PDA

View Full Version : How do you change a loco's top speed?



trainzfourever
June 22nd, 2010, 05:13 PM
How do you change a locomotive's top speed?
Thanks!

ShortFuse
June 22nd, 2010, 05:39 PM
This would be done by changing parameters in the loco's enginespec, which is a seperate kuid number from the loco itself. The enginespec kuid number for a particular loco can be found in the loco's config file. I have not messed with enginespecs myself so I don't have specifics of what to change to get the results you are looking for.

rweber95
June 22nd, 2010, 08:39 PM
Topt speed in DCC mode is defined in the motor section of the enginespec. Here is a snippet from SD40-2 enginespec,<kuid:-1:42004221>:

motor
{
resistance 1.7
adhesion 2.3
maxvoltage 600
maxspeed 35
brakeratio 55000

The maxspeed value is in meters/sec. 35 m/s is 78 miles per hour.
Maxspeed in cab mode is determined by the throttle-power section for diesels or the steam section for a steam loco. Some info on this is in the wiki at http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/index.php5/Steam_container, however, I think it is currently down with a problem.

Bob

cjgeddes
June 30th, 2010, 12:58 AM
Topt speed in DCC mode is defined in the motor section of the enginespec. Here is a snippet from SD40-2 enginespec,<kuid:-1:42004221>:

motor
{
resistance 1.7
adhesion 2.3
maxvoltage 600
maxspeed 35
brakeratio 55000

The maxspeed value is in meters/sec. 35 m/s is 78 miles per hour.
Maxspeed in cab mode is determined by the throttle-power section for diesels or the steam section for a steam loco. Some info on this is in the wiki at http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/index.php5/Steam_container, however, I think it is currently down with a problem.

Bob
how would you change this so the loco would go at a top speed of 45mph

rweber95
June 30th, 2010, 01:08 AM
There is a good online units converter at http://www.digitaldutch.com/unitconverter/speed.htm
Using it 45 mgh = 20 m/s so edit the loco's enginespec motor section for maxspeed 20, then save and commit.

Bob

cjgeddes
June 30th, 2010, 01:46 AM
There is a good online units converter at http://www.digitaldutch.com/unitconverter/speed.htm
Using it 45 mgh = 20 m/s so edit the loco's enginespec motor section for maxspeed 20, then save and commit.

Bob
thanks for the converter

kamran
June 30th, 2010, 07:26 AM
i need to change speed in cab mode but iam unable to do so but i have done with dcc mode plz help