PDA

View Full Version : EPB EMUs with interiors showing through

F2Andy
March 28th, 2012, 04:31 PM
This is a problem with Eurostar's otherwise excellent EPB units.

It looks like this:
http://img813.imageshack.us/img813/571/epbproblem.jpg
Hopefully you can see that the interior is appearing through the walls of the unit; it is as though Trainz has got confused about what is in front of what. This happens with both motor and trailer units in three different liveries. Is there a way to correct it?

I should say that I have edited config.txt to (i) remove two empty tags, and (i) for the trail, the passenger stuff has been copied across from the drive unit. Having done that, there are no errors or warnings being reported.

Conductorphil
March 28th, 2012, 07:03 PM
I'm no expert (Haha, who is?) but I'd say that its probably a texture problem. Not the sort of texture issue that Trainz cares about, but the sort where transparency and positioning has gone out of whack. This mostly occurs when importing old locomotives and rolling stock from pre-Trainz Classics (There seems to have been a small change in texture management with Trainz Classics 1 and 3). What version of Trainz were these made for? If it was made for Trainz 2009, I'd suggest talking to the locomotive creator...

JCitron
March 28th, 2012, 08:05 PM
I'm no expert that this, but have seen these issues caused by either an alpha channel problem, or a mesh issue.

Alpha channels allow for transparent areas, but if they're not mapped properly on the mesh, or there is a change in the way TS12 interprets alpha channels, then weird things can happen.

Flipped normals can cause a similar issue to this, where there are holes in the surface and you can see through.

John

F2Andy
March 29th, 2012, 07:33 AM
They were made for TS2004, so pretty old. Is it possible to correct it myself or am I stuck with them like that?

sam11
March 29th, 2012, 04:13 PM
Ha, I have exactly the same problem.

sam11

stovepipe