PDA

View Full Version : how do i put extra written data into the cdp?



misterchugg
May 2nd, 2010, 05:38 PM
hi all

seeing that my route uses 15Ai drivers i would like to include their schedules list and a lot of other need to know advise.

i have tried to add the indiviadual notepad pages with just the drivers names on them,but cmp refuses to pack it.

is there any way that i can include all this need to know info in the cdp?
thanks
ron

JCitron
May 2nd, 2010, 06:56 PM
Hi Ron,

Have you tried putting a .txt extension on the text file?

John

misterchugg
May 2nd, 2010, 07:16 PM
hi john
yes
i tried that but it came up with the same thing

i have seen others do it, but i cant find the route that it was in

thanks
ron

American_Connections
May 3rd, 2010, 12:27 AM
I have found that everything in the assets folder is downloaded into the CDP. Things like templates and extra texture images that are not even needed, and sometimes things that are not even supposed to be there! I think you can add a "Read-Me" file and reference it in comments of the conf. I see this is some assets before for 2004 anyway.

misterchugg
May 3rd, 2010, 12:36 AM
thanks
i will play around with it when i get home
cheers
ron

American_Connections
May 3rd, 2010, 12:45 AM
On the same note, I have found it best to remove all extra images and templates, leaving only the needed items to hold down the overall file size of the CDP. Since everthing inclided gets uploaded, everything adds to the file size.

misterchugg
May 3rd, 2010, 08:02 AM
hi mate
when i put read-me in front of the name,some of them showed up

i will play around and test to see what i need to do

thanks
ron

bnsf50
May 3rd, 2010, 09:07 AM
hi all

seeing that my route uses 15Ai drivers i would like to include their schedules list and a lot of other need to know advise.

i have tried to add the indiviadual notepad pages with just the drivers names on them,but cmp refuses to pack it.

is there any way that i can include all this need to know info in the cdp?
thanks
ron

Make a sub folder inside the main folder and name it Instructions or whatever you feel appropriate and put the readme.txt document inside the folder. This way Trainz won't see it and therefore won't complain.

misterchugg
May 3rd, 2010, 04:58 PM
hi bnsf50
i tried that, but it would not accept the subfolder
thanks
ron

bnsf50
May 3rd, 2010, 06:53 PM
That's strange, all of my crossings have a sub folder in them and they all work just fine error free in all versions.

misterchugg
May 4th, 2010, 05:39 AM
hi mate
with it being called Instructions it let me put the other folders into it
i used to put extra and other information

thanks heaps for the help
ron

bnsf50
May 4th, 2010, 08:47 AM
You're welcome, glad you got it sorted out.

misterchugg
May 5th, 2010, 04:59 AM
thanks again
it is now doing what i hoped it could do
cheers
ron