other cases, actual faulty content will remain faulty and need to be repaired, redownloaded, or deleted.

In any event, you should have manually committed the content in CM before launching Trainz.

John

Hello John,

Thanks for the input. I will try to verify the complete content manager.

My biggest suprise in content manager was reviewing routes which had been deleted by me. This restore was also a recovery of deleted items.

So somewhere there must be a backup directory in Trainz 2010.

I checked some of those recovered routes, and they are functioning.

Best regards

Kurt :wave:

jaden_lenihan
July 24th, 2016, 06:55 AM
i have the same problem with you guys the others don't take long but the checking for faulty assets:eek:it take the longest

JCitron
July 24th, 2016, 03:54 PM
i have the same problem with you guys the others don't take long but the checking for faulty assets:eek:it take the longest

This is normal... and the longest phase of the database repair process as it verifies the content.