PDA

View Full Version : Treez for Trainz



lander
September 4th, 2009, 09:47 AM
In reading the FEQs on the new Treez for Trainz, I didn't see any references to splines. Will the new Treez for Trainz include any tree splines? Thanks.

Patrick31
September 4th, 2009, 12:57 PM
I would like to know the same thing

WindWalkr
September 4th, 2009, 08:14 PM
Hi guys,

No- the new trees are proper scenery objects and not splines. Creating tree splines was a hack that we used early on to lay a large number of trees without killing performance, similar to the "tree group" idea. It sacrificed flexibility for performance.

With the TS2009 approach to trees, creating a spline would now be a performance penalty rather than a performance boost. Since it's both better performing and more flexible to create single scenery objects rather the groups or splines, that's what we've done.

If you want to lay a large number of trees, the best thing to do is place a few down in whatever arrangement you might like, then use copy and paste to quickly replicate your work over a larger area. This approach allows you to build a forest in a matter of seconds.

chris

lander
September 4th, 2009, 10:11 PM
Hi Chris, thanks for the information. That's good to know.