PDA

View Full Version : PEV sway



RiscaStation
February 7th, 2012, 07:55 AM
Hi,

I tried to add "Sway" to a Steam Loco which PEVs program did but when I came to "commit" I had 6 errors relating to texture missing. Carried out a quick data repair and tried again and had the same result, has anyone any idea as to what may be wrong please?

Mike

privite
February 7th, 2012, 01:34 PM
hi,

Chances are that PEV's "Sway" tool has wipped the textures of the loco for some reason. If you search for the missing, and paste it into the file of the loco, by opening it in explorer, then commit it, it should work fine.:)

Cheers

PEV
February 7th, 2012, 05:01 PM
There are NO chances that my Swayer tool will wipe out textures.. My programming is not that sloppy!.

The Swayer tool does nothing to the mesh except change the names of some attachments. Anything to do with textures remains untouched, and the program does not delete any files.

If you added swaying to a built-in item you will need to execute my Images2TGA to convert binary textures to TGA images before re-committing. Use the Content Manager "Open With" facility. Failure to do this will make CM believe textures are missing.

Later Edit: It would be sensible to clone any asset to before adding swaying. When you commit clones of built-ins you get the missing textures message in any event. Open With Images2TGA will fix it.

shaneturner12
February 7th, 2012, 05:05 PM
I agree with PEV. I've not encountered any issues like that from his software.

I am aware though, that if a built-in item is edited, any hidden errors will surface on commit.

Shane

RiscaStation
February 8th, 2012, 04:34 AM
Hi Peter,

It is a built in asset "Aspinall" tank loco I think it is and I did not realise I had to do the following;--

"If you added swaying to a built-in item you will need to execute my Images2TGA to convert binary textures to TGA images before re-committing. Use the Content Manager "Open With" facility. Failure to do this will make CM believe textures are missing".

Will try again and report back.

Also, thank you Shane for your reply.

Mike

shaneturner12
February 8th, 2012, 04:42 AM
The only tool of PEV's that can remove textures is PM2IM if used in Strip Textures mode, and even then it's only textures placed in unsupported slots.

Hopefully you get the errors sorted out, since they only crop up during committing, as the only time that built-in items are no longer protected from error-checking is when they are edited and recommitted, effectively removing them from the .ja files.

Shane

Davie_UCF
February 8th, 2012, 07:18 AM
Its because when you modify a builtin object, CM doesn't like the fact the textures are .texture's, they aren't missing. Just run PEV's Texture to TGA on the item like you did the swayer, that should fix it. Or just revert the asset to original to remove the sway and put it back how it was.

privite
February 8th, 2012, 02:20 PM
There are NO chances that my Swayer tool will wipe out textures.. My programming is not that sloppy!.

The Swayer tool does nothing to the mesh except change the names of some attachments. Anything to do with textures remains untouched, and the program does not delete any files.

If you added swaying to a built-in item you will need to execute my Images2TGA to convert binary textures to TGA images before re-committing. Use the Content Manager "Open With" facility. Failure to do this will make CM believe textures are missing.

Later Edit: It would be sensible to clone any asset to before adding swaying. When you commit clones of built-ins you get the missing textures message in any event. Open With Images2TGA will fix it.

Sorry PEV, didn't mean it like that! I know sometimes things can go wrong occasionally, for no apparent reason. As the others said, as its built-in, it will have errors.

Cheers

PEV
February 8th, 2012, 07:33 PM
Its because when you modify a builtin object, CM doesn't like the fact the textures are .texture's, they aren't missing. Just run PEV's Texture to TGA on the item like you did the swayer, that should fix it. Or just revert the asset to original to remove the sway and put it back how it was.

Please don't use Texture2TGA for this step. It has a bug in the masked alpha handling that can stuff up the result. This bug has been fixed in Images2TGA which I recommend for this conversion.

I have notified N3V that Texture2TGA should no longer be supplied with Trainz but to no avail. Hopefully someone from there will read this.

ffccnn
February 8th, 2012, 09:49 PM
... and the program does not delete any files.

.....

Sorry PEV but your readme file says:

If you inspect the opened items you will find that all *.texture files will have *.tga and
*.texture.txt files added. When you commit the assets the *.texture files will be deleted,
and replaced in the database by the *.tga and *.texture.txt pointer files.

I understand that maybe it is not your utility but the game deleting the files. The point is that indeed some files are deleted and I think that that was the issue.
Other than that, I like very much your tool to fix so many defects with old content and I thank you for developing such tool.

PEV
February 9th, 2012, 01:07 AM
Sorry PEV but your readme file says:

If you inspect the opened items you will find that all *.texture files will have *.tga and
*.texture.txt files added. When you commit the assets the *.texture files will be deleted,
and replaced in the database by the *.tga and *.texture.txt pointer files.

I understand that maybe it is not your utility but the game deleting the files. The point is that indeed some files are deleted and I think that that was the issue.
Other than that, I like very much your tool to fix so many defects with old content and I thank you for developing such tool.

Sorry people but that is now incorrect.. My readme file is out of date..... That was written when I first developed the Texture2TGA tool for TRS2006. It was correct at the time, but later versions (TS2009 onwards) use the image.tga and image.texture.txt files to rebuild new compressed textures (image.texture) when committed into the database. They cannot commit or re-commit image.texture files.

Later Edit: This is an extract from the Texture2TGA readme. I have already advised against using this program because it has not been updated by N3V to fix an error, as stated in a post above.

RiscaStation
February 10th, 2012, 08:07 AM
Hi all,


I applied the "Sway" program to a Clone of the following wagon;-

BR Freight HTV Bauxite and got this ;-
BR Freight HTV Bauxite sway.

Went to commit and got 6 errors.
File "mapfile.tmp" is not of the appropriate file type.
Openwith Images2TGA
and still got the same 6 errors.
Any ideas as to what is being missed please.

Kind regards
Mike

RiscaStation
February 23rd, 2012, 06:59 AM
Hi all,

Can anyone suggest a fix for this, as you can see I posted this on the 10th Feb and I still have no answer, so I will ask again can anyone help me with the "mapfile.tmp" please.

Kind regards
Mike

shaneturner12
February 23rd, 2012, 07:01 AM
mapfile.tmp should only appear if you are dealing with a route file. If this is the case, delete the mapfile.tmp from the asset's folder, as it is normally a result of a fatal error whilst saving route changes. Be aware that any changes that were not previously saved sucessfully will be lost.

Shane

PEV
February 23rd, 2012, 07:05 AM
Mike,

*.tmp files are not supported (or needed) by Trainz. I suggest you save a copy some where then delete it from from asset folder. How it got there in the first instance is a bit of a mystery.

Another point.. None of my tools create temp files in the asset folder. Image2TGA creates two temp images in the application folder.

RiscaStation
February 23rd, 2012, 08:52 AM
Hi Shane and Peter,

Thank you both for the reply.
I will take on the advice given by the both of you.
Many thanks.

Kind regards
Mike

RiscaStation
February 24th, 2012, 07:13 AM
Hi all,

Just a line to let you know I have been successful in getting the sway to work.

Thanks again for the help.

Kind regards
Mike