PDA

View Full Version : need to backup my downloads and routes



km1961
April 20th, 2010, 01:30 PM
Hi

Sorry for asking this question but how can I back up all my downloaded content and routes to a blank DVD as I need to reset my computer

Paul_Bert
April 20th, 2010, 01:36 PM
I have an external hard drive and what I have now been doing is just backing up the entire Trainz program file with all its directories. Once your computer is reset just copy and past your Trainz files back onto your main directory. In this way everything will be back to the way you left it including all your settings.

cascaderailroad
April 20th, 2010, 02:05 PM
I think all your routes and assets are in your "Local" folder. If you copy that folder...and re-install Trainz, and replace the local folder, it might work. My entire Auran TC/TRS2006 program is huge @37Gb, and my TRS2006 is @ 17Gb. But if you have a 1TB External Hard Drive, it would be able to back up everything on your PC.

But I am sure that copying the entire Auran program, and placing it back on your PC in one chunk would be the safest bet...especially if it was an irreplaceable digital download.

marlonza
April 27th, 2010, 02:53 PM
Does an entire copy/paste cause issues with the windows registry?
I think Im going to take my chances copying just /local/

Another thing, kind of related. If it's this hard backing up routes, how do route creators distribute them then ?

devandavis
April 27th, 2010, 03:27 PM
I don't think backing up routes is hard, but there are several ways to do it- none of them really better than the other. Copying the /local directory is a new one to me- personally I create cdp's of my routes and content.

I think you'll have to reinstall the program, regardless of whether you copy the entire /auran directory or not. I've not tried it though.

Jaymom
April 27th, 2010, 04:08 PM
I have TS2010 installed onto computer #1 and #2. Since I only use #2 my TS2010 on #1 got neglected. Today I went to #1, deleted Program Files/Auran and copied my Program/Files Auran onto #1 and everything is working perfectly on both machines. You do not need to reinstall TS2010. Just thought I would pass this on in case it might just help someone else.

Harold

marlonza
April 27th, 2010, 04:26 PM
I don't think backing up routes is hard, but there are several ways to do it- none of them really better than the other. Copying the /local directory is a new one to me- personally I create cdp's of my routes and content.

I think you'll have to reinstall the program, regardless of whether you copy the entire /auran directory or not. I've not tried it though.

Devandavis,
For the benefit of all, and myself :hehe:, how do you create cdp's?
That would work best for the route I am working on.
And im sure there are many newbies with this question in mind.

4ndylloyd
April 27th, 2010, 04:41 PM
Devandavis,
For the benefit of all, and myself :hehe:, how do you create cdp's?
That would work best for the route I am working on.
And im sure there are many newbies with this question in mind.

Open CMP, find your route and right click on it. From the menu thats presented select 'Save to CDP'. Enter the location that you want to save the CDP to and select a name for it and click 'OK'. Your chosen rote is now a *.cdp file :D

Andy

devandavis
April 27th, 2010, 05:55 PM
Yeah- what Andy said- that's how you do it. I guess my reply wouldn't be very useful without instructions- sorry about that.

While we're talking about backups, what media are folks using? My routes are backed up to a second drive within my pc, and then that folder (among others) are backed up using the Mozy Home service. I had been sending dvds to work with my wife (for off-site storage) of our family pictures, etc., but that became too cumbersome after a while.

devandavis
April 27th, 2010, 06:00 PM
you may want to save the session(s) as well- they appear as separate items in the CMP. You can control+click and select multiple items to go into a single cdp..

BLACKWATCH
April 27th, 2010, 06:01 PM
I use an external cased h/d, it is only ever turned on when I backup, so if the comp goes POP it isn't going to
be affected & can be plugged into any other machine that is 'plug & play' enabled without any fuss. :)

Mikej
April 27th, 2010, 06:56 PM
If you want the route and all the dependencies you downloaded for it open the pick box on the left.
Drag the route to the pick box.
Right click the route in the pick box and select add dependencies.
Repeat until no more dependencies can be selected.
Right click and select show in main list.
Set your filter to built in= false.
Right click in main list and select all.
Right click and select save to cdp.
Give it a name of your choice.
Depending on the amount of assets it may take some time to create the cdp.
Done!

marlonza
April 28th, 2010, 04:23 AM
Thanks, I never think outside the box, I tried to find the save as cdp inside trainz, i forgot that CMP existed outside before you launch :D Thanks indeed.

And my backups, well, I build a custom NAS, with two 750 GB's in it that sync's nightly, and the nas disk is accesible as a shared network drive on our pc's so we just save stuff there, and know it gets replicated every night.
Im quite anal and paranoid when it comes to backups, especially now that I am building a route (it takes forever!).