PDA

View Full Version : Another Bug - CMP



RRSignal
April 26th, 2010, 09:40 PM
Hi again-

Here's another bug I've noticed in TS2010, maybe you have or maybe you haven't, but I'd like to know...

When downloading a large asset (generally over 1.5 Mb), the download often stalls out at the end and the asset is never committed. Sometimes the "Current Speed" indicator will indicate a good speed, sometimes it will drop to 0.00. No further downloading occurs. Any ideas?

The latest example was mcguirel's Ohio Central route.

FWIW, I've observed this in an unpatched TS2010 installation as well as with SP2. Also, I'm not at or close to any limit e.g. this can happen having only downloaded 15kb that day. Restarting doesn't help; I have to delete the asset and restart. Also, it's not the network connection, that's excellent.

ETA: And, often, I get the symbol showing a download in progress, with a red line through it.

Brummel
April 27th, 2010, 03:08 AM
But all items are telling that it IS your connection (or another application using the bandwidth). I never saw an already started DL stopping again in CMP..hmm

shaneturner12
April 27th, 2010, 03:26 AM
I have seen something similar (the red line through the download arrow anyway) in TRS2006 - check if there are any messages at the bottom of the screen - the two likely ones are asset replaced by later version and server full.

Also, are you running anything that uses up a lot of bandwidth? (File-sharing, video watching (or even TV program(me) watching) for example)

Shane

betsy662
April 27th, 2010, 05:13 AM
I've seen something similar in TC 1, what happens is it seems to stall at the point that its supposed to install, just click on the stop button, after a few seconds, just click on the start button again, usually it will install and go into downloading the next object.

RRSignal
April 27th, 2010, 11:23 AM
I don't think it's a bandwidth issue because it will occur anytime - whether no one else is online, - or when everybody is. Although I've been able to download a few assets over 1.5-2.0 megabytes, I think this has happened while I doing other stuff on the internet.