PDA

View Full Version : Trainz for iPad - some ideas for you to please read and consider.

TedCunn
February 11th, 2012, 10:54 AM
I'm pretty new to this whole Trainz thing and I dearly want to love it. It has so much content, especially for an iPad app, and I could easily spend hours on it. I especially like the idea of making my own layouts. The trouble is it makes such poor use of the touch screen. It has improved a little, but is still too close to being a mouse and keyboard PC game.

The main problem is the dial controller (that controls the speed of the train and the brush size in the editing mode) is far too small. On the iPad screen it's less than one centimetre across and accurately controlling the speed of your train is nearly impossible. In a 50 zone, I can either make the train go at 25 or 70, but never closer to the desired amount. How about a bigger dial or a sliding controller up the side of the screen?

My main concerns are with the editing mode.

Even with the new control schemes for the camera movement (a vast improvement over the old method) it can still be awkward and it failing to take advantage of the touch screen. Rather than seeming like a PC port, it seems more like a console port.

The solution is simple: use the multi-touch.

One finger to apply features and two to use the camera. Sliding two figures could move the camera about, twisting could rotate and pinching could zoom.

I don't think that's a huge change and it already features the multi-touch for zooming.

Next, the onscreen menus in the editing mode are also far too small. Choosing to lay tracks or add features produces a very long and very tiny list. It makes selecting specific items a tricky process and scrolling up and down the lengthy lists only adds to the feeling of awkwardness.