PDA

View Full Version : Triple Track Tunnels



webodream
December 3rd, 2006, 06:53 AM
Hi,

Is it possible to build triple track tunnels ?

Thanks in advance for your answers
Mig

paulzmay
December 3rd, 2006, 07:46 AM
I don't recall ever seeing one in real life (I'm sure there are some - they're just not typical where I've travelled), and I don't think I've seen one in Trainz. I don't suppose there is anything to stop one being built, but a double with a single alongside would be more normal...

Paul

stagecoach
December 3rd, 2006, 08:06 AM
There was a three track tunnel but not sure who did it and i think jjslll54 (http://www.auran.com/TRS2004/DLS_f.php?CurrentPage=4&DLS_ResultsPerPage=100&DLS_DisplayType=DETAILED&DLS_SortBy=0&DLS_FileSize=0&DLSTC_PREV_TopCategoryID=0&DLSTC_TopCategoryID=0&DLS_VersionID=2.0%2C2.1%2C2.2%2C2.3%2C2.4%2C1.5%2C 1.3&DLS_SearchFla#) did a 4 track one.

webodream
December 3rd, 2006, 10:05 AM
Thanks a lot :)

I will try "merging" a double track tunnel plus a single alongside. That's a good idea.
Well... I'm (trying to) build a route with a triple track tunnel located in Portbou, Spain. Please look at the picture, the only purpose of the third tunnel track on the right is for shunting operations.
Any other tips will be appreciated.

Cheers,
Mig

http://webodream.free.fr/pages/pb1.jpg

JCitron
December 3rd, 2006, 10:41 AM
How about using a 4-track tunnel with one track abandoned?

John

webodream
December 3rd, 2006, 05:33 PM
Hi John,

Because I would like the tracks to be as they are in the real world ;) , but maybe there is a pretty good solution with Andi's kit.
The only thing I can't stand is the retaining wall at the bottom :confused:
But it doesn't matter, the important thing is the tunnel having the 3 tracks. Many thanks for your help.

Cheers,
Mig

http://webodream.free.fr/pages/pb2.jpg

JCitron
December 4th, 2006, 03:18 PM
I forgot about Andy's wonderful tunnel kit. I don't understand the retaining wall either. I suppose you could bury it in behind something else so it doesn't show.

I do understand that you want the authenticity, but in Trainz we sometimes have to compensate unless you have the ability to make something on your own.

John

stagecoach
December 5th, 2006, 07:28 AM
I have found the 3 track tunnel that ive got. It as made by honeymonster1971 kuid:123327:38838. I believe it was custom made and was not placed on the DLS but i could e-mail you it if you want.

webodream
December 6th, 2006, 05:27 AM
I have found the 3 track tunnel that ive got. It as made by honeymonster1971 kuid:123327:38838. I believe it was custom made and was not placed on the DLS but i could e-mail you it if you want.

I sent you a private message :)
Mig

webodream
December 6th, 2006, 05:44 AM
I forgot about Andy's wonderful tunnel kit. I don't understand the retaining wall either. I suppose you could bury it in behind something else so it doesn't show.

I do understand that you want the authenticity, but in Trainz we sometimes have to compensate unless you have the ability to make something on your own.

John

Yes you're right, I tried several combinations and Andy's kit works :D
It's awsome, really.
I'm going to try honeymonster's triple track tunnel too.
In the future I will show you some caps of my work in progress.

Cheers,:)
Mig

stagecoach
December 6th, 2006, 12:04 PM
Hi Mig
Its on its way. hope it works ok.

webodream
December 6th, 2006, 06:31 PM
Hi Mig
Its on its way. hope it works ok.

Thank you Stagecoach, you have email ;)

Mig

webodream
December 11th, 2006, 11:39 PM
I found a previous post of Andi talking about several track tunnels, and I thought it might be interesting for the community to report it in this thread:

________________________________________________

"There is nothing specific for four tracks but it can be done.
The bore is easy - use two sections of Type S (Junction) or Type M (Junction) running in opposite directions -
this will give you a tunnel at least four tracks wide, you just need to add the additional tracks manually.
There is also a Type S (Continuation) which is a track with floor and roof but no walls which can sit in the
middle and expand the width to whatever you want, a structurally dubious thing to do!
The easiest way to get closely spaced twin portals, albeit with dark brickwork, is simply to use the twin
track tunnels by themselves (lower left) I have a 'Portal Wall component' (lower right) which will turn this
into a twin portal but I never actually uploaded it. I will do so though if it helps.
You lose the camera scripting to the portals by doing this. If you wanted to keep that facility you would have
to insert Ramp Templates (122285:3230 from the Station Kit) into the trackwork on the tunnel approach with
their arrows pointing towards the tunnel.
These items contain the same weather and camera script as the tunnel portals although it is disabled by
default.
[Edit: I suppose you could simply use the 'Junction Halls' with the 'Portal Wall' which would give you a four
track portal
with no central pier. This would almost never be done though as it would be structurally uneconomic to span
that far when you don't have to]"

Last edited by andi06 on 31st Jul 2004 at 07:42 PM"
________________________________________________

I don't have the retaining wall problem anymore for I use now :

2 sections of type S (Junction)
1 section of type S (Continuation) in the middle (but in fact any track can suit)
Tunnel Column Pair in both sides
retaining wall
retaining wall portal in both sidesCheers
Mig

http://webodream.free.fr/pages/s1.jpg