PDA

View Full Version : Managing numerous Assets?



LadyWind
December 20th, 2010, 12:24 AM
If you download numerous assets from the DLS, how does one then handle all of them when creating or editing a route? Are there options or add-ons to sort or categorize all of those assets, as opposed to the lengthy scrolling down each of the pre-set tabs? :confused:

cascaderailroad
December 20th, 2010, 12:35 AM
You could design a route and name it something like: "Painters Palette", or have a spare baseboard off to the side of your route, where you keep a hodge podge cluster of all of your favorite textures and other assets.

Finding those assets in the first place is: one ... by ... one ... trial and error

The names and spellings of assets are a pain, as similar assets are set far apart on the list, ie: HyCube, and 86 Ft HighCube

You can rename any asset in its config file: username .... "whatever name you wish"

Dinorius_Redundicus
December 20th, 2010, 01:15 AM
Are there options or add-ons to sort or categorize all of those assets...? :confused:

Short answer is yes, kind of.

Auran have provided us with Content Manager and using that, you can categorize bunches of assets by adding keywords. You then construct search 'filters' using those keywords in Surveyor to find the assets you want.

The main weakness of that approach is that many assets are wrongly categorized (crazy names, buildings classed as vehicles etc) or just not categorized, and many don't have thumbnail images. All of which makes it difficult to know what's in your collection to begin with. You're more or less forced to check each asset individually in order to add the right keywords. A long process for anything but a superficial keywording or a small asset collection.

As for the problem that Cascaderailroad mentioned above, the only way to make sure assets group logically is to embark on a massive exercise of changing their 'usernames'. This you can also do in Content Manager (in the asset properties panel) or you can open the assets for edit in Windows and change the username in their config.txt files. Again, this needs to be done one asset at a time. And you will need to have your ducks in a row with regard to naming conventions before you start, otherwise you'll be replacing one form of chaos with another.

~ Deane

LadyWind
December 20th, 2010, 01:23 AM
Hm, those are both helpful answers. I will look into both of those options...:cool: