PDA

View Full Version : Same way in & out



Frosties
May 3rd, 2012, 06:46 PM
I have a double-tracked mainline on my route. On this route i have a coalmine that needs to be accessed.
The mine has a turnaround so that trains wont have to back in and out, and im trying to get the access rail to work with only one track in.

But however i do i get "cornfield meets" because the signalling or something else isnt correct.

The easy way would be to use one exit and one entrance i guess, or is there any tutorials on this?
Have reading http://trains.0catch.com/ but i cannot find the solution there.


What should i do? Keep trying with signals, or just go with separate entrance and exits?

Same thing occurs when im having a industry that i need to back into.
When there is a train already in the indstry, another train still gets greenlighted and starts approacing the industry.... :confused:

Euphod
May 3rd, 2012, 09:59 PM
What signals are you using? I only signal converging tracks, and then only one of them. I do not signal diverging tracks.

JCitron
May 3rd, 2012, 11:46 PM
For a junction such as this, I would set this up just like a passing track. Where the two tracks meet each other, I'd put in a type 04 towards the track entering into the switch and a type 06 on the outside of the junction facing towards the entry. To keep traffic from trying to take a short-cut around the loop the wrong way, I'd put in two direction markers facing in the direction of travel.

If you're going to run more than one train at once around the loop, I'd suggest using inbetween type 05 signals which are permissives blocks and also act as home signals just like you'd do on a line that handles multiple trains in one direction. This will also prevent the train entering to see it's tail should the tail be near the entrance.

John

Frosties
May 4th, 2012, 04:29 AM
See attached picture:
http://www.robent.se/trainz/junction.jpg
Top signal on the mainline is a 04, and the bottom one is a 02. And on the spur track there are dwarfs.

The first train to enter this bit of track works, but when the second train is arriving at the bottom signal, it wont be able to control or lock the 62 Junction. And then both trains will just stay still...

EDIT:
Seems i made an error...
the junction lever must be on the right side of the track ? :)
When i changed a couple of levers then it seems to be working alright.

JCitron
May 4th, 2012, 11:05 PM
Replace your Type 02s with Type 06s. Type 06s are divirging signals and work well the way you have your Type 02s setup.

For the spur, I'd use a Type 04 instead of a dwarf. There maybe no difference between the two, but a dwarf is usually used for dead end sidings or yards.

John

maruffijd
May 5th, 2012, 08:17 AM
I also would use the ASB Crossover asset set. I have yet to see it create a cornrow meet for me.