PDA

View Full Version : building locos



billybobbooth
April 13th, 2008, 03:21 PM
hi i have been playing trainz 2004 for about 6 months and have downloaded lost of stuff and enjoying it i have reasently decided that i wanted to make my own intercity livery, i can sellect the tgv but i want to use the midland mainline locos and coatches.

i installed paint shed but ether anything i make i save but cant find ever again, but can only select limted thing to do work on and as said want to make my own livery. how can i do what i want??? i dont want to make a new train, i want to use existing loco and just change the paint on them, thank you. james

billybobbooth
April 13th, 2008, 03:31 PM
hi sorry i have just found the right loco but i cant save it properly, i get at the top

in a thing i cant change saying no trainz products found and i cant change it ether when loading or saving and the path below that is blank and i can write in it but it just clears it after. sorry im just new to this paint shed thing got the hang of making locos ect but not how to save or load or get them into the game! lol

tardis626
April 13th, 2008, 03:58 PM
Hi,
Not sure what you meen but if the problem is paintshed not saving to new train skin which is what mine used to do just find a paintshed reskin by someone else and load that into paintshed and re-raint it. Make sure there is no licencing though If you wawnt to upload it


hope this helps,

phil
________
SusanASS (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/SusanASS)

billybobbooth
April 13th, 2008, 04:14 PM
no that dosnt work coz i cant load or save anything,
i can use the paint shed program but it just wont let me save or load, gives me the option to save but wont

billybobbooth
April 15th, 2008, 03:27 AM
any one elts got any ideas??

i have had to reasntly re build my pc and re load all the programs back on for trainz 2004 and have now downloaded sp4 as well as a few other things, just going to re-install paint shead, coz the other prob i got was some downloaded locos ect wouldnt work coz of an error called short stack or something,

any ideas? sorry bit new to the downloading stuff.

billybobbooth
April 15th, 2008, 03:37 AM
i all just re-installed paint shed after i had downloaded sp4 and updated my trainz vertion from the standard 686 to 2400 or something like that is vertion 2.4 now rather than just 2.0, and all is well did a quick test and there was my test, hopefuly now some of the downloaded locos that didnt work before will now too. so if any one gets a sim prob try uploading the latest update vertion 1st.

Zwabberaar
April 15th, 2008, 03:44 AM
Good to hear you solved it BillyBob. Have fun!

npmelanc
October 27th, 2011, 03:02 PM
Can someone tell me how I can make my own trains?:(

overkill650
October 27th, 2011, 08:26 PM
npmelanc,

you have to download a modelling program, like gmax or blender. there are tutorials all over the web, and both programs are free.

but it takes time, just doing the exterior of the cab can take anywhere from two days to a month.

Maddox61
October 28th, 2011, 01:36 AM
npmelanc,

you have to download a modelling program, like gmax or blender. there are tutorials all over the web, and both programs are free.

but it takes time, just doing the exterior of the cab can take anywhere from two days to a month.


Modeling the train is easy, the hard part is learning to get them into Trainz.

Most modeling programs such as Blender and Gmax have an abundance of tutorials on line.

As for Trainz. Trying to find Tutorials is like trying to pull teeth from a lion.
The Wiki is the best bet.

NSWGR_46Class
October 28th, 2011, 03:52 AM
Modeling the train is easy, the hard part is learning to get them into Trainz.

Most modeling programs such as Blender and Gmax have an abundance of tutorials on line.

As for Trainz. Trying to find Tutorials is like trying to pull teeth from a lion.
The Wiki is the best bet.
If you use the CCP it makes it dead easy all you need is the exported mesh and the CCP does the rest. But you need to be using TS2010 or TS12

Maddox61
October 29th, 2011, 05:01 AM
If you use the CCP it makes it dead easy all you need is the exported mesh and the CCP does the rest. But you need to be using TS2010 or TS12


Been away from Trainz for a while. Are you saying that there is no longer a way to import my models using "Builder 09"?

NSWGR_46Class
October 29th, 2011, 05:09 AM
Been away from Trainz for a while. Are you saying that there is no longer a way to import my models using "Builder 09"?
I have no idea what Builder 09 is so can not give any advice

Maddox61
October 29th, 2011, 10:19 AM
I have no idea what Builder 09 is so can not give any advice


Trainz Simulator 2009 (World Builder) or TS2009

Newbee, Don't realy know all the Trainz terminology yet, but I am learning.;)

whitepass
October 29th, 2011, 10:25 AM
He's talking about making the config.txt only.

Mick_Berg
October 29th, 2011, 10:33 AM
I have a tutorial on my website www.mickberg.com (http://www.mickberg.com) on how to export from Blender to Trainz. And there are other, maybe better ones out there.

You would do well to start with something less complicated than a loco, maybe a building.

Mick Berg.

Maddox61
October 29th, 2011, 10:37 AM
He's talking about making the config.txt only.

That is what I am talking about.

I started Trainz about 4 months ago and found that i needed to have some skills in 3D modeling first. Now I have spent the last 4 months learning Blender and just got back into Trainz 2 days ago.

When I left I was under the impression that in order to build and load my own trains, I had to create a confi.txt file to use for my model in order to load it into my program. Is this not correct, or will it no longer work in TS2009?

Maddox61
October 29th, 2011, 10:51 AM
I have a tutorial on my website www.mickberg.com (http://www.mickberg.com) on how to export from Blender to Trainz. And there are other, maybe better ones out there.

You would do well to start with something less complicated than a loco, maybe a building.

Mick Berg.

Thanks Mick. I will do exactly that. One question, Will this work on TS2009?

By the way, I just opened my CCP and it is acting much differenbt than it did 4 months ago. Is this controlled through an internet conection or directly through my system?

I did remove the program from my old system (too slow, lol) and just now re-installed it on my new one. Would this make a difference?

Thanks Mick;)

Maddox61
October 29th, 2011, 10:54 AM
I have a tutorial on my website www.mickberg.com (http://www.mickberg.com) on how to export from Blender to Trainz. And there are other, maybe better ones out there.

You would do well to start with something less complicated than a loco, maybe a building.

Mick Berg.

Someones been doing some work on there web sight over the last 4 months. Good Job.:)

Maddox61
October 29th, 2011, 12:16 PM
I have a tutorial on my website www.mickberg.com (http://www.mickberg.com) on how to export from Blender to Trainz. And there are other, maybe better ones out there.

You would do well to start with something less complicated than a loco, maybe a building.

Mick Berg.

Scratch this I think I got it

Mick_Berg
October 29th, 2011, 11:39 PM
Thanks Mick. I will do exactly that. One question, Will this work on TS2009?

By the way, I just opened my CCP and it is acting much differenbt than it did 4 months ago. Is this controlled through an internet conection or directly through my system?

I did remove the program from my old system (too slow, lol) and just now re-installed it on my new one. Would this make a difference?

Thanks Mick;)
I never had 2009 so I don't know. Major improvements to CCP happened between 2006 and 2010, It's a very useful tool in its present form.
I don't think CCP is linked to the internet.
Glad you like the web site, it's always a work in progress!
Mick.

privite
October 30th, 2011, 08:35 AM
If you use the CCP it makes it dead easy all you need is the exported mesh and the CCP does the rest. But you need to be using TS2010 or TS12

Hi,

bearcat245 is right, CCP is the easy option. heres another good website for Gmax, the one that i used to help me:

http://trainz.christrup.net/ - website
http://trainz.christrup.net/TRS/tut5.html - Making the model
http://trainz.christrup.net/TRS/tut5p2.html - Exporting

hope this helps