PDA

View Full Version : TS2010 Manual SP2 patch is taking over an hour?



misilva
March 21st, 2010, 10:30 AM
Is anyone experience extremely slow patching speeds? I have had the patch running and it has been over a hour with minimal progress shown on the bar.

hert
March 21st, 2010, 10:41 AM
Dont worry it takes a while but it is patching so just leave it be.

hert:wave:

clam1952
March 21st, 2010, 10:42 AM
Is anyone experience extremely slow patching speeds? I have had the patch running and it has been over a hour with minimal progress shown on the bar.


Sounds about normal, anything from an hour upwards. With a database as large as in Trainz it will take a long time, probably longer if your AV is doing an on Access scan on every item as its patched, whatever you do don't stop it or run anything else while it's patching, progress bar doesn't shift much until near the end.

JCitron
March 21st, 2010, 01:01 PM
I let mine run over night so I wouldn't be tempted to do anything else.

John

Dermmy
March 21st, 2010, 02:13 PM
Mine took 90 minutes on a clean re-install of TS2010_SP1 with no additional content. I suspect the size of your 'Local' folder is the governing factor in how long the patch application takes...

Andy ;)

Alco_P-A
March 21st, 2010, 11:44 PM
I've found it easy and painless and QUICK to Dl any patches to a memory stick and then run it to patch your Trainz.
:) Alco_P-A

hyper_kameo
March 22nd, 2010, 09:52 AM
help.. during the install of patch the power went out. It was 50% complete and now when i load content M or the options box all the writting is wrong and it wont allow the patch to be installed again...

Existing file appears to have been patched already: C:\Program Files\Auran\TS2009\bin\xul.dll
Failed to patch builtin\1.ja, file contents do not match

Failed to apply the patch: 40040_to_41844
Patching aborted.

any ideas ??

JCitron
March 22nd, 2010, 11:58 AM
help.. during the install of patch the power went out. It was 50% complete and now when i load content M or the options box all the writting is wrong and it wont allow the patch to be installed again...

Existing file appears to have been patched already: C:\Program Files\Auran\TS2009\bin\xul.dll
Failed to patch builtin\1.ja, file contents do not match

Failed to apply the patch: 40040_to_41844
Patching aborted.

any ideas ??

I hate to say it, but it may mean a reinstall of the original program plus SP1. Backup your local folder (copy to a new location). Uninstall the program and reinstall then apply the patch. Then you can import your local data again.

And by all means, get a UPS such as one by APS or Tripp-Lite. They really do work!

I've had this happen before when updating a BIOS on a PC about 15 years ago. This was before UPS units were affordable. It was less expensive to replace the motherboard than it was to get a new BIOS chip from the manufacturer.

Good luck,

John