PDA

View Full Version : TANE (SP2/SP3), TS12, TS10: Objects: Any option to "Apply rotation" instead manually



Red_Rattler
September 2nd, 2019, 03:03 AM
Mainly for TANE SP2 & SP3, but TS12 & TS10 as well.

Is their any option in the objects to use "Apply" for the chosen rotation you choose for object XYZ?

At the moment, you have to rotate each individual object, and often that takes a lot of time.

SailorDan
September 2nd, 2019, 03:16 AM
Is their any option in the objects to use "Apply" for the chosen rotation you choose for object XYZ?

No. This has been requested several times over the years, but no action yet. It should be the same as for spline height - a Get, a text box for the amount, and an Apply. An option to copy and paste with the same rotation would also be nice.

The versions you mention are not going to be updated, but we can hope for current versions.

Alikiwi
September 2nd, 2019, 03:42 AM
I assume you know about random rotation, but I'm guessing you want things facing the same way?

Red_Rattler
September 2nd, 2019, 06:19 AM
At Alikiwi I doubt piers for XYZ would be suitable for random rotation - usually!

But I think I've found a solution. Just use the copy and paste method, and then move the objects where they're needed.

GreyAreaUK
September 3rd, 2019, 02:29 AM
+1 for adding this as a feature. Seems odd not to be there.

Red_Rattler
September 4th, 2019, 01:00 AM
Looks like this was planned as the objects has an "Advanced" option that doesn't show anything. So they were either planning it, or it was forgotten.

But as much as possible, I try to reduce the number of objects, and use other stuff instead.

JCitron
September 4th, 2019, 11:55 AM
Looks like this was planned as the objects has an "Advanced" option that doesn't show anything. So they were either planning it, or it was forgotten.

But as much as possible, I try to reduce the number of objects, and use other stuff instead.

I believe you're spot on with this. There's been talk about adding in a fixed height tool as well like for splines so we can type in a specific height and apply that to a bunch-o-assets. This is so needed when placing stuff along a raised road on an embankment, buildings, and what not.