PDA

View Full Version : Blender Render



Maddox61
May 23rd, 2011, 05:03 PM
Got a little problem.

I am learning blender and did the tutorial for the Rocket steam engine.

Model turned out fine, however, I did not do any texturing on the model while building it. Now, as I am trying my hand at texturing in blender, the models front wheel, that has no texture as of yet, appears to have what looks like rust growing on it as I render it. It started a little at the top of the wheel about the second time I rendered the image. The more I do and save the larger the area gets. Now, it has covered the entire front wheel all the way down the spokes to the hub. I checked the mesh, it is fine, it appears to be the material itself that has black smudge looking spots all over it.

Does this sound like a bug in Blender, or maybe a bug in my system?:eek:

Any input would be a big help

Thanks

Maddox61
May 23rd, 2011, 06:15 PM
http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/229377_212876098734737_100000370451642_693793_7752 458_n.jpg


This wheel has had no texturing or materials added to it. Two days ago, it looked normal.

As I was saving my progress yesterday, I noticed that the wheel had this deformation only at the top.

As of today, it has spread to the entire wheel.

Maddox61
May 23rd, 2011, 07:00 PM
This is the render of the tutorial model that was downloaded to my system and rendered on my Blender program. If you note, the rust looking stuff is even on there train around the boiler bands. This tells me that I did not do anything on my model to cause this to happen.

Also if you look close, you will see that the rivots on the center band have been affected, but not on the outer bands.

??????? Wow. I don't know what to think. This has never happened on any other 3D program, Truespace, Gmax or 3DMax(demo), that have ran on this same sytem.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/231047_212879458734401_100000370451642_693801_2191 651_n.jpg

Maddox61
May 23rd, 2011, 08:03 PM
This is an image of the Barrels in the tender car that I was testing some textures on.
The image file I used to texture the bands with rusty metal looks a lot like that on the front wheel.

Could this file be affecting any other files in the Blender programing?
I got the image from a free texture download site.

This is realy not that big a deal, as for this model is only a tutorial model.
I just don't want this to be an issue with the models that I am wanting to create and keep, or even worse, the ones that may be downloaded and used on other peoples systems.

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/249539_212888105400203_100000370451642_693870_2338 190_n.jpg

Mick_Berg
May 23rd, 2011, 09:59 PM
I can't help with the texture problem, but I'm asking you for help as you have evidently worked through the tutorial successfully. I am confused by Neal's instruction in making the barrels; "Box select the inside edges" What does he mean by that?
Good luck with the rust, does it render OK in Trainz?
Mick Berg.

Maddox61
May 24th, 2011, 01:10 AM
Hey Mick

Don't know how it renders in trains yet. I am simply getting used to Blender. And this model would not work anyway, over 150,000 poly.

You have the top edges of the Barrel, the bottom edges of the barrel and the inside edges of the barrel.
Ctrl-Tab edge select, B then LM, box select inside edges, subdevide 5 times, Ctrl-Tab vertex select mode and call it barrel.
You probably already know this though.;)

Shoot, Blender is the easiest 3D program I have used. Still going to have a time learnig how to get my models to Trainz though. I can model them, I just can't move them around. I spent all my time with 3D in the past creating animated videos and promos for my websites..

paulhobbs
May 24th, 2011, 01:41 AM
You've simply got double faces on top of each other where the 'rust' is occuring. Delete the extra faces.

Paul

Jananton
May 24th, 2011, 03:01 PM
I can't help with the texture problem, but I'm asking you for help as you have evidently worked through the tutorial successfully. I am confused by Neal's instruction in making the barrels; "Box select the inside edges" What does he mean by that?
Good luck with the rust, does it render OK in Trainz?
Mick Berg.
Hmm, looking at those barrels they're probably made the same as in this video tutorial (http://www.blendercookie.com/2009/06/22/creating-a-wooden-barrel/) here.

Greetings from dusk Amsterdam,

Jan

Maddox61
May 24th, 2011, 03:57 PM
I Checked this out.

I tried removing any double vertices, I deleted the wheel then added it back iin and I have checked the outliner to make sure That I did not have any duplicate files.

No luck.

Here is a pic while during the texturing. The wheel is still the same.
I think I am just going to delete the wheel and rebuild it.

Note: Creating brass or brushed metals is not easy in Blender either.:)


.http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/247842_213066295382384_100000370451642_694892_3184 025_n.jpg

Maddox61
May 24th, 2011, 04:06 PM
Hmm, looking at those barrels they're probably made the same as in this video tutorial (http://www.blendercookie.com/2009/06/22/creating-a-wooden-barrel/) here.

Greetings from dusk Amsterdam,

Jan

I used the tutorial off of Blenders tutorials, the one with the Rocket Steam Engine, to build the barrels.

The Texture was an image I have for wood slats. Simple texturing.
The metal was a pic I downloaded from a free texture site.
That is the one that looks like the wheel, less the color.

I just checked out that site, good tutorial. And wow. I'm impressed, those are the first barrels I ever made and textured, and they look almost as good as those in there tutorial. However, I am using 5.7 and I still have more to learn before I can understand enough to use the 2.49 tutorials in 5.7

Maddox61
May 24th, 2011, 04:32 PM
Hmm, looking at those barrels they're probably made the same as in this video tutorial (http://www.blendercookie.com/2009/06/22/creating-a-wooden-barrel/) here.

Greetings from dusk Amsterdam,

Jan


Also, in the event that this was meant to be sarcastic.

No I did not use that tutorial.
I ain't lame to modeling because I am using tutorials and asking questions. I am using a new program that I must familiarize myself with and I am also new to Trainz. I simply figure, what better place to go for help, than the people here that already have forgotten more about Blender than I probably will ever know!

And yes, I did create that texture without the tutorial.
Looks good, don't it.

If this was not sarcasm, please disregard this statement.;)

paulhobbs
May 24th, 2011, 04:35 PM
Either you've duplicated the wheel and moved it a bit in which case remove doubles won't help as the vertices are not in the same place or (more likely) you've mirrored the wheel twice. Is there still a mirror modifier on the wheel?

Paul

Maddox61
May 24th, 2011, 05:47 PM
Either you've duplicated the wheel and moved it a bit in which case remove doubles won't help as the vertices are not in the same place or (more likely) you've mirrored the wheel twice. Is there still a mirror modifier on the wheel?

Paul

I wish that was it. I did not use the mirror modifier.
Made duplicate and rotated 180 for right wheel.

Mick_Berg
May 24th, 2011, 10:27 PM
Hey Mick

Don't know how it renders in trains yet. I am simply getting used to Blender. And this model would not work anyway, over 150,000 poly.

You have the top edges of the Barrel, the bottom edges of the barrel and the inside edges of the barrel.
Ctrl-Tab edge select, B then LM, box select inside edges, subdevide 5 times, Ctrl-Tab vertex select mode and call it barrel.
You probably already know this though.;)

Shoot, Blender is the easiest 3D program I have used. Still going to have a time learnig how to get my models to Trainz though. I can model them, I just can't move them around. I spent all my time with 3D in the past creating animated videos and promos for my websites..
Ah, it was as simple as that! Thanks.
Seems like you should have a look at my first tutorial which is on my website at www.mickberg.com (http://www.mickberg.com). It explains how to export from Blender 2.57 into Trainz 2010.
Mick Berg.

Maddox61
May 25th, 2011, 03:29 AM
Ah, it was as simple as that! Thanks.
Seems like you should have a look at my first tutorial which is on my website at www.mickberg.com (http://www.mickberg.com). It explains how to export from Blender 2.57 into Trainz 2010.
Mick Berg.



Hey Mick,

I checked out your site, as well as the tutorial. You did a good job on the tutorial.

I have no problem loading the exporter into Blender, or exporting the files. My problem was is the content creater. Having trouble creating the config.txt file, adding it to my models files and getting it to show up in the surveyor.
I read the entire CCG and did exactly as it read. The name of the asset would show up in the surveyors menu items, but the image was not there.

I'm going to spend a little more time getting used to Blender, so I know that I am not creating problems from this end. Then I will try and figure out what I am doing wrong on trainz end.

Learnig curve?:hehe:

More like a collage cource.

I had less trouble learning CSS and HTML than I am having learning this simple little train sims program.;)

Jananton
May 25th, 2011, 04:24 AM
Also, in the event that this was meant to be sarcastic.
No no, it wasn't. Because explaining things in text can sometimes be difficult and prone to misunderstanding, even for native speakers, I thought some pictures would mean more then a thousand words. :hehe:

As for the wheel with overlapping faces presumably. Could it be you've initially constructed it with an array modifier. (I obviously don't know the Rocket tutorial) Too many instances of the array could result in overlapping faces as seen here.

Greetings from sunny Amsterdam,

Jan

Maddox61
May 25th, 2011, 03:22 PM
No no, it wasn't. Because explaining things in text can sometimes be difficult and prone to misunderstanding, even for native speakers, I thought some pictures would mean more then a thousand words. :hehe:

As for the wheel with overlapping faces presumably. Could it be you've initially constructed it with an array modifier. (I obviously don't know the Rocket tutorial) Too many instances of the array could result in overlapping faces as seen here.

Greetings from sunny Amsterdam,

Jan

Oop, sorry Jan.;)

As for the wheel, I used no modifiers. Now that you mentioned it, I did use restraints so the piston and conecting rods would work. However, I just removed those and still the same:(

Oh well, LOL. I guess I am just going to replace the wheel. Very easy to do.
I do wish I new what did that though. Good thing, it hasn't happened since.:)