PDA

View Full Version : Baseboard Limits

SignalmanWSR
July 9th, 2009, 02:26 PM
Just like me to attempt the impossible!

Does anyone know if TS2009 has a limit to the number of baseboards I can use? I need 81 to create my favourite line and am using scanned OS 1km maps to help with construction.

I see thatI can use A to Z then 0 to 9. Can I continue with AA onto 99, AAA and so on?

Thanks,

Sig

Euphod
July 9th, 2009, 02:32 PM
I'm sure if there is a baseboard limit, it is well over 81!

john259
July 9th, 2009, 02:32 PM
TRS2004 and TRS2006 can handle many more baseboards than that, so I guess TS2009WBE can as well.

AFAIK baseboards aren't named in TRS2004 but you're saying they are in TS2009WBE. Interesting, I wonder what the benefit of that is.

John

SignalmanWSR
July 9th, 2009, 02:43 PM
Thanks guys,

I'm following this tutorial

http://www.g0akh.f2s.com/Trainz/Basemap_tutorial.html

hence the need for the alphanumerics. I'm very new to this but I'm keen to learn. I guess I need to get straight into the deep end. I figure that, like most things in life, planning can save a lot of time later on.

As you can see from the tutorial, I have 36 boards ready made, I hope it's not going to take all weekend to create the other 45! I'd like to catch some Ashes action.

Sig

barn700
July 9th, 2009, 03:36 PM
If there is a limit (I doubt) its well into the hundreds. I have a route thats over 300 basebioards.

Remember the boards you are producing are 1KM, whereas the baseboards in Trainz is less, some 720m square I believe (count the 10M grid lines)

I would suggest finishing off a smaller route, as 70 is a lot to work with, plenty to do, and will take you months !!!

SignalmanWSR
July 9th, 2009, 04:04 PM
You're absolutely right. I have set myself a monumental task.

I really appreciate you advice about the scaling. Could you please tell me if I've understood this correctly?

The baseboards are 720m square. If I use 1km maps, my layout will be incorrectly scaled.