PDA

View Full Version : Diappointed with Auran not supporting TRS 2006



RAdler
January 14th, 2011, 10:59 AM
:'( I just have to voice my disappointment with Auran's decision to no longer support TRS 2006. I went ahead and bought 2009 when it came out and was very disappointed with the unstability of the product. I really could never get it to run properly. I am really hesitant to invest more money into TRS 2010 with the possibility of the same issues. Having 2006 to fall back on was my only saving grace. I hope you listen to all the unhappy users out here and do something to show you care about your users.

shaneturner12
January 14th, 2011, 11:53 AM
Have you patched your version of TS2009? I know the game was unstable without patches, but it should be more stable if patched as far as SP3 (I would advise caution if you are thinking of installing SP4)

Shane

Mouse84
January 14th, 2011, 12:52 PM
I had the same problem with 2009 until I patched it. Since patching, it hasn't crashed in many months.

PatrickTaylor89
January 14th, 2011, 01:25 PM
:'( I just have to voice my disappointment with Auran's decision to no longer support TRS 2006. I went ahead and bought 2009 when it came out and was very disappointed with the unstability of the product. I really could never get it to run properly. I am really hesitant to invest more money into TRS 2010 with the possibility of the same issues. Having 2006 to fall back on was my only saving grace. I hope you listen to all the unhappy users out here and do something to show you care about your users.

I still use TRS 2006 on a regular basis, and I'm still not sure that I'm going to give it up in favour of 2010 - although 2010 works just fine for me so far. To be honest, I just don't understand all of the frustration people are feeling about this "support" issue. There's no reason why you have to give up 2006 if you feel that it's the best option for you.

The only change is that you can no longer access the DLS for free. You have several options:

1) Get a First Class Ticket - You'll get better download speeds and be able to carry on with 2006 as you always have for what I feel is a fairly reasonable price given the sheer amount of content on the DLS.

2)If a FCT is not to your liking, or if you simply can't afford it, you already have 2009, so you can just use the 09 Content Manager to download the items you want, and then transfer them back to 2006. You should just be able to add them to a CDP and then open them up in the 06 Content Manager. A bit of an extra step, sure, but not really that big of a deal, is it?

Patrick

dragonharh
January 14th, 2011, 06:21 PM
2)If a FCT is not to your liking, or if you simply can't afford it, you already have 2009, so you can just use the 09 Content Manager to download the items you want, and then transfer them back to 2006. You should just be able to add them to a CDP and then open them up in the 06 Content Manager. A bit of an extra step, sure, but not really that big of a deal, is it?

Patrick
you can but not with 2009 routes wont work with trs06 i may be rong you can with 09 trains i transport my stuff back and foth alot its not hard to do. i like trs09 batter:)

JimDep
January 14th, 2011, 06:35 PM
The only change is that you can no longer access the DLS for free. You have several options:

1) Get a First Class Ticket - You'll get better download speeds and be able to carry on with 2006 as you always have for what I feel is a fairly reasonable price given the sheer amount of content on the DLS.

2)If a FCT is not to your liking, or if you simply can't afford it, you already have 2009, so you can just use the 09 Content Manager to download the items you want, and then transfer them back to 2006. You should just be able to add them to a CDP and then open them up in the 06 Content Manager. A bit of an extra step, sure, but not really that big of a deal, is it?

Patrick

The big one for me, that I don't see on your list is that you can't UPLOAD 2004/2006 content to the DSL. I'm not going to pay to UPLOAD my own content. Another choice is spread out hundreds of items over 3rd party sites, which I'm not crazy about either. It makes KUID hunting a pain and time consuming, to put together enough missing KUIDs for a complete route and scenarios as intended.

Anyway, if I could upload the 2004/2006 stuff to DLS as I intended a few years ago starting these projects, at this point I'd probably stay silent on the issue.

PatrickTaylor89
January 15th, 2011, 01:59 AM
you can but not with 2009 routes wont work with trs06 i may be rong you can with 09 trains i transport my stuff back and foth alot its not hard to do. i like trs09 batter:)

True, you can't download 09/10 stuff with '06, but that has nothing to do with whether or not Auran allows free DLS access. You couldn't do that either way.:)

The big one for me, that I don't see on your list is that you can't UPLOAD 2004/2006 content to the DSL. I'm not going to pay to UPLOAD my own content. Another choice is spread out hundreds of items over 3rd party sites, which I'm not crazy about either. It makes KUID hunting a pain and time consuming, to put together enough missing KUIDs for a complete route and scenarios as intended.

Anyway, if I could upload the 2004/2006 stuff to DLS as I intended a few years ago starting these projects, at this point I'd probably stay silent on the issue.

You're quite correct. This is one side of it that I hadn't considered and I can see how that would be a pain.

Patrick

backyard
January 15th, 2011, 03:07 AM
:cool: Hello ra, go to Can You Run It? (http://cyri.systemrequirementslab.com/CYRI/)

In the blue box, select "Trainz Simulator 2009."

You will see the computer's specs real-time & how it will react using TS2009...I really hope you can step-up to 'o9, because it's well worth the trouble...:hehe:

Tremain
January 15th, 2011, 03:09 AM
:'( I just have to voice my disappointment with Auran's decision to no longer support TRS 2006. I went ahead and bought 2009 when it came out and was very disappointed with the unstability of the product. I really could never get it to run properly. I am really hesitant to invest more money into TRS 2010 with the possibility of the same issues. Having 2006 to fall back on was my only saving grace. I hope you listen to all the unhappy users out here and do something to show you care about your users.


TRS 2010 is not worth the because it sucks and it is just an upgrade to TS 2009 !!! (especially with build 42203)

I am going back to TS2009 !!!

Deano5
January 15th, 2011, 04:40 AM
I have 2010 installed with all it's bugs, I also have 2006 on the same hard drive and use that every day, but, no matter how much I upgrade my comp, 2006 won't get any better as it can't see/use multi core CPU's like 2010 does IIRC.

Mouse84
January 15th, 2011, 08:27 AM
TRS 2010 is not worth the because it sucks and it is just an upgrade to TS 2009 !!! (especially with build 42203)

I am going back to TS2009 !!!


That's strange, I have 09 and 10 fully updated and they both run great. I can see the improvements in 10 over 09. I see that you haven't even registered your 2010, maybe you don't even have it.

ct_krogen
January 15th, 2011, 04:56 PM
TRS 2010 is not worth the because it sucks and it is just an upgrade to TS 2009 !!! (especially with build 42203)

I am going back to TS2009 !!!

how do u know 10 sucks, i run it every day with no problems....
it must be your computer that sucks

H222
January 15th, 2011, 07:48 PM
I think the ones who whinge about everything have issues about it

A few months ago I interrupted my patching to SP3, so, I went to the TS2010 forum, asked POLITELY, because I had no idea what I'd done, and Huzzah! I received assistance, from forum members,

Please and Thank you will go a long way

Jamie

RAdler
January 17th, 2011, 11:35 AM
Shane,

Thank you for your response. Yes, I did patch 2009 up to SP3. read alot of bad things about SP4 so decided not to do that one. While it did improve the performance I still liked the stability of 2006 over 09. Thanks again.
RA

shaneturner12
January 17th, 2011, 11:39 AM
From my experiences, I've found that 09 seems to be more reliable than 06 (no KernelStandard_7c.dll errors after 30-40 minutes etc, and a content manager that does not freeze when dealing with large amounts of content (~4500 pieces of custom content))

Shane

JCitron
January 17th, 2011, 12:32 PM
From my experiences, I've found that 09 seems to be more reliable than 06 (no KernelStandard_7c.dll errors after 30-40 minutes etc, and a content manager that does not freeze when dealing with large amounts of content (~4500 pieces of custom content))

Shane

That has been my experience as well. TS2010 takes this one step more with the TADDaemon and TrainzUtil visible in developer options enabled so you can see what's going on. With TRS2006 the program would freeze for unknown lengths of time without any way of knowing what was happening.

John