PDA

View Full Version : Solid Modeler Conversion in 3d Canvas



hminky
February 15th, 2011, 01:16 PM
I worked in the Engineering field and used Pro Engineer for solid modeling. Models made in ProE and other engineering programs can be imported into "artsy" modelers but the models have a whole bunch of polys.

http://www.pacificcoastairlinerr.com/image/cattle_loader.jpg

That is a cattle loader I developed in ProE to make a "live" model for my old On30 Pacific Coast Air Line Railway. It has 2886 polys after importing an STL model into 3d Canvas8. I developed the model in ProE Wildfire Student Edition-Personal Use.

After consolidating the faces in 3d Canvas the models were down to 810 polys:

The Trainz import, forgive the texturing:

http://www.pacificcoastairlinerr.com/image/cattle_pen_proe.jpg

Hope that helps someone
Harold

johnwhelan
February 15th, 2011, 02:59 PM
There is an overhead of 300 poly equivalents per mesh and 200 per texture file so 800 polys isn't too bad.

Cheerio John

whitepass
February 16th, 2011, 10:02 AM
I hope you know that your Student Edition is only good for two years.

hminky
February 16th, 2011, 10:20 AM
I hope you know that your Student Edition is only good for two years.

The "Personal Use" version lasts forever. It just costs more.

Harold