PDA

View Full Version : Time for a clean start



ApproachMedium
December 1st, 2009, 08:26 PM
It's about that time. You all know it. That time when you need to delete "Trainz XX" because you've downloaded waaay too much content. We've all been there.

Anyhow, currently I'm running 2009. I'm feeling like I should go back to 2006 since it's more stable and there's really no reason to stick with '09 until Auran releases another service pack, which I don't think they will (also there's not much content for 2009). I also can't justify downloading 2010 because it apparently requires a super computer to run it, which I don't have. So to me, I'm thinking 2006. Most of the routes I like to run are all made in 2006 anyway, and I'm sure they would run better in '06 rather then in '09. Anyone else run into this problem?

-Joe

fran1
December 1st, 2009, 08:35 PM
From what I've read 2009/2010 are easier on a comp than 2006. So you should get better frame rates using the same routes.

JRT
December 1st, 2009, 08:51 PM
Well, me personally. I like Trainz Simulator 2009/2010 for the new 3D graphics engine. I found TRS2004 all right, but like the new CMP (working) with TRS2009WBE.

Take a look, www.trainzs.webs.com (http://www.trainzs.webs.com) at my work.

Cheers,
JRT

ApproachMedium
December 1st, 2009, 09:22 PM
Well according to the 2010 website, your computer specs must be, Windows XP (SP3)
1GB RAM
Pentium D 3.4GHz (or equivalent)
nVidia Geforce 7200/128MB (or equivalent)
15GB Free Hard Drive Space

I'm running about a 2.3ghz processor with 2gb ram and I don't even know what video card. In fact the computer I'm using is a Mac running windows xp so I really have no idea what the specs actually are. All I know is that '09 looks like crap because of the draw distance.

-Joe

JRT
December 1st, 2009, 09:30 PM
Below is 2009.

http://i417.photobucket.com/albums/pp258/TRAIN940/Lake_Wood_Rail.png

fran1
December 1st, 2009, 09:33 PM
Click start, open control panel, select system, select hardware, select device manager. From there you can open everything up and see what how your system's made up.

ApproachMedium
December 2nd, 2009, 06:13 AM
Intel Core 2 Duo
T7400 @ 2.16Ghz
2.15Ghz, 1.98 GB RAM
Radeon x1600

Is that good enough for 2010? I understand SpeedTree requires a good video card, which I'm sure this isn't.

-Joe

Kon1786
December 2nd, 2009, 09:40 AM
I love TS 2006 and use it non stop, i have TS2010 on order (dvd) it will probly sit on my self for a while advently i am going to buy a real good Gaming PC and if i like TS2010 better ill transfer all my content to it.. my current machine should handle 2010 fine but i want a gaming pc any ways..