PDA

View Full Version : basemaps



AntonyVW
July 31st, 2011, 03:21 PM
I was wondering if it was possible to alter the size of basemaps? What I mean is - those produced by willem2 (which are an absolute marvel) are set to a size of 720m x 720m. They fit exactly 1 baseboard.
What I want to know is can the size be adjusted to fit multiple baseboards - eg 5x4 baseboards? If so how and where do I alter the files to allow this to happen? Also if it is possible - is there a limit to the size?
Im trying to experiment but Im not sure where to start in the first place. I took a look at the config file but I saw nothing there that gave any clues.
My only presumption is the body.im file would need to be resized?

Dermmy
July 31st, 2011, 03:31 PM
You can't do it, you would need to create an all-new asset. One of the real drawbacks of basemaps is rotating and accurately aligning such a large object. If you made them as large as you suggest it would be nigh on impossible...

Andy

AntonyVW
July 31st, 2011, 03:37 PM
Ok - thanks - well thats that idea scuppered :)