PDA

View Full Version : Toronto Trainz Project (TTP)



applegathc
May 22nd, 2009, 07:50 PM
I'm thinking of starting a Toronto Route Project. This project will cover all of Toronto from Oshawa to Etobicoke. And I want people to be working on this with me. Yes Gisa I'm talking to you...and anyone else from Toronto on here. I want to start it this summer '09.

Neilsmith79 has a good template we can build off of (TORONTO LAKESHORE WEST)...if he gives us permission of course. Also we could incorperate Lars' CN MacMillian yard (if it's finished?) into this since those are the only two Toronto-related routes I can think of.

I would like to start creating parts of these with some buddies:

CP Rail Subs:

North Toronto
Galt
Belleville
Canpa

CN Subs:

Halton
York
Kingston
Uxbridge
Oakville (done by Neilsmith79...permits?)
Weston
Newmarket
Bala

I've feebly started on this with my GO Scarborough Module...but I hope to add more modules with friends.:wave: ;)

Anybody in?

cam

neilsmith749
May 22nd, 2009, 10:23 PM
By all means, you have my permission to start off using the TLW. I should mention that, though the scale is very accurate, it's not oriented exactly correctly. If anyone was hoping to use DEM, or something like that, it won't really match up too well, as my map is rotated by probably about 30degrees. Anyway, I'd love to see the eastbound progress!!!!

tlanders
May 23rd, 2009, 07:48 AM
Which version are you planning on doing this in?

johnwhelan
May 23rd, 2009, 08:29 AM
Will it be freeware and hosted on the DLS?

Thanks John

applegathc
May 23rd, 2009, 04:34 PM
By all means, you have my permission to start off using the TLW. I should mention that, though the scale is very accurate, it's not oriented exactly correctly. If anyone was hoping to use DEM, or something like that, it won't really match up too well, as my map is rotated by probably about 30degrees. Anyway, I'd love to see the eastbound progress!!!!

Thats ok...this isnt gunna be 100% accurate...I'm actually gunna try to do the route in your way of making it (if that made any sense :hehe:). Also am I allowed to release this with your route in it?


Which version are you planning on doing this in?

TRS2006


Will it be freeware and hosted on the DLS?

Thanks John

I doubt it will be on the DLS but you bet it'll be free. :wave: :cool:

cam

neilsmith749
May 23rd, 2009, 08:05 PM
Feel free to release it with the Oakville sub included - just remember to give credit to everyone who contributed!!!! :hehe:

TorontoTrainz
May 24th, 2009, 05:37 AM
toronto trainz ?

FABULOUS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:p

applegathc
May 24th, 2009, 05:15 PM
Feel free to release it with the Oakville sub included - just remember to give credit to everyone who contributed!!!! :hehe:

Thank you so much...and but of course!!


toronto trainz ?

FABULOUS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:p

lol

cam

tlanders
May 26th, 2009, 08:16 AM
TRS2006 cam You do realize that downtown Toronto already exists in TRS2006. Okay its the wrong era, but it is accurate and would make a starting point. Tom.

Euphod
May 26th, 2009, 08:22 AM
Has anyone noticed the routes that actually reach completion are the ones that are announced on the forums as being almost done, and are accompanied by screenshots?

These "trial balloons" some people send up rarely produce any actual content, particulary when they are recruiting others to help with the project.

Just an observation...:D

neilsmith749
May 26th, 2009, 11:17 AM
You do realize that downtown Toronto already exists in TRS2006. Okay its the wrong era, but it is accurate and would make a starting point. Tom.

I'm not sure it's fair to say that the Toronto Rail Lands is an accurate representaion, considering that 90% of those tracks don't even exist anymore! I think they were going for a more recent representation of the area.

I think it'd be awesome if this whole plan came together, but as Euphod mentioned, I'll believe it when I see it! :hehe:

Anyway, I've done my part - the challenge goes out to everyone else!! lol

tlanders
May 27th, 2009, 08:28 AM
I'm not sure it's fair to say that the Toronto Rail Lands is an accurate representaion, considering that 90% of those tracks don't even exist anymore! I think they were going for a more recent representation of the area.

I think it'd be awesome if this whole plan came together, but as Euphod mentioned, I'll believe it when I see it! :hehe:

Anyway, I've done my part - the challenge goes out to everyone else!! lol

True, but some of the buildings do. Union Station, Royal York, John St. Tower, Scott St. Tower, Cherry St. Tower, etc. Several other still exist but have changed or have been relocated. Cabin D and Don Station for instance are now at the "Roundhouse Park" the former CPR Roundhouse. Tom.

easton2008
September 26th, 2009, 03:17 PM
I live in Kingston, and would love to see its VIA

applegathc
September 26th, 2009, 03:27 PM
Oh ya...TTP....lmao bump much?

I think it's an idea, I'm sort of starting to doubt it's inception, but hey! Next summer, anything could happen..

TDE
September 26th, 2009, 05:40 PM
This would be great. Considering I did one (Kingston Sub) really half-assed. lol

applegathc
September 26th, 2009, 05:54 PM
I live in Kingston, and would love to see its VIA


This would be great. Considering I did one (Kingston Sub) really half-assed. lol

I doubt the route will reach all the way out to Kingston, but CN's Kingston Sub could be a possibility for another route. :wave:

cam

applegathc
September 26th, 2009, 09:51 PM
Here's a link:

http://www.proximityissues.ca/Maps/RAC-2004-Toronto.pdf

martinvk
September 26th, 2009, 11:30 PM
Big idea, big bites. No little nibbles for this one. Just be careful you don't choke on some of the larger bits. Aside from just the track work, landscaping is going to be a major job. Good luck. Looking forward to see some screen shots. :wave:

Nwalsh87
October 6th, 2009, 03:52 AM
I live near the Canpa sub and know the area well, I could offer assistance with some scenery/object creation.

TDE
November 18th, 2009, 12:36 AM
Any chance when you're creating this expansion would it be possible to use actual interactive platforms like Platform350 and 350m one platform or even invisible platform 500m?? So we can stuff it with passengers?

busutakos
January 30th, 2010, 11:14 AM
I'm soon going to start making a replica of the 48 Rathbur Route and was wondering if it could help you. if so, what kind of road are you using (eg:TTR)?

1Partsman
January 30th, 2010, 12:17 PM
don't forget a guy named Tommy had a company called 'Toronto Trains' and disappeared, stickin' it to us.....don't think you would want people thinking you represented him...

John