PDA

View Full Version : Trainz 2010 Internet Connection Required



spitman
December 17th, 2010, 09:37 PM
The requirements for this game say nothing about requiring an internet connection to play it. It won't even launch without one!

I want a refund!!! unless someone knows a way around this.

ldowns
December 18th, 2010, 05:06 PM
The requirements for this game say nothing about requiring an internet connection to play it. It won't even launch without one!

I want a refund!!! unless someone knows a way around this.

What problem are you having? I never never never connect my Trainz PC to the Internet and have not had a problem, either in Trainz or CCP. I do get the connect warning screen each time I fire up CCP, but just click cancel. What symptoms are you experiencing?

Apropos of this, I have tried running Trainz with the developer option of running TADDaemon in a console window, and have noticed a number of messages indicating Trainz (not CCP) is trying to periodically connect to the Internet. I don't know if this affects Trainz's operation at all, but if anyone knows of a way to disable this I would like to hear of it as well.

--Lamont

Romanos
January 28th, 2011, 10:34 AM
My Trainz 2010 (build 43434) doesn't want to start if there is no internet connection available. It shows only a kind of small window with the build number shown and no options.

shaneturner12
January 28th, 2011, 10:51 AM
Sounds like a badly patched or badly installed version to me.

Normally, Trainz will function without needing the internet (apart from certain features - downloading/uploading content using Content Manager, ITrainz (chat and portal) etc)
Shane

OverlordNZ
January 28th, 2011, 06:49 PM
Wipe and reinstall, TS2010EE does not require an internet connection to run, do it on my non-connected laptop all the time..
(hint: don't put Auran user name and password in the options screen)

Cheers

RRSignal
January 28th, 2011, 10:05 PM
Did you buy your Trainz edition through Steam, Amazon, etc. or directly from Auran?