PDA

View Full Version : Logiteck Joystick



JimDep
December 3rd, 2007, 02:37 AM
Is there anyway to get a programmable Joystick to work for Trainz 2006?
I have an old Logitech Wingman Force that has a USB and gameport connector. It worked for MSTS but not for Trainz.
Thanks.

Prowler901
December 4th, 2007, 01:45 PM
I don't believe that Trainz supports general joystick drivers. The only controller that is supported is the Rail Driver. I've tried to use a couple different usb joysticks with TRS, but no luck.

Regards,
Todd

Capt_Scarlet
December 5th, 2007, 04:54 AM
I have a Logitech dual action gamepad and I was able to get it to work but you have to program it to match the keyboard commands manually.

John

paulkay21
December 5th, 2007, 09:55 AM
Just bought a programmable gamepad for 7.99 from Aldi and it works a treat in TRS2006 (not tried it in anything else). You have to select which key yoiu want a button to replace but it takes only a couple of minutes and the software is included.:)

jimisham
December 6th, 2007, 02:40 PM
I have a Logitech dual action gamepad and I was able to get it to work but you have to program it to match the keyboard commands manually.

John
Which one do you have? I'm thinking about getting one.

Capt_Scarlet
December 6th, 2007, 04:24 PM
Which one do you have? I'm thinking about getting one.

This one - http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/gaming/pc_gaming/gamepads/devices/288&cl=us,en

It does work but can take a while to set up the way you want. I actually bought it to use with FSX ( and it was cheap ) and while I have set up a profile for TRS I haven't used it a lot with it.

John

JimDep
December 6th, 2007, 07:15 PM
I used the newest Logitech profiler downloaded off the internet with the latest drivers. The Wingman Force still doesn't respond. I programed the buttons on the stick to match the keys on the PC keyboard, but no response once I start the session. I tried both USB and the game port, and launching Trainz from the Profiler. No response. The joystick shows up in Control Panel, works in other applications, but not for Trainz.

PerRock
December 6th, 2007, 08:58 PM
I have one solution... I had a program on my computer that made the joystick act like a mouse...you could always do that...

peter

JimDep
December 6th, 2007, 10:10 PM
PerRock: What program is that?

PerRock
December 6th, 2007, 10:18 PM
try googling "joystick mouse" or something like that, its been about a year since I had it.

peter

Paulsw2
December 8th, 2007, 01:19 PM
Just bought a programmable gamepad for 7.99 from Aldi and it works a treat in TRS2006 (not tried it in anything else). You have to select which key yoiu want a button to replace but it takes only a couple of minutes and the software is included.:)
This is very interesting. I find driving from the keyboard quite a chore, so this sounds like a much better option. Can you give more details about this, ie. what make and how you programmd it? Can you use it for DCC as well as cab driving?

jimisham
December 8th, 2007, 01:42 PM
I asked on the Logitech forum about using the Logitech Dual Action Gamepad
with Trainz.
This is what I was told -
"Yes, by using Profiler. There's one gotcha - you will have to have some app that keeps reading from the pad (for example leave the Profiler window open), otherwise the simulated keys won't work."

Wol_HH
December 8th, 2007, 06:57 PM
I use joycur, it's programmable.

http://www.deinmeister.de/joycur.htm

I thought it's is in English too, otherwise contact me via e-mail for translation (I do my best:D).

Joycur can use in all versions of TRS/TC..
Owners of flight sticks (with throttle) can use the throttle as train brake.

cheers

Wol_HH

paulkay21
December 9th, 2007, 04:52 AM
This is very interesting. I find driving from the keyboard quite a chore, so this sounds like a much better option. Can you give more details about this, ie. what make and how you programmd it? Can you use it for DCC as well as cab driving?
Hi

It is a Tevion Gaming PS3 & PC Programmable Game Pad. It comes with a disc to load the software and can be used in Joystick or Mouse Mode. In mouse mode you can program the buttons to match any key. Havn't tried it in cab mode but can't think of any reason why it wouldn't work. ( I tried the logitech programmable gamepad and couldn' make it work with Trainz)