PDA

View Full Version : Some Trainz 2009 v 2007 comparisons (Alpha)



Tony_Hilliam
October 13th, 2008, 01:20 AM
I ran some tests on Trainz 2009 versus the same routes in German Trainz 2007. Tests were using default content and all sliders maxed running on my laptop:
- Nvidia 8600M with 512MB ram
- 2GB system Ram
- Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.2Ghz
- Windows XP SP2

Of course this is still an Alpha version which means things can change prior to release. It is expected that any changes will be an overall improvement. The 2009 version was running in Compatibility mode and you will notice some slight visual glitches with the trees which we will be fixing prior to release.

Trainz 2007 Driver (max draw distance 1500m) - 12 fps (image (http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_755219802.jpg))

Trainz 2009 Driver (default 1500m draw distance) - 21 fps (image (http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_204551846.jpg))

Trainz 2009 Driver (max 5000m draw distance) - 19 fps (image (http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_777941919.jpg))

So in this scene we currently have a 75% improvement in frame rate using the same content. It also shows a 50% increase in frame rate with the full 5km draw distance. The frame rate did not reduce whilst driving since there are no LODs present in the old content.

Trainz 2007 Surveyor - 17fps (image (http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_1500534373.jpg))

Trainz 2009 Surveyor - 27fps (image (http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_1351379300.jpg))

This shows a 60% improvement in frame rate with the same content.

These tests were in fairly dense areas. In more open areas, there was little difference in performance.

Replacing the old content with high polygon models and high resolution textures we expect that machines with good graphics cards will get similar frame rates to their current version of Trainz. Of course lower spec machines will struggle with the higher spec objects. We also have work to do to optimize the LOD system for the new track, plus work on the art LOD models as well so we're not ready to make actual fps comparisons just yet.

In a nutshell performance in TS2009 using existing content will be as good and potentially much better than previous versions.

Tony

AJ_Fox
October 13th, 2008, 01:33 AM
Sweet Tony

It seems that the imagery is more clear in the images you showed for the new version.

Cheers

AJ

sethmcs
October 13th, 2008, 01:43 AM
Tony,

Sounds like a major improvement! Keep up the good work and please don't break anything.:hehe:

Tony_Hilliam
October 13th, 2008, 01:49 AM
Sadly we break things every day - but we fix dozens of things every day and only break a couple, so we're well on top :)

Remilliard
October 13th, 2008, 04:11 AM
Hmmm, a framerate of about 27 without any rolling stock, never mind running a detailed steam locomotive. I find that not even reasonable, let alone impressive.

lewisner
October 13th, 2008, 04:24 AM
Sonds great! Any chance of running TC3 in TRS2009? I recorded an FPS of TWO in the Carlisle station area although admittedly I have added lots of detail such as lamp posts and points rods etc.

FSP
October 13th, 2008, 05:37 AM
@Tony_Hilliam
... to Lothar Hakes statement?
http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showpost.php?p=349532&postcount=71

freightcar2
October 13th, 2008, 06:27 AM
Do I see a blue surveyor tool panel? :udrool: :udrool:

Tony_Hilliam
October 13th, 2008, 06:55 AM
a framerate of about 27 without any rolling stock, never mind running a detailed steam locomotive.

Running on a 2 year old laptop on a dense route with camera zoomed all the way out looking forward and all settings maxed out I would say that's pretty good. (note an edit to my earlier post - default content, sliders all set to max).

The key point Remilliard is that it is 60-75% FASTER than 2006/7 capabilities comparing the same route and assets. Hopping inside the cab doubles the frame rate due to shorter draw distances and far less scene rendering.

Tony

tads1
October 13th, 2008, 06:57 AM
Good news,the FPS gain should work well alongside smaller grid/finer terrain.
My system is almost the same as Tony's,apart from graphics card (7900GS)which only has 20 pipelines/shaders,not really sure how many the 8600M has.

I can't imagine more complex/realistic scenes than what can be achieved with
what we have now.Looking forward to Surveyor,it's the best editor iv'e used in any simulation.

RooRocz
October 13th, 2008, 08:09 AM
Hmmm, a framerate of about 27 without any rolling stock, never mind running a detailed steam locomotive. I find that not even reasonable, let alone impressive.
The idea here is to show the increase in frame rate... not to show a spectacular frame rate. There is only so far one can go with optimization, y'know? A 75% increase sounds good to me, at any rate.

EDIT: Tony beat me to it. Damn you denying me the chance to be angry at someone! :p

Wessex_Electric_Nutter
October 13th, 2008, 10:11 AM
I ran some tests on Trainz 2009 versus the same routes in German Trainz 2007. Tests were using default content and all sliders maxed running on my laptop:
- Nvidia 8600M with 512MB ram
- 2GB system Ram
- Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.2Ghz
- Windows XP SP2


Oh, mine should make mince meat of TRS09 then. :-) Ok, for the performance alone, you've convinced me to buy it in the future. :)

(Specs of the Acer Aspire 9920G:
- Nvidia 8600M GT with 512mb RAM
- 4GB system RAM
- Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4GHz (T7700)
- Windows Vista Ultimate x64)

Do you have any performance figures for Asta-la-vista? Downgrading to XP is near impossible for me, as both the Aspire 8920G and the 9920G can't be downgraded, without driver issues.

Remilliard
October 13th, 2008, 10:37 AM
Running on a 2 year old laptop on a dense route with camera zoomed all the way out looking forward and all settings maxed out I would say that's pretty good. (note an edit to my earlier post - default content, sliders all set to max).

The key point Remilliard is that it is 60-75% FASTER than 2006/7 capabilities comparing the same route and assets. Hopping inside the cab doubles the frame rate due to shorter draw distances and far less scene rendering.

Tony

But still no locomotives on the track and that was my point. Perhaps YOU find it impressive, but I, your customer doesn't. Which one do you think is more important in the end?

Remilliard
October 13th, 2008, 10:49 AM
The idea here is to show the increase in frame rate... not to show a spectacular frame rate. There is only so far one can go with optimization, y'know? A 75% increase sounds good to me, at any rate.

EDIT: Tony beat me to it. Damn you denying me the chance to be angry at someone! :p

You are wrong little man. The idea is to sell a program and Tony Hilliam needs ammo to sell it. What he shows here isn't sufficient to convince me.

You can become angry now little man.

Euphod
October 13th, 2008, 11:26 AM
I want mine to be "Brave Sticking His Nose In"! I call "dibs"!:D

RooRocz
October 13th, 2008, 02:17 PM
You are wrong little man. The idea is to sell a program and Tony Hilliam needs ammo to sell it. What he shows here isn't sufficient to convince me.

You can become angry now little man.

Woah woah woah

My anger is purely professional. No need to get personal about it, mmk?

Wessex_Electric_Nutter
October 13th, 2008, 02:20 PM
You are wrong little man. The idea is to sell a program and Tony Hilliam needs ammo to sell it. What he shows here isn't sufficient to convince me.

You can become angry now little man.

No, Tony has got a 37 in the foreground (unfortunately, he had to pick a loco with LOD, Pikka's one), but if it can cope with huge draw distances and works better, then it will have no trouble with locos and stock :)

Lots_Trains
October 13th, 2008, 03:27 PM
Remilliard

I think you are missing the point, If your trains are working well in 04/06/07/TC then they are going to work better in 09 its got nothing to do with overall frame rate. By Tonys demonstration upto 60/70 percent better

Quite a performance leap IMHO

Cheers

AHSAN
October 13th, 2008, 04:11 PM
Do I see a blue surveyor tool panel? :udrool: :udrool:

Hello

Yes thats right.:)

Regards

Ahsan:)

freightcar2
October 13th, 2008, 04:26 PM
Hello

Yes thats right.:)

Regards

Ahsan:)

Oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy :udrool: :udrool: :udrool:

OOpsy, I might have overdone it. :o

ColPrice2002
October 14th, 2008, 02:36 AM
Ok,

Here's the result of my playing with the latest alpha of 2009.

I (eventually) managed to transfer the built-in content of Trainz Classicz 3 into 2009.

I then ran the Appleby shunting (ride) scenario.
On my PC in TC 3 I have to run with the detail sliders to the left, lots of "fog" and the shunting part is not viewable - due to the stutters.
In 2009, the - with all the details as "max", the first 5-10 minutes were viewable - without stutters.
At that point I had dinner to cook, so halted early.

I suspect that the beta will be a little bigger and perhaps a little slower - but the improvement is amazing - considering the level of detail in the modelling.

Colin

Captain_Collins
October 14th, 2008, 03:06 AM
No, Tony has got a 37 in the foreground (unfortunately, he had to pick a loco with LOD, Pikka's one), but if it can cope with huge draw distances and works better, then it will have no trouble with locos and stock :)

It's actually an AN GM Class (Yellow back with round window and door):p

Wessex_Electric_Nutter
October 14th, 2008, 07:02 AM
It's actually an AN GM Class (Yellow back with round window, and it is selected in the train window):p


Look closely to this image:
http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_1351379300.jpg

bl4882
October 14th, 2008, 07:49 AM
Hello all,

For those who have the alpha installed, how difficult is it to import content from earlier versions of Trainz?

Bernie

Clarification: To rienstall TRS06 restoring your content basically just requires copying over the local folder then rebuilding the database. Is importing existing content to TRS09 similar?

S301
October 14th, 2008, 08:10 AM
Look closely to this image:
http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_1351379300.jpg

I can only see an AN GM class in that pic Russell :s

Zec

Captain_Collins
October 14th, 2008, 08:16 AM
Look closely to this image:
http://www.trainzdev.com/images/comprofiler/plug_profilegallery/65/pg_1351379300.jpg

I apologise for saying the train selection window was open. However, I remain convinced that it is an AN GM class.

Wessex_Electric_Nutter
October 14th, 2008, 10:43 AM
I apologise for saying the train selection window was open. However, I remain convinced that it is an AN GM class.

My fault, it is an AN GM class. It must be my eyesight and high res monitor.

wreeder
October 15th, 2008, 05:21 AM
Hello all,

For those who have the alpha installed, how difficult is it to import content from earlier versions of Trainz?

Bernie

Clarification: To rienstall TRS06 restoring your content basically just requires copying over the local folder then rebuilding the database. Is importing existing content to TRS09 similar?

Bernie,

At the moment the only import option working is to "Open for Edit" content in TRS2006 CMP and then drag the open folders onto TRS2009 CMP's window and drop them. I'm sure this will change in later builds, remember it is still an alpha build.

William

bl4882
October 15th, 2008, 07:41 AM
Thanks, William.

Bernie

Partyman79
October 16th, 2008, 04:59 PM
Murchison Logging 2 (High Detail) on german Trainz 2007 and latest Trainz 2009 alpha, both screens with 1500m distance:

Trainz 2007 (16 FPS):

http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/7586/trainz2008101623545121sw5.th.jpg (http://img127.imageshack.us/my.php?image=trainz2008101623545121sw5.jpg)http://img127.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

Trainz 2009 (15 FPS):

http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/8433/trainz2008101623275820dq7.th.jpg (http://img127.imageshack.us/my.php?image=trainz2008101623275820dq7.jpg)http://img127.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

Euphod
October 16th, 2008, 05:05 PM
And the 2009 shot is slightly closer....

Partyman79
October 16th, 2008, 05:30 PM
What do you mean by this ?

Euphod
October 16th, 2008, 05:53 PM
Compare the two; the 2009 shot is CLOSER to the horizon than the 2007 shot, but shows more ground and less sky.

Partyman79
October 16th, 2008, 06:11 PM
That's right. The difference when the Trainz 2007 screenshot is closer is really exorbitant :D The result at least is the same.

http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/2752/trainz2008101701061696aw1.th.jpg (http://img372.imageshack.us/my.php?image=trainz2008101701061696aw1.jpg)http://img372.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)