PDA

View Full Version : screen resolution confusion



jytte
February 4th, 2008, 05:20 PM
I'm confused (again).
You all are discussing getting new monitors, bigger/better/ high resulution.
What's the point, when max res in TRS2006 is 1280x1024 ?????
Am I missing something here??

Gandalf0444
February 4th, 2008, 05:30 PM
And also the bigger the screen is,the more it drains the graphics card.

Ferrous
February 4th, 2008, 05:40 PM
Wait, so there must be an optimal size to minimize drain on the graphics card without making the user squint... :o
(that's me thinking;) )

pkelly
February 4th, 2008, 06:25 PM
TRS2006 (and TRS2004) support widescreen just fine. I run them both in 1680x1050. In TRS2004 you have to get a little tricky and edit trainzoptions.txt in the TRS2004 folder. I had to add these two lines in the file:

-width=1680
-height=1050

TRS2006 allows the resolution to be configured directly in the options section.

Twodorgs
February 4th, 2008, 06:33 PM
Hi jytte,

Yes you are missing some thing, that is the highest resolution selectable from with in TRS.

However use a text editor and open the file 'trainzoptions.txt' in the main TRS directory and add the following;
-width=1680
-height=1050
( or what ever resolution your monitor can handle )
Save the file and TRS will use that resolution.

Other handy additions to the file;
-Intro=disable
-showkuids
( displays the kuid of the current selected object in surveyor )
-FreeIntCam
( alllows you to move the camera position in cab mode, so you can stick your 'head' out the window railfan style! )

Lindsay

WileeCoyote
February 5th, 2008, 04:06 AM
I'm running TRS with 1920X1080, this is selectable from Options once the main menu pops up, TRS looks brilliant in HD, and I'm not going back one pixel:hehe:

WileeCoyote:D

Mike10
February 5th, 2008, 04:23 AM
I'm disappointed that I haven't managed to get it to run at 4800x1200 yet, but I'll keep hoping ;)

Mike.

jytte
February 5th, 2008, 12:19 PM
Thank you all for your input. I wish there was a quick way to print from here, cause I'm going to have to write this down.

john259
February 5th, 2008, 12:41 PM
Thank you all for your input. I wish there was a quick way to print from here, cause I'm going to have to write this down.
File > Print :)

Or copy and paste the sections of interest into a suitable program of your choice (Notepad, Word, Microsoft Works, OpenOffice, whatever) and print from there. Edit > Paste Special > Unformatted Text is probably preferable to a straight paste.

Or you could save the web page to your hard disk for future reference.

HTH, John

Dermmy
February 5th, 2008, 03:57 PM
Very slightly OT:

I played around with Trainz on a wide-screen monitor recently, but wasn't happy with the 'stretched' look of things and went back to a std monitor. Is there a way to get Trainz onto a WS and retain correct proportionality??

Andy

manjoe
February 5th, 2008, 04:05 PM
Very slightly OT:

I played around with Trainz on a wide-screen monitor recently, but wasn't happy with the 'stretched' look of things and went back to a std monitor. Is there a way to get Trainz onto a WS and retain correct proportionality??

Andy

Hi Dermmy.............I was able to resolve my wide-screen distortion when I found this post on the UK website.........

***QUOTE***

I was browsing the forums this afternoon and came across a post about wide-screen monitors. Now, adjusting the trainzoptions file to reflect the resolution of a wide-screen monitor is only half of the job!

To show the view correctly you need to modify the field-of-view (FOV) to accommodate the increased horizontal size. The values you need to use are:

-cabinfov=74.7975
-driverfov=63.9863

These values are good for any 16:10 aspect wide-screen monitor.

Now, some monitors are 16:9 aspect so you'll need different values:

-cabinfov=80.6960
-driverfov=69.5316

Adding these lines to your trainzoptions file will display everything correctly apart from the main menu screens which will appear to be stretched horizontally.

Before you edit your file, make a backup and put it in a safe place just in case something goes horribly wrong. If you use Trainz 2004 then you can simply use the editor in TrainzObjects to add the necessary info.

***END OF QUOTE***

This works for me..........:wave: If you search in GOOGLE on ....DRIVERFOV CABINFOV..., the 3rd hit down on the list is a website named WIDESCREENPCGAMES.COM..........An excellant write-up on various wide-screen resolution settings. Hope this helps.

johnwhelan
February 5th, 2008, 06:28 PM
Very slightly OT:

I played around with Trainz on a wide-screen monitor recently, but wasn't happy with the 'stretched' look of things and went back to a std monitor. Is there a way to get Trainz onto a WS and retain correct proportionality??

Andy
TRS2004 / TRS2006
-width=1440
-height=900

in trainzoptions.txt file, TC doesn't seem to need it.

Cheerio John

cloggy
February 5th, 2008, 11:57 PM
Thank you all for your input. I wish there was a quick way to print from here, cause I'm going to have to write this down.

Click 'Thread Options' and choose 'Show Printable Version'. Then click 'Print' in your browser options.

Dirk

Dermmy
February 6th, 2008, 04:34 AM
Thanks manjoe - didn't know that :)

@ johnwhelan - I don't recall the exact values of the screen i was using, but added width/height for the screen's native resolution to trainzoptions and got a distorted screen which appeared to be more-or-less a 4:3 screen with correct height, but stretched width, ie short fat trains. Is there something special about 1440/900?

Andy :)

pkelly
February 6th, 2008, 07:00 AM
manjoe -- thanks for the additional fov adjustments.

Note: when using them, make sure you replace the existing values that are already in your trainzoptions.txt file. I didn't notice the original values the 1st time I did it.

johnwhelan
February 6th, 2008, 07:23 AM
Thanks manjoe - didn't know that :)

@ johnwhelan - I don't recall the exact values of the screen i was using, but added width/height for the screen's native resolution to trainzoptions and got a distorted screen which appeared to be more-or-less a 4:3 screen with correct height, but stretched width, ie short fat trains. Is there something special about 1440/900?

Andy :)

1440 and 900 are examples only. You can put other values in depending on your screen. Basically Trainz can work correctly on any sized monitor you just plug the values in.

Cheerio John

steamdrivre
February 6th, 2008, 10:24 AM
I'm running TRS'04 on a 24" monitor at 1600x1200 and have Trainz set up the same way...;) Who said 1280x1024 is the largest setting?

john259
February 11th, 2008, 10:51 AM
Is there something special about 1440/900?
1440 x 900 is a common 16:10 (widescreen) resolution. Other common ones are 960 x 600, 1152 x 720, 1280 x 800, 1344 x 840, 1536 x 960, 1680 x 1050 and 1920 x 1200. In each case width/height = 1.6. I don't know if video cards, monitors, Windows and Trainz are capable of handling all of these, especially the highest ones. The higher the resolution, the more work your main processor and the processor on your video board have to do.

John

LouP73
February 11th, 2008, 12:37 PM
1900 x 1200 here. I did not do anything special, just selected it in the set-up menu :cool: .

LouP :)

jytte
February 12th, 2008, 02:11 AM
Click 'Thread Options' and choose 'Show Printable Version'. Then click 'Print' in your browser options.

Dirk

exactly what I was looking for!!!
ofcourse I know how to copy and paste, but this is much faster
Thanks a bunch

jytte
February 12th, 2008, 02:21 AM
thanks for your input

Just in case this interests anybody, I've been using our "flying PC" to test Trainz on, in order to get an idea of what power I need.
Anyways, I finally got the 3 new monitors (all widescreen) and the matrox tripplehead2go for the flyer and set it all up (awesome!).
So, I knew that it was no more trainz on that computer, but just had to try starting it up anyways, just to see what would happen.
All I got was an error message telling me my hardware/software was incompatible.
I knew that with setups ranging from 3840x800, via 1440x900 to 1280x768 spread over 5 monitors, Trainz probably wouldn't know what to do or where, and I proved myself to be right, he he.
So there, now y'all know in case you wondered.

steveflanders
October 24th, 2008, 02:32 AM
Thank you everyone!
Having just posted about this problem and now found this thread you have sorted out my problem.
I edited trainzoptions.txt as you suggest and now have normal shaped locos back again, yo!
:D:D:D
file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/Stevie/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-265.jpg-cabinfov=74.7975
-driverfov=63.9863
-width=1600
-height=1024
Brilliant
Steve

Snec
October 24th, 2008, 02:30 PM
Don't forget as well folks, it is not just having a wide screen monitor that makes a difference. It all depends on your graphics card control. With Nvidia, for instance, you can choose from several (wide-screen) resolutions to find one that suits you personally without any stretching or distortion at all.

With the right monitor/video card combination, a large wide screen setup is far superior to a square jobby for displaying or working with Trainz. Only my opinion of course.

steveflanders
October 24th, 2008, 04:15 PM
Good point Snec.
At the moment my old PC and graphics card is currently driving the monitor while I await delivery of my new PC (a replacement of the first delivery - arrived damaged!).
The card isn't particularly powerful but even with its limitations the wide screen view is very good and I certainly prefer it to the previous conventional screen size. If nothing else, I can now fit in more of Donegal's beautiful mountains and a longer stretch of the Barnesmore Gap. I'm definitely a convert.
Steve