PDA

View Full Version : Maximum Terrain Size

smileynick
April 7th, 2010, 04:54 AM
Hi everyone,

I am an experienced terrain artist for other games, however I wanted to try my hand at working with this engine. Could anyone tell me the maximum terrain size available to use?

I am looking to recreate Plymouth to Penzance, and before I purchased a copy of the game, I wanted to check if this would be feasible, or would I have to split this route up into many sections?

Thanks

Nick

martinvk
April 7th, 2010, 06:09 AM
Hi everyone,

I am an experienced terrain artist for other games, however I wanted to try my hand at working with this engine. Could anyone tell me the maximum terrain size available to use?

I am looking to recreate Plymouth to Penzance, and before I purchased a copy of the game, I wanted to check if this would be feasible, or would I have to split this route up into many sections?

Thanks

NickIt's only about 103 km. TS2010 can easily handle that. The constraints would only be your computer's ability to handle the visual load depending on how dense and busy you make the landscape. It is possible to add so much clutter that even the most powerful machine will stagger. Good luck, hope to see some screenshots of your work.

smileynick
April 7th, 2010, 06:51 AM
Thanks for the reply, i'll let you know about any WIP shots soon :cool:

tardis626
April 7th, 2010, 07:51 AM
Marky is already using DEM maps to do penzance to plymouth (and all the branchlines)

see here:
http://trainz.neonw.com/

I think someone else is doing Plymouth - london to link in too

Hope this helps,
Phil

smileynick
April 7th, 2010, 08:32 AM
Oh wow, those are fantastic images and work hes done. I am from cornwall and they look spot on.

I guess i better look for another location to do then :) Maybe Dawlish and the red cliffs. :)

Vern
April 7th, 2010, 12:26 PM
We seem to be running out of bits of the UK to model...