PDA

View Full Version : portal question.

hotgrove
June 2nd, 2011, 04:41 PM
i have never used a portal before......tried one on a test board and got nowhere.

Simple question.....how do they work ?

4ndylloyd
June 2nd, 2011, 04:48 PM
It all depends on what you want to do with it ? The iportal can send a train through 'cyberspace' to a new portal, the basic portal can generate new trains for a route and also consume trains. The iportal can do this also mind. I use tham on my routes to act like a fiddle yard. I can send a train already on the route into a prtal for it to gat taken off the route or 'consumed' and portals can also generate new trains to send back into the route. As I type this I remember that a portal can consume a train and then some time later re-issue it back to the route.

What is it that you are trying to do?

Andy

hotgrove
June 2nd, 2011, 05:06 PM
It all depends on what you want to do with it ? The iportal can send a train through 'cyberspace' to a new portal, the basic portal can generate new trains for a route and also consume trains. The iportal can do this also mind. I use tham on my routes to act like a fiddle yard. I can send a train already on the route into a prtal for it to gat taken off the route or 'consumed' and portals can also generate new trains to send back into the route. As I type this I remember that a portal can consume a train and then some time later re-issue it back to the route.

What is it that you are trying to do?

Andy

I was thinking of having maybe freight passing through a route back and forth at certain time levels as an added feature.....can this be done ?

sniper297
June 2nd, 2011, 05:27 PM
Yep.

http://trains.0catch.com/Tut7-IntroToPortals.htm

I got a route in progress with a beta out currently;

http://www.humyo.com/FChMvwQ/beta6.cdp?a=rEi_XDDsj5g