PDA

View Full Version : TS09 won't run in Vista.



nicky9499
July 9th, 2009, 04:50 AM
It appears no one reads the MOW forum, and neither is the helpdesk anywhere near human operated.

SO, about a week ago I upgraded to Vista Ultimate x86. Trainz and all my content from XP would run fine, but upon exit it would just crash with Windows telling me "trainz.exe has stopped working".

Now it won't even run. I get: Auran Trainz Launcher has stopped working. Run as admin, cannot. Reinstall (did a backup of course), cannot. Disabled UAC, still cannot!

What's going on?

nicolaas1
July 9th, 2009, 05:37 AM
I'm running in vista x64 without problems.

Maybe a clean reinstall could help.

nicky9499
July 9th, 2009, 05:47 AM
Running in XP SP2 compatibility mode also doesn't help.

I think uninstalling then SHIFT+DEL the entire C:\Auran folder is as clean as it gets?

nicolaas1
July 9th, 2009, 07:42 AM
Seem that when trainz crashed it deleted the asset.tdx file.

In the cashe folder should be a backup file, copy it to the main trainz dir and rename .bku naar .tdx

When trainz crashes it has the habbit of deleteing the asset.tdx file.

When trainz is started again it will rebuild the file but that can take a long time, depending how much content is in your local folder.

I alway make a backup before i start installing or running trainz.

Or you have a problem with vista, reinstalling that could also be a good option.

nicky9499
July 9th, 2009, 09:43 AM
Hello, I have temporarily installed the same Vista on a small hard disk. Have only TRS2006 and TS2009 on it. Figure it'd be easier to isolate the problem if this crops up again. Everything is well, for now. :)

Cheerio,
Nicholas.

ZecMurphy
July 9th, 2009, 07:55 PM
Hi Nicholas
As has already been said, a crash from Trainz can sometimes delete the assets.tdx file. This is required by TS2009 to be there, otherwise it just will not start.

For future reference, try copying in the backup file, and then run Content Manager and let it rebuild the database.

Also, the helpdesk is most certainly operated by a human. That person is me, and I do my best to answer questions satisfactorily. Of course, if I haven't seen an error, I will need you to provide me with more information. Most of these questions I have memorized, and write the same way each time. Hence they come out 'machine-like'. If I don't get the information needed, I really can't help you. And nor would anyone else be able to help you.

titaniclover
July 9th, 2009, 09:25 PM
Good to hear you got the problem sorted out for now.

The only problem I can see occurring is that you are running x86 which is 64 Bit version of Windows Vista. Make sure your computer can run it (have enough RAM, video card up to date ect.). Vista 32 Bit and Vista 64 bit are very different in system requirements. Just in case you did not know about this. :p

Also check your signature size, it is a little too big for the CoC guidelines. :wave:

Cheers,
Adam

nicky9499
July 10th, 2009, 02:33 AM
Sorry about that, will fix it immediately. Would like to point out that x86 is actually 32-bit and 64-bit is expressed as x64. :)

Cheerio,
Nicholas.

Approach_Medium
July 10th, 2009, 08:05 AM
When you installed Vista, did you do a "clean install", or an upgrade?
The clean install is always the best method to upgrade the OS.


FW

titaniclover
July 10th, 2009, 02:05 PM
Whoops! I should have caught that. Thanks, was a major typo error there.

Cheers,
Adam

Tidgney
July 10th, 2009, 03:58 PM
One problem i have with trainz and vista, is that Trainz has to be the only program running, "Major" program, else it crashes, so fraps i have to turn on once its loaded, or any other program.

dragonsoul
September 7th, 2009, 12:30 PM
Here's a question I cannot fiund the answer to: after I uninstall TS09 completely from my computer, how do I reinstyall it? I purchased online as a digital download and as such do not have a hard disc.
Thanks!
Ron

robin_hoods
September 7th, 2009, 12:47 PM
I would have saved the installer to a DVD then you have a back up and can always re install.
But to answer your question go to Profile at the top of the forum page once the page has opened click onto order history a new page will open.
Next click on the invoice number another page will open and you will see your order number and lower down is a link to download TRS2009WBE and the Serial Number.
Click onto the download link this takes you to a new page with two links you can use to download the installer.
Once you have downloaded it back it up to a DVD so you dont have to do it again.

john259
September 7th, 2009, 01:06 PM
Given the incredibly low price of blank DVD's, back it up to several!

John

HyperShane
September 8th, 2009, 06:42 PM
As someone who works in the IT User support industry, I would go about fixing these problems from a very different angle.

Dump Vista, wipe it from the face of the planet. Re-install XP. That's that problem, and a thousand other problems, all solved at once.

norfolksouthern37
September 8th, 2009, 07:13 PM
As someone who works in the IT User support industry, I would go about fixing these problems from a very different angle.

Dump Vista, wipe it from the face of the planet. Re-install XP. That's that problem, and a thousand other problems, all solved at once.


that has to be the dumbest thing coming from a supposed 'IT' guy that i have ever heard. the problem is not Vista related no matter what your opinion of it. If you were my tech support id drop you and find someone who knew what they were talking about.

Sourdough
September 8th, 2009, 08:17 PM
that has to be the dumbest thing coming from a supposed 'IT' guy that i have ever heard. the problem is not Vista related no matter what your opinion of it. If you were my tech support id drop you and find someone who knew what they were talking about.
Hey...this is the forums....an escape from the realities of life and where you can be whoever and whatever you want to be. Personally, I would have tweaked it a little more by saying; As someone who has worked in the IT User support industry for 20 years....:cool:

john259
September 9th, 2009, 12:31 AM
I suspect that the problem is Trainz storing its data files in its program files folder, a technique which is now extremely outdated. Quite rightly, Vista tries to protect the program files folder against changes.

It might be better if all installed versions of Trainz shared a common data file area, by default in My Documents with the user able to choose another location if they wish.

John