PDA

View Full Version : Railroad crossings with invisible road support and regular track



Jokel317
October 27th, 2011, 06:20 PM
Hello all I wondered if there exist`s a such a thing maybe on the DLS. A crossing with regular track and then like invisible track for the road. Preferably US styled. Where drivable vehicles like trucks and buses can stop for trains. The trains don`t get stopped for the road vehicles of course. But the vehicles stop for the trains invisible signals like I guess. In better words invisible track crossing regular visible railroad (railway) tracks. If anybody has a better working alternative idea on this let me know thank`s.

NSWGR_46Class
October 27th, 2011, 06:39 PM
You could just lay invisable track yourself through the crossing - remember that Trainz does not handle dimond or X crossing.

If you want advice on 2009 from the 2009 experts then the best place to ask questions like this is in the 2009 area of the forums.

Retro00064
October 27th, 2011, 06:40 PM
<snip> remember that Trainz does not handle dimond or X crossing.

<snip>

Unless you use Boat's ASB system with the diamond crossing. ;)

Jokel317
October 27th, 2011, 07:15 PM
How do I find Boat`s ASB system and this diamond crossing. What is the name or KUIDs I search under ?

overkill650
October 27th, 2011, 07:49 PM
diamond crossins in trainz are called turnouts. so search

turnout diamond

NSWGR_46Class
October 27th, 2011, 08:02 PM
diamond crossins in trainz are called turnouts. so search

turnout diamond

Since there is no such thing in trainz your better off looking here

http://www.boatztrainz.co.uk/

Google is your friend

overkill650
October 27th, 2011, 08:07 PM
Since there is no such thing in trainz your better off looking here

http://www.boatztrainz.co.uk/

Google is your friend


hey bearcat, i have one that came in my trainz. i have ts2010EE and there is a fixed track that is an 'X' shape diamond, with a road going through it.

NSWGR_46Class
October 27th, 2011, 08:38 PM
hey bearcat, i have one that came in my trainz. i have ts2010EE and there is a fixed track that is an 'X' shape diamond, with a road going through it.

Called a turnout diamond - well you live and learn everyday -

overkill650
October 27th, 2011, 08:41 PM
diamond crossins in trainz are called turnouts. so search

turnout diamond

i said that already dave. lol. i know its called a turnout diamond. i just simplified it, in case the OP didnt know what i meant

Jokel317
October 28th, 2011, 03:22 AM
Thank`s guys for the help.

stagecoach
October 28th, 2011, 10:07 AM
Your best solution for this is ATLS not ASB. The reason is you want traffic to stop for a train every time and not the other way around. Use the tram tutorial on boats site as this is exactly the same way of working you require. You treat the invisible track in the same way as the tram track. Ive done many varied combinations of the ATLS and not been able to break it yet.

Jokel317
October 28th, 2011, 10:34 PM
Thank`s Stagecoach for the response will try that. That sound`s like the best route since I don`t want the trains stopping for the trucks.

stagecoach
October 29th, 2011, 09:38 AM
Use all ATLS components to create the crossing as you would do normaly, dont worry about the invisible track until after as it only needs to be placed aross the crossing and has no relevance to the crossing itself. Use the tram stoppers as the invisible signals on the road track.

Jokel317
October 29th, 2011, 02:33 PM
Having problems with the tram stoppers staying red. But the crossings are functioning perfect outside of that issue. I have the channel set proper for all the parts. I studied Boat`s tutorial very helpful piece there I might add. Thank you for your helpfulness.

stagecoach
October 29th, 2011, 03:07 PM
Ill give you a little tip that you wont find on Boats site because its not recomended but works fine. i discovered it and Boat added a bit to the script to allow it to happen.
Place a second controller and open the properties window, scroll down to the bottom and put a tick in the little box. Set the channel to the same as the one for the crossing, assuming the one for the crossing is set up in crossing mode. If not dont do this. In the controller select two routes and 2 phases and set both of route one to green, set route 2 spl to green and set the tram stoppers to route 1 and tick the force to green box.

Jokel317
October 30th, 2011, 11:29 PM
Will give that a try. Thank`s for the tip.

Jokel317
October 31st, 2011, 06:04 AM
I tried placing a second controller and it only goes from off - channel 2.

stagecoach
October 31st, 2011, 07:03 PM
When you are in the selection window you need to scroll to the bottom of the instructions. A little square white box will be there, place a tick in it and you can select the same channel again. Please make sure that one controller is in level crossing mode and the other is in route mode or else it fails.

Jokel317
November 1st, 2011, 05:01 AM
Ok will do. The first one is set in LCM. (Level Crossing Mode) So it should work as planned hopefully.

Jokel317
November 1st, 2011, 09:18 PM
Ok tried and followed just like you said. Still stuck at red.:confused:

stagecoach
November 2nd, 2011, 12:53 AM
Just done a check of mine and realised that I forgot to mention to selct the force GO needs to be ticked in the tram stopper. Its working on auto and because there are no other signals it will show red.

Jokel317
November 2nd, 2011, 09:23 AM
Are both routes suppose be set to stop on SPL event ? Both tram stoppers are ticked for force to green setting as well.

stagecoach
November 2nd, 2011, 05:44 PM
Yes Both stoppers are set to force green. Thats because they are in automatic mode else, and because there are no other signals they will remain red as do normal signals. In the controller set route 1, green, green and spl red. Route 2 red, red, spl green.

Jokel317
November 2nd, 2011, 08:31 PM
I forgot to mention. I do have other invisible signals along the invisible track routes. Should that interfere with the ATLS setup any ?

stagecoach
November 3rd, 2011, 02:22 AM
No. If you are still having problems I can dig out an ATLS set up route i did back in 2004 which will show various ways to set uo.

Jokel317
November 6th, 2011, 01:52 PM
Actually one side of the crossing now work`s 100%. The other stay`s a all time green. I also noticed sound horn triggers cause problems with ATLS crossings I don`t know if this has been noted before.