PDA

View Full Version : Surveyor Problem

Kutte
October 19th, 2010, 10:21 AM
I've recently purchased a new desktop CP (Window 7) with a faster processor (2.8 GHZ) since my old one acted kind of sluggish while featuring only a 1.8 GHZ processor.
After transferring my Trainz 2009 edition to my new CP I found that the surveyor is not able to commit added features to the Trainz Asset Database, advising me that this task can be completed in CMP.

Well, I've tried to do just that again and again to no avail. Does anyone know the correct way to do that? Thanks a million. Kutte :(

WillPac
October 19th, 2010, 12:03 PM
Tried again and again, huh? Did your local folder (where all downloaded content is kept) make it from your old to your new PC? When you say you tried, what did you do? In CMP, you need to choose Import Content, then point it to your local folder.

I don't know how much d/l content you have, but a lot COULD bog the system. I have no experience with 2009's CMP, but the one in 2006 is seriously buggy and underpowered, easily the worst part of what could be a great program. When I ran into a series of endless fatal errors in Surveyor, I finally had to take the steps of backing up my local folder, uninstalling and reinstalling Trainz, then I tried to import my local content. CMP kept freezing just a few minutes into porting about 14GB of assets. It took a couple of DAYS before CMP would even show me anything under its various tabs.

Once it finally did, I saw that it had had SOME success with getting my local folder into the game. However, I then spent the better part of a week dealing with missing dependencies, many of which I KNOW I already had before this disaster.

So be forewarned: the import process, even if YOU do it correctly, may not go smoothly.

Tony_Howard
October 19th, 2010, 04:23 PM
Kutte,