PDA

View Full Version : TGR (Tasmanian Government Railways) Fingal Line screenshots



pware
February 23rd, 2011, 04:55 PM
September 2014: The layout has now been converted to its original narrow gauge (3ft 6in - 1067mm) and redesigned, using data from the Tasmanian Transportation Museum, the Australian National Archives and railway historians, to more closely resemble how it looked in the early 1950s. The first release of the layout covers Conara Junction to Avoca and demonstrates the use of a new rule on the DLS. The full layout will be released when more features have been added to the rule. Screenshots are available at http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?113942-Tasmania-s-Fingal-Line-%28Conara-Avoca-section%29-Safeworking-screenshots


After 12 months of work I have finally completed the layout for this line set in the early 1960s when it ran all the way from Conara Junction to St Marys in eastern Tasmania - a distance of 75km (47 mi). By 1983 the line had been "rationalised" to just 59 km (37 mi). The layout is based on track diagrams, historical (and current) photos, descriptions and data from Google Earth.

The layout is for Trains 2010, uses moderate to high detail and, for those who are allergic, carries a "Speed Trees" warning. Final release date is uncertain (but not 12 months off) as I want to complete some sessions, in game documentation and test, test, test.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_001.jpg

Mid morning at St Marys yard. Wagons and a guards van await the arrival of the loco seen smoking in the distance being serviced at the depot.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_002.jpg

The assembled return pickup goods departs St Marys for Conara Junction.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_004.jpg

It is later seen entering the now disused Mt Nicholas yard. The branch line to the closed Mt Nicholas mine is seen diverging to the left.

pware
February 23rd, 2011, 05:06 PM
Since there is a shortage of Trainz 2010 compatible TGR rolling stock I have been forced to "borrow" comparable equipment from other Australian states - something that the TGR did anyway. The English Electric X class loco, however, is a TGR original.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_009.jpg

X31 loco with a mixed passenger freight pauses at Hanleth platform. Separate passenger services on the line ceased during the 1950s and up until the 1970s passengers were accommodated in the guards van (caboose) of some freight services. During certain holiday periods a passenger car would sometimes be attached to a freight service - as shown above.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_006.jpg

Later arriving at Avoca station. Avoca is one of three townships/villages on the line - the others being Fingal (the current terminus) and St Marys.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_007.jpg

The pickup goods waits at Cullenswood for a crossing empty coal train to emerge from the winter gloom (or is it summer? - in Tasmania it can be hard to tell) before it can continue its journey.

pware
February 23rd, 2011, 05:09 PM
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_008.jpg

An empty coal train on route to the Cornwall coal loader passes through Frodsley.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_005.jpg

Beyond Frodsley it passes through sheep grazing country.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk192/pware/TGR/TGR_011.jpg

... before arriving at the Cornwall screens to load coal.

ZecMurphy
February 23rd, 2011, 05:58 PM
Wow, that looks really nice :) Good work...

Seeing that VR stuff on there makes me think of a 'what if' layout... Namely, what if Tassie had actually continued building in 5ft3in :eek:

Zec

Muliebuck
February 23rd, 2011, 06:09 PM
I agree, looks wonderfully detailed, so keep up the great work, promises to be a very nicely detailed route when its completed :)

Boobless_ed
February 24th, 2011, 12:46 AM
It's a shame I was unable to contact the author of the M and MA class locos to perhaps bribe him into releasing them... I've been wanting to see some Tassie routes and more stock since '04 came out. Glad to see this route!

twarner
March 7th, 2011, 09:05 AM
I've just downloaded your 'Introduction' session to use on your route.

Excellent route and detail. A joy to be able to download something so comprehensive with all content on the DLS.

One point; you mention that information and instructions for completing various tasks have been built into this session. Could you explain exactly where or how please. I've looked unsuccesfully for an instruction file in edit mode.

Thanks a lot.

Terry

tume
March 8th, 2011, 03:33 AM
Hallo,

great compliment! Your screens looks great. I am a fan of detailed routes been built from historical photos and maps – especial if the creator likes to provide some historical background with such a route.
How could you create such a 75 km route in only 12 month? That’s really fast. I worked about 3 years at my Milwaukee Road Avery-Drexel route including all the creation of the required special content to meet the real thing as close as possible. But I guess route creation goes a bit faster by using TS2010 rather than TRS2006. Especially the replacement tool is a much powerful help.

Anyway – congratulations again!
Have a nice day.
Your’s TUME

pauldm
March 8th, 2011, 05:39 PM
Terry,

I was wondering the same thing until I noticed that there's an html file for the session on the DLS. Once I downloaded it, the instructions showed up.

Regards, Paul

twarner
March 8th, 2011, 07:11 PM
Oops, so there is, thanks Paul, :)

Terry

pware
March 11th, 2011, 06:00 AM
Thank you guys for all the positive feedback. It makes it worthwhile - although I create these layouts for the enjoyment of creating them and, sometimes, for the stress relief, they bring.

oknotsen
January 22nd, 2012, 12:15 PM
I just downloaded this route.

Just wanted to compliment pware on an absolutely beautifull piece of work :).


The layout is for Trains 2010... and a version for TS12 (made by pware ofc) is now available on DLS.

pware
January 22nd, 2012, 06:53 PM
Just wanted to compliment pware on an absolutely beautifull piece of work :).

Thank you Oknotsen for the compliment.

As you also noted I have now updated and improved the route for TS12 and have added three sessions with related HTML assets (8 .cdp files in total) that illustrate operations on the line in 1963 and 1964.

Despite weeks of testing, one bug did get through. A superfluous switch that only affects AI operations that use the Avoca Loop siding. Use the Find feature to locate the trackside object AV08CP and simply delete it.

I was debating whether or not to upload an update to the layout with the issue fixed but at 46MB this might be a bit too much for a minor issue.

Peter Ware

rbar_164
January 22nd, 2012, 07:05 PM
Ah, I had no idea I could download this :)

Can you tell me, how many baseboards is it?

Cheers
Stevo

oknotsen
January 22nd, 2012, 07:26 PM
how many baseboards is it?To many to do an exact count, but I estimate about 150. The route seems to be mainly 3 boards N-S and about 50-60 E-W.

Note: It is available for 2010 and 12 on DLS. I dont know if that will work with your 2006 and 2009.

Tanvaras
January 22nd, 2012, 08:14 PM
Hello Pware,

Simply stunning route mate. Totally enjoyed my run of the History Tour Session. Really enjoyed how you have the pop up infomation cards with the history of the sections/areas, I actually paused to read each and everyone of them.

One issue in Trainz 2012 though - Wasn't game breaking in anyway I could see.

:- kuid:-3:11061 is unknown. Google and CM are unable to find this fellow.

Thanks for such a quality route, one that has been Favorited on my route listing.

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/tanvaras/Tanvaras_20120123_0004.jpg

Cheers

Trent

pware
January 22nd, 2012, 08:33 PM
kuid:-3:11061 is unknown. Google and CM are unable to find this fellow.
...


Thanks for the feedback,

-3:11061 according to my CM is built in to TS12 as Passengers, type Misc, author Auran, build version 2.9

Peter Ware

Tanvaras
January 22nd, 2012, 08:49 PM
Thanks for the feedback,

-3:11061 according to my CM is built in to TS12 as Passengers, type Misc, author Auran, build version 2.9

Peter Ware

Hmm, thanks for the reply. I double checked my CM, but shows missing. I have all TS2009 // TS2010 imported into Trainz 2012. So its got me. But all in all, it works fine regardless. I do have kuid:-3:11060 as Auran//Passengers though

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/tanvaras/missingkuid.jpg

Anyways, back to running your sessions. I am having a blast :)

Cheers

Trent

oknotsen
January 22nd, 2012, 09:05 PM
-3:11061 according to my CM is built in to TS12 as Passengers, type Misc, author Auran, build version 2.9
Edited and replaced it by -3:11060 after reading somewhere else on the forum that was a common solution.

Muliebuck
January 22nd, 2012, 10:18 PM
I whole heartedly agree with the sentiments and commentary of others, this is a beautifully detailed route, with plenty to do and see, and commendations to the creator for an excellent piece of work.

mattm
January 23rd, 2012, 03:26 AM
I will agree with sentiments already expressed. Thanks for the route Pware.

Trent, follow oknosten's advice. Also had that missing kuid, and the suggested change cleared it right up.

I also had <kuid2:61119:23075:4> show as missing, however dropping the 2 & 4 also cleared that up.

Now I just have to DL the sessions; look forward to running them.

Matt.

itzemmyjane
January 23rd, 2012, 03:43 AM
It's a shame I was unable to contact the author of the M and MA class locos to perhaps bribe him into releasing them

I will be moving to Tasmania, and someone that I met in November last year said if I asked next time, he would get in contact with the creator of the M/MA class and ask him to release them. The man I met and the creator apparently know each other personally...

pware, nice route. I got it from the DLS in TS2010 and it was great. Thankyou for spending the time to create a Tasmanian route

trainz89
January 23rd, 2012, 06:03 AM
Hello,

Pware, your going to love this news;

I will be making some Tasmanian Locomotives for the project.

http://westonlangford.com/media/photos/cache/105781_display.jpg
Hobart CC 26 CC 27

I am taking a brief break, from my usual Queensland modelling, to take a trip down the apple ile. To make some engines for TGR. I can make the engines, but I require assistance for the drivers. Since I am inexperienced at the moment, and their is no current tutorial for making complex 4 to 6 coupled drivers.

I hope this is news enjoy.

Kindest Regards
Michael Gitsham

pware
January 23rd, 2012, 07:03 AM
Thank you all for the feedback and complements on the route. A large part of the credit goes to the article by Jim Stokes published in the January 2010 edition of Australian Railway History by the AHRS (NSW division) which gave me the track diagrams, line history and other details that made the Trainz 2010 and TS12 layouts possible.


I will be making some Tasmanian Locomotives for the project.
Michael Gitsham

That's good news Michael and best of luck in achieving a successful result. Steam locos from the TGR are non-existent on the DLS and they would fill a significant gap in this project.

Peter Ware

michael_leahy
January 23rd, 2012, 06:28 PM
Thank you TRS2012 :udrool: :mop: :hehe: ;) :D :eek: :)

kamran
January 23rd, 2012, 06:33 PM
which semaphore signals are used?

ManyTone
January 23rd, 2012, 09:14 PM
Thanks a bunch.... I had a great afternoon running the tour session. Fantastic layout and session. I loved the info pop-ups. Can't wait to run some of the other sessions.
Cheers!

mattm
January 23rd, 2012, 10:17 PM
Thanks (again) for a great route, and some great sessions to go with.

Spent an enyoable half hour or so running the 'Mixed Run' session, before other things had to be attended to.

Love the idea of the HTML pop-ups, detailing the various tasks. Makes the session so much better.

Matt.

pware
January 24th, 2012, 01:34 AM
which semaphore signals are used?

NSW (New South Wales Government Railways) Semaphores that are on the DLS, author natvander. They were the closest I could find to those used on the TGR. In the real world the last of these in actual service were removed and replaced by LED equipped electronic signals during 2010.

Peter Ware

ad602000
January 24th, 2012, 03:08 AM
Since there is a shortage of Trainz 2010 compatible TGR rolling stockBillegulla made a 2010 version of my K1 loco, so if you have a few k's of 2 foot line. The main problem i found with tasmanian stuff is a lack of drawings of rollingstock. I think I made a cammel (I think thats how you spell it)rail motor once but never released it, lack of interest.

pm me your email address, I still have the cdp its for trs2004 and it's 3'6" gauge. if you look around on the dls I also did a U class for trs 2004

pware
January 24th, 2012, 03:36 AM
I still have the cdp its for trs2004 and it's 3'6" gauge. if you look around on the dls I also did a U class for trs 2004

I did try a couple of older (TRS2006, 2004) locos, particularly from the SAR as the TGR sourced a fair few of their locos, both steam and diesel, from the SAR but these proved to be unsatisfactory in TS12.

Thanks for the offer of the 3'6" locos but I actually did the layout using standard gauge for all the additional assets it provides.

Peter Ware

b9k9kiwi
January 24th, 2012, 04:59 PM
... I actually did the layout using standard gauge for all the additional assets it provides.

Peter Ware

Mmmm ... I've converted the layout to 3ft 6in gauge - or, at least, tried to.

I find that there are a number of assets, some buildings, some track (bridges for instance) that I cannot delete and replace with appropriate gauged equivalents.

Choosing different layers doesn't fix it - why is this I wonder?

mattm
January 24th, 2012, 07:10 PM
Pware,

Just one issue I would like to raise, after I got the urge to create a session using a few NSWGR assets. Unsure whether you did it deliberately, or just left them there accidentally after testing, but you have left a train sitting on the main line. Removing it isn't an issue, until you attempt to save the session, as the train is part of the route layer, meaning a new version of the route has to be saved before you can do anything with new sessions involving the mainline.

Edit: There are also a few loose consists, similarly placed on the route layer, at Duncan and Cullenswood.

It's a great route, nonetheless, and I have a few shots from the 'Mixed Run' session, taken last night.

http://www.hostthenpost.com/uploads/dde2a0200438b63fc20212ddd8c6e6e1.jpg
(http://hostthenpost.org)http://www.hostthenpost.com/uploads/4faa8d331c49e56e5ef181799d18a953.jpg (http://hostthenpost.org)
http://www.hostthenpost.com/uploads/9122b90c208c1b383c94e0fcf3e9e1d8.jpg (http://hostthenpost.org)

Matt.

NormP
January 24th, 2012, 09:41 PM
I have had a couple of runs over the Route, very enjoyable trips.
Only problem found is the "vr passenger platform-5m" <2:103475:37000-1> is a no show,although (in survayor) their spline rings show.
The platform ends are there in place.
CM doesn't show any missing dependencies or errors,any suggestions please ?
I managed to fix a few minor errors with other assets along the way but not this one.

NormP.

TS12 Route.

mattm
January 24th, 2012, 10:42 PM
Mmmm ... I've converted the layout to 3ft 6in gauge - or, at least, tried to.

I find that there are a number of assets, some buildings, some track (bridges for instance) that I cannot delete and replace with appropriate gauged equivalents.

Choosing different layers doesn't fix it - why is this I wonder?

Just tried replacing a few assets myself; The Cornwall coal loader was giving me trouble until I unlocked the 'Overlapped Assets' layer.

Did you try that?

Matt.

pware
January 24th, 2012, 11:55 PM
Mmmm ... I've converted the layout to 3ft 6in gauge - or, at least, tried to.

I find that there are a number of assets, some buildings, some track (bridges for instance) that I cannot delete and replace with appropriate gauged equivalents.

Choosing different layers doesn't fix it - why is this I wonder?

All track, signals and bridges are in the route-layer as are all industry scenery items attached to the track. A few platform and industry related assets (water towers, a crane, a few boxes sitting on a platform) are in a special Overlapped Assets route layer. Only a few minor scenery items (most of the parked cars, people, a boat, a tape barrier fence, and perhaps one or two other items) are in session-layers. So I do not see why, if the layer is unlocked, something could not be deleted.

Peter Ware

pware
January 25th, 2012, 12:05 AM
... but you have left a train sitting on the main line... There are also a few loose consists, similarly placed on the route layer, at Duncan and Cullenswood.


Yes, there is a coal train (loco, tender, 15 wagons and a guards van) at Duncan and an empty consist of 15 coal wagons at Cullenswood. There is also a stationary passenger train (the Tasman Limited) outside Conara on the main line but in each loaded session this moves forward, stops at the Conara station then exits via the Conara Nth Portal. These are all in the route-layer so they will appear in every session (well, not sure about the Cullenswood wagons - they may be in a session layer in two of the three sessions only - I would have to load up Trainz to check).

There is a train (loco, tender, 30 wagons, van) on the Loop siding at Avoca but only in a consist session layer in the Cornwall Coal session. Likewise, certain other trains are positioned in session layers in each of the three sessions.

Peter Ware

pware
January 25th, 2012, 12:07 AM
Only problem found is the "vr passenger platform-5m" <2:103475:37000-1> is a no show,although (in survayor) their spline rings show.

This sometimes happens to me in Surveyor as well but usually the next time I load Surveyor the problem has just as mysteriously vanished. It was far too intermittent to report it as a bug or problem.

It does not seem to affect Driver mode.

Peter Ware

steins2
October 11th, 2012, 01:29 AM
:( i have TS10 and can only see the instructions for TS9/10, the actual map i can only find as TS12 compatible... Where can ifind the TS10 layout

pware
November 4th, 2012, 10:32 PM
Unfortunately, when I updated the route, the new route (in TS12) was placed onto the DLS as an update to the previous TS10 route. This was my mistake as I did not then (I do now) understand how to upload a new version of a route in a newer version of the program without destroying the previous version.