PDA

View Full Version : url



stationfried
April 17th, 2008, 12:48 AM
:confused: whenever i click on the trs2006 icon on the desktop, i always get a message saying cannot register url registry key.i found a post by someone with a rather similar issue.there was link which i used and displayed 'you do not have permission to open this page'. and gave three reasons.but only two of which and is the reason i'm now typing message which seems to me to be contradicting it's self.but could it be that i need to obtain an 'fct' or 'first class ticket'.i'm only able to access the 'general discussions' forums.anyone know anything.?:(

collinsl
April 17th, 2008, 10:32 AM
This has happened before. If you are registered, then you need to contact the helpdesk to have your account fixed.

JCitron
April 17th, 2008, 12:23 PM
:confused: whenever i click on the trs2006 icon on the desktop, i always get a message saying cannot register url registry key.i found a post by someone with a rather similar issue.there was link which i used and displayed 'you do not have permission to open this page'. and gave three reasons.but only two of which and is the reason i'm now typing message which seems to me to be contradicting it's self.but could it be that i need to obtain an 'fct' or 'first class ticket'.i'm only able to access the 'general discussions' forums.anyone know anything.?:(

This has nothing to do with accessing the Internet. You need to install and run the program with Administrator priveleges in order to bannish this message, assuming you're running Vista. There are plenty of posts on the forum in regards to this.

John

stationfried
April 18th, 2008, 04:15 AM
.and yes thanks for that i am running vista home premium now w/sp1.32bit.

billgatesthethird
April 18th, 2008, 06:14 AM
.and yes thanks for that i am running vista home premium now w/sp1.32bit.

Unfortunately owing to various design decisions we're stuck with, you have to run Trainz with administrator privileges. The easiest way to do that is to open the shortcut (r-click, select 'properties'), open the compatibility tab, select XP in the dropdown box that lists Operating systems the program is compatible with, and (important!) select the box 'Run as administrator'. Then all the programs which run from that original shortcut (including CMP, Surveyor, Driver,...) will run with elevated privileges. This removes the error messages you've seen.

Regds, BGIII

stationfried
April 18th, 2008, 07:12 AM
sorry, i'm running vista home premium w/sp1.

collinsl
April 18th, 2008, 08:04 AM
sorry, i'm running vista home premium w/sp1.

BGIII is right. What he is saying is to run the program in XP mode. Rather like compatibility mode in XP.