PDA

View Full Version : Updated Asset Help ATLS Controller/Slave TRS19



Christopher824
February 3rd, 2021, 01:17 PM
Updated these assets;
<kuid2:76656:500041:6> ATLS Controller/Slave TRS19
<kuid2:76656:80016:10> ATLS Script Library TRS19

Now build machine says this?
ERROR, fix is required <kuid2:76656:80016:11> Unable to download asset <kuid2:76656:80016:11>. File not available on server, or failed to download.<-- I show this as an unknown asset?
ERROR, fix is required <kuid2:76656:500041:7> Unable to download asset <kuid2:76656:500041:7>. File not available on server, or failed to download.<-- I can't find a ver 7 anywhere

Help? Does this mean there are still stuck in the DLS approval process? If so they should wait until it's available?

deneban
February 3rd, 2021, 02:33 PM
ERROR, fix is required <kuid2:76656:80016:11> Unable to download asset <kuid2:76656:80016:11>. File not available on server, or failed to download.<-- I show this as an unknown asset?
ERROR, fix is required <kuid2:76656:500041:7> Unable to download asset <kuid2:76656:500041:7>. File not available on server, or failed to download.<-- I can't find a ver 7 anywhere

Help? Does this mean there are still stuck in the DLS approval process? If so they should wait until it's available?

I think you are right on target. They are now showing in my CM.

stagecoach
February 3rd, 2021, 05:46 PM
I just tried and clicked on download and version 11 and 7 downloaded but are shown as third party not installed DLS. This was in the beta version 110771. 110491 has no link to them.

deneban
February 3rd, 2021, 10:24 PM
I think you are right on target. They are now showing in my CM.

I do have the versions Chris is looking for, despite the "3rd Party" designation, as confirmed by their config files. Now that I think of it, I remember Mike (Boatz) emailing me these last spring for testing when we were debugging grade crossings on my Fostoria project. He may have gotten his ATLS work interrupted (or ASB has priority). I can easily imagine how the advent of Surveyor <--> Driver rapid switching can reek havoc on ATLS/ASB.

@Christopher824 if you PM me your email I will send you those two assets you are looking for. Or being a contributor, you could PM/email Boatz.

boat
February 4th, 2021, 04:11 AM
Hi Guys,

The update I did a couple of days ago proved to have a small issue. So I updated again about 12 hours ago. When that happens the DLS seems to pull the existing ones off until the new ones have arrived. (They seem to come up partially but not everywhere!).

They should be up and running very soon. The latest will be kuid version 20 for the Controller, 7 for the Controller/Slave and 11 for the Library.

Sorry about the confusion but Trainz didn't like the character I used for string de-limiting. It fell over every so often so I changed it. and it seems happy now.

Shouldn't be long!

Boat

Christopher824
February 4th, 2021, 06:59 AM
Hi Guys,

The update I did a couple of days ago proved to have a small issue. So I updated again about 12 hours ago. When that happens the DLS seems to pull the existing ones off until the new ones have arrived. (They seem to come up partially but not everywhere!).

They should be up and running very soon. The latest will be kuid version 20 for the Controller, 7 for the Controller/Slave and 11 for the Library.

Sorry about the confusion but Trainz didn't like the character I used for string de-limiting. It fell over every so often so I changed it. and it seems happy now.

Shouldn't be long!

Boat

Thanks Boat, makes sense now. I had that happen to an asset I updated once. Being I already have ver 6 & 10, and it's only the build machine complaining, I'll be waiting for the updates.

Thank you again for such great assets!

Christopher824
February 4th, 2021, 07:44 AM
Update. I just ran the file through the build machine again and it passed this time with ver 6 & 10

deneban
February 4th, 2021, 08:39 AM
Thank you again for such great assets!

Amen to that

boat
February 5th, 2021, 04:49 AM
It looks like the latest versions, (the update for the update) is now on the DLS.

You should have....

ATLS CONTROLLER TRS19 - KUID2:76656:500010:20
ATLS Controller/Slave TRS19 - KUID2:76656:500041:7
ATLS Script Library TRS19 -KUID2:76656:80016:11

and if you're using them,

ATLS Tram Signal Lhs Close offset TRS19 KUID2:76656:500030:7
ATLS Tram Signal Lhs Std offset TRS19 KUID2:76656:500014:13
ATLS Tram Signal Rhs Close offset TRS19 KUID2:76656:500031:7
ATLS Tram Signal Rhs Std offset TRS19 KUID2:76656:500015:13

The update was needed as it originally used the '[' character as string delimiter. But that was causing intermittent problems as it clashed with ATLS assets that were map saved, because they use the '[' character too. I hadn't noticed as it worked most of the time.

For the 1st update I swapped it to the '' character which I had been using in another script quite happily, at least until TRS19 SP2. '' seemed to work fine in ATLS so I uploaded the 1st update. Then I started to see some problems after well over an hour of running. It was then that I decided it appeared to be the '' character causing the issue, (which this time was a PostMessage not sending the 'minor' part of the message, just very occasionally).

So I swapped it to the '{' character and updated the update.

Changing from '' on my other script fixed that too. No logic in it but it seems to work all the time now, no more missing messages.

So, sorry for the 2 close together updates.

Please don't name any of your assets with a name containing the characters '{' or '~', (which I also use). They may cause problems with ATLS.

Boat

deneban
February 5th, 2021, 02:01 PM
Hi Mike,

I appreciate your perseverance in overcoming the idiosyncrasies of the main executable.

The "Invisible Train" asset - (:1158:2) still appears as a "built-in" in TRS19SP2. Was wondering if there are any circumstances it would be called upon with the modern ATLS components. Also what precautions should ATLS users take considering it is near end of life on the website.

stagecoach
February 5th, 2021, 06:58 PM
The invisible train asset can control a bridge while the new assets use a script so are unable to keep a bridge open. This is also the case where somebody has used a slave to control a double road crossing but only the barriers of one or the other need to operate. Basically, the invisible train is switched on and stays on until switched off. The new assets just send a single message.

deneban
February 5th, 2021, 07:26 PM
(This post superseded by my next post)

boat
February 6th, 2021, 04:06 AM
Hi Mike,

I appreciate your perseverance in overcoming the idiosyncrasies of the main executable.

The "Invisible Train" asset - (:1158:2) still appears as a "built-in" in TRS19SP2. Was wondering if there are any circumstances it would be called upon with the modern ATLS components. Also what precautions should ATLS users take considering it is near end of life on the website.


My comments about the invisible train assets possibly failing in future is probably just me being over cautious. It stems from an e-mail converstaion I had with an N3V programmer. He just felt that invisible trains are hungry for resources and having lots of them on a route was not a good idea. The scripted methods of Crossing control was the way forward. Hence my new 'Slave' assets.

I have no knowledge that invisible trains WILL fail in the future. I just suspect they might, one day! It may not be till TRS 2030 or TS40, who knows?
I would just recommend using the new Slaves instead if you can.

However, there are situations were only the invisble train version of the Slave will do the job as Stagecoach points out. So try the new version first but if you have to use the invisible train version then do so. Just be aware that if they become a problem, its just possible they may one day fail. No date for this, just one day. A bit like knowing when I can go to the shops again without having to wear a mask!

Have fun,

Boat

deneban
February 6th, 2021, 07:52 AM
Hi Mike,

Very good, so a few questions...

Am I to understand the ATLS dedicated slaves (regular and inverse) summon the Invisible Train daemons and the unified Controller/Slave does not?
For a two-way street double-track level crossing with 2 traffic stoppers and 2 gates, can the unified Controller/Slave be used? Does it depend on the stoppers and gates specifically selected?
Assuming the answer to the first bullet is yes, if a route has say upwards of 15 level crossings that use Invisible Trains, can this cause a significant drain on the simulation fluidity?

stagecoach
February 6th, 2021, 09:08 AM
Part 1 correct, to keep a river bridge closed needs the invisible train or it will open straight away.
Part 2 yes, the new slave allows you up to three ATLS assets in each direction. All existing ATLS components just need a message to operate the animation. All my crossings and 100 plus old slave and controller assets are used in my airport without any noticeable effect.

boat
February 7th, 2021, 04:50 AM
Hi Mike,

Very good, so a few questions...

Am I to understand the ATLS dedicated slaves (regular and inverse) summon the Invisible Train daemons and the unified Controller/Slave does not?
For a two-way street double-track level crossing with 2 traffic stoppers and 2 gates, can the unified Controller/Slave be used? Does it depend on the stoppers and gates specifically selected?
Assuming the answer to the first bullet is yes, if a route has say upwards of 15 level crossings that use Invisible Trains, can this cause a significant drain on the simulation fluidity?




Only the Slave(TF) kuid:76656:500012 and the Inverse Slave(TF) kuid:76656:500019 use invisible trains. Originally this was the only way crossings would activate.
Some time around TRS 2004, (maybe just after?) Auran came up with a 'crossing.gs' script which meant crossings could be controlled by script.

The Slave Trigger kuid:76656:500040 is the scripted replacement for the Slave(TF) and the Inverse Slave(TF). It's a 'trigger' so it can be put on the rail line and communicate directly with up to 6 crossings in the area.
The Controller/Slave kuid:76656:500041 is basically a Slave Trigger with a built-in Controller. It simplifies ATLS placement as you just put it on the track, add ATLS Triggers and set the channel.

The Slave Trigger and the Controller/Slave should work with all 'true' crossings, (Kind-mocrossing and if used, script class crossing). These will respond to an 'activate' message from the Slave and will stay active until they get a 'de-activate' message.
Older specialist scripted crossings may need a constant reminder that a train is there and only work with the older Slaves and the invisible train which stays there for the duration. e.g, The bridge used by Stagecoach as that is probably kind-turntable.
My new slaves just put out an activate and de-activate pulse.

Adding 15 Invisible Trains will slow down your system but I doubt you would notice. Add 15 more and 15 more again and you might. Anything you add to a route will slow the system. It's all a question of reducing a draw on resources as much as you can. Think straws and a camels back!

Boat

deneban
February 7th, 2021, 11:41 AM
...It's a 'trigger' so it can be put on the rail line and communicate directly with up to 6 crossings in the area....

The Slave Trigger and the Controller/Slave should work with all 'true' crossings, (Kind-mocrossing and if used, script class crossing). These will respond to an 'activate' message from the Slave and will stay active until they get a 'de-activate' message.

Hi Boat, thanks for the thorough and well organized reply....

I should have been clearer with my second bullet, the double road/double track crossing is only visual with no Mocrossing asset. Can you reply to my second bullet excluding Mocrossings.



For a two-way street double-track level crossing with 2 traffic stoppers and 2 gates, can the unified Controller/Slave be used? Does it depend on the stoppers and gates specifically selected?

Christopher824
February 7th, 2021, 02:31 PM
For a two-way street double-track level crossing with 2 traffic stoppers and 2 gates, can the unified Controller/Slave be used? Does it depend on the stoppers and gates specifically selected?


The way I read it, you will need 4 triggers on each one of the double tracks, and set it to the 4 triggers system (advanced) (total of 8 triggers) edit-> Yes new controller slave works

boat
February 8th, 2021, 09:36 AM
Hi Boat, thanks for the thorough and well organized reply....

I should have been clearer with my second bullet, the double road/double track crossing is only visual with no Mocrossing asset. Can you reply to my second bullet excluding Mocrossings.



For a two-way street double-track level crossing with 2 traffic stoppers and 2 gates, can the unified Controller/Slave be used? Does it depend on the stoppers and gates specifically selected?



Yes it does depend on the gates and stoppers but most should be OK if they are real crossings. My Stoppers are, though the early original ones were not so use the latest version. As for gates, items like bnsf50's stand alone NRC crossigns will work with the Controller/Slave, but I'm not sure all the bell settings on those assets work exactly as they should.

As Christopher says for 2 way running you will need 4 triggers. Only one Controller/Slave will be needed as that will 'wire' up to all 4 assets. Just set backwards and forwards as required and wire it up with invisible track.

Boat

deneban
February 8th, 2021, 10:12 AM
@Boat, @Christopher824, @Stagecoach Thank you gentlemen.