PDA

View Full Version : Video Card! Why wont it install?



titaniclover
October 1st, 2007, 07:27 PM
This week started out on a bad note.
First I wake up at 5 AM to find my computer screen black. (Bad sign #1)

Later after my father wakes up we pull open the computer to find my video card fried. Capcitor literly blew. OK not that bad just get a new one.

A friend has one for sale we buy it (Amount disclosed), And we find it tripple memory of my old one. (128-512!!)

We put it in and it wont install. (Second bad sign.)

We uninstall old software and still nothing! (Worst sign yet)

I have come to ask for your help.:D

Details are:
I originaly had a GeForce FX 5200 Graphics Card, 128 MB
I now have a RadeonX 1650 Pro, 512 MB Graphics Card. (ATI)

The box says its Vista Ready. But its compatible with WindowsXP.

Everytime I try to install it says it cant find the software.:'(
Does anyone, Have this graphics card in a WindowsXP that can tell me how to install it?

Thanks if you can help.

ad602000
October 1st, 2007, 08:38 PM
you can get the drivers here
http://ati.amd.com/products/RadeonX1650/index.html

Capt_Scarlet
October 2nd, 2007, 03:10 AM
You will need to start XP in safe mode, download and install driversweeper ( http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1655 ). Run the program and uninstall any remains of the Nvidia graphics drivers.
Some would suggest that you also install and run drivercleanerpro ( http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=745 ) to double check the removal of the drivers.
Then you need to download and install the XP ATI graphics drivers from http://ati.amd.com/
Iam not sure if you can do this in safe mode but I think so.


John

NICKEL
October 2nd, 2007, 08:22 AM
If it is an AGP card make sure that your motherboard supports it speed. It may be an 8X card and maybe your motherboard only supports up to 4X. Just a suggestion.

fran1
October 2nd, 2007, 05:53 PM
get the drivers disc off your friend, he should have it. i have 1950 pro installed no problem but have allways used ATI cards. As previously stated you must remove all traces of n videa details from your computer.

titaniclover
October 3rd, 2007, 06:06 PM
OH!
So I need to download that stuff?
Got it! This might help me!
I cant do it tonight. I will over the weekend though.
Thanks for the info.

@fran1
How is it like with Trainz? Good? I hope so.

fran1
October 3rd, 2007, 06:33 PM
its a mid range card, works fine. on a high poly route you may have to lower the sliders to stop any screen judder.
if you have any problems make sure the PSU has enough output to cope. the better the graphics the more juice they take.

titaniclover
October 4th, 2007, 06:37 PM
Guys Thank you SO MUCH! :D :D :D
John if you never said I needed that driver I would of junked the card.
Guys thanks again. :) :) :)

djpip
October 7th, 2007, 03:55 AM
Hi,
Just thought that I would say that I too own this new graphics card and it has never let me down while playing trainz.

Hope you enjoy it !

Dj Pip

Larrymc812
October 8th, 2007, 07:11 PM
I built a computer recently and during my research I came across an interesting factoid: once you have an ATI or Nvidia card installed you face severe difficulties changing to the other. I didn't search further into this as it didn't address what I was doing at the time. However I suggest you do some research on the subject. BTW I used PC Mechanic- I found it very useful with numerous knowledgable members.

darius359au
October 9th, 2007, 12:48 AM
I built a computer recently and during my research I came across an interesting factoid: once you have an ATI or Nvidia card installed you face severe difficulties changing to the other. I didn't search further into this as it didn't address what I was doing at the time. However I suggest you do some research on the subject. BTW I used PC Mechanic- I found it very useful with numerous knowledgable members.

That's weird ,never heard or had that before - I just went from an ATI card to a nvidia 7600gt , I just uninstalled the ATI drivers with the ATI uninstall utility , put my new card in the machine, installed the nvidia driver and carried on from there.Ive always just swaped from one to the other over the years depending on what was good at the time or what i could get a deal on ;)

Larrymc812
October 9th, 2007, 12:05 PM
Well I can't say personally cuz I've always bought mid-level machines and replaced the whole thing a few years later. But I remember that because this one is a C2D and I went with XP and a 7900GS planning to upgrade to Vista and DX10 in the future. Give Vista time to become common and DX10 card prices to become reasonable- and required.

samrec
October 9th, 2007, 12:55 PM
It might give you a C2D if you leave the old drivers behind, but if you remove them (as it should) you would not hava a problem. When just upgrading the cards if the current drivers intalled supports it there is no need for you to remove them