PDA

View Full Version : Route vanished



Sean_lee
January 28th, 2012, 05:36 AM
Very interesting, new hardware/new install/2010 all patched up. Start a new route yesterday, go to route menu. ITS GONE???? What the. It was there when i saved yesterday. In content manager in my content it just showed new asset no name of route. Not much lost so start again. I am running as administrator. Maybe someone can explain why we have to do this on windows 7. Trainz takes a fair while to get to launch screen as well about 5mins sometimes. Done all the database repairs after install. Something amiss somewhere. version is now49933. Somewhat confused any ideas.:confused::confused::confused::confused:

fran1
January 28th, 2012, 05:49 AM
Find the route again in cm and where it's new asset with no asset name/details put a name in, might work.
I'm on 49933 also and loading takes longer than it did with 44088. If I could go back confidently I would, there's no advantage to me being patched at 49933.

Sean_lee
January 28th, 2012, 06:16 AM
Thanks for that, Done a quick test and started again. done an exit and back in a couple of times its still there. Glad i did not import my other route could have been six months up the spout. That sitting on an external drive.:)

fran1
January 28th, 2012, 06:59 AM
Thanks for that, Done a quick test and started again. done an exit and back in a couple of times its still there. Glad i did not import my other route could have been six months up the spout. That sitting on an external drive.:)

Couple the external up, open both drives and copy/paste the route. Still leaves it safe.

Twodorgs
January 28th, 2012, 07:59 AM
Hi Sean,

Never ever rely on one copy of your hard work in any application.

I like to rotate my saves through three copies of my projects, example, Bigmap1, Bigmap2, Bigmap3.
That way if you get a bad save you have two other copies to fall back on.
Also if a major change you make to your map does not work out it is easy to go back to the previous copy.
Also regularly back up your work to external media so if your hard drive fails or some other disaster you still have your work.

Lindsay :)

Euphod
January 28th, 2012, 09:18 AM
I make so many backups of my route that I've had no time to work on it in 6 months!:eek:

Just kidding, but I think it's also important to have more than one backup in more than one place.;)

RRSignal
January 28th, 2012, 11:18 AM
Remember, emailing a copy to yourself is a great way to keep an "off-site" backup.

malikrthr
January 29th, 2012, 08:37 AM
I know how you feel. I just lost a portion of a route that I have been working on recently. Even though I had a backup of it on one flashdrive, about 2 weeks ago, I sort of messed up trainz 2009 sp4 and I deleted some of the cloned files in my system, which I found out was a bad idea unless you know which files are vital to your system or not. Never going to patch to sp4 again. That just messed everything up:( . Luckily, I just purchased Transdem so it should be up and running soon. Just a couple of days for it. Sending a backup to the email sounds like a good idea also.