PDA

View Full Version : Please Help, new, how do I fix a derailed train?



Redfalcon
June 21st, 2008, 01:53 AM
I am brand new to trainz. I bought this game over two years ago, but I just now got a computer with the specs to run it. At any rate, I am having trouble with derailed trains. How do you un-derail them? Thanks for any help.

freightcar2
June 21st, 2008, 02:30 AM
Don't think re-railing them is possible. :n:

pauldurose
June 21st, 2008, 03:25 AM
There is a "Re-Rail Portal" on the DLS - pop that into the route in Surveyor, check it's settings and if a train derails in Driver it should delete it and re-issue the train from the portal (if you have it set like that). I believe it can also delete the train permanently if you prefer. AFAIK there is no way to re-rail a train at it's derailed location unfortunately. Solution = don't derail!

Redfalcon
June 21st, 2008, 04:07 AM
Sounds good, but it is much easier said than done. Thanks for the help, though, I seem to be doing a bit better. One more question. In the surveyor, it gives you one tract of land to design. How do I link a large number of those together? Thanks!

freightcar2
June 21st, 2008, 04:52 AM
Two words:

"Extend Section"

collinsl
June 21st, 2008, 05:00 AM
Sounds good, but it is much easier said than done. Thanks for the help, though, I seem to be doing a bit better. One more question. In the surveyor, it gives you one tract of land to design. How do I link a large number of those together? Thanks!

If you go into surveyor and choose the land tab at the top of the tabs group on the right of the screen, there is an advanced (or similar) button at the bottom of it. Choose this, and a load of options should pop up, one of which should be an extend button.

Hope This Helps (HTH),

john259
June 21st, 2008, 05:58 AM
Do you know why trains are derailing? We might might be able to offer a few hints to avoid it happening.

John

Redfalcon
June 21st, 2008, 12:41 PM
I think the trains were derailing because I was failing to properly align the switches when I approached them. I played around for a while and seemed to get better at this.

freightcar2
June 21st, 2008, 01:10 PM
I think the trains were derailing because I was failing to properly align the switches when I approached them.

Another reason could be that your switches are too sharp...move them around and see what you get. ::wave: