PDA

View Full Version : Bug with Train Tab



HPL
August 26th, 2018, 06:12 PM
When a Quick Drive session opens, train tab is present; opening the map then closing it makes it disappear (yes, it can be re-opened via the "Edit Trains" menu). Not convenient at all! And it must be closed to drive the train. Later if it's needed, clicking on "Edit Trains" won't make it show, but clicking on rolling stock applies the action of the last selected icon (e.g. rotate, delete...). So that the train tab becomes impossible to use (unless if, by chance, the last action is the one you need).

PC_Ace
August 26th, 2018, 06:19 PM
In an earlier post, Tony_Hilliam mentioned that the Devs will be adding easier access to the Edit Trainz functionality in a future update. Probably with a Shortcut key combo, which would suit me better than having it constantly visible onscreen.

Tony_Hilliam
August 26th, 2018, 06:52 PM
1. When a Quick Drive session opens, train tab is present; >> assuming you are choosing "QuickDrive from the View Sessions menu?
2. opening the map then closing it makes it disappear (yes, it can be re-opened via the "Edit Trains" menu). >> I'm not sure which map you refer to here? Opening the Minimap doesn't close the Edit trains tab.
3. Not convenient at all! And it must be closed to drive the train. >> Closing it works here.
4. Later if it's needed, clicking on "Edit Trains" won't make it show, >> Opening it works here.
5. but clicking on rolling stock applies the action of the last selected icon (e.g. rotate, delete...). So that the train tab becomes impossible to use (unless if, by chance, the last action is the one you need).
>> Can't repro any of this. I am assuming that step 2 is where things are going wrong so you will need to clarify what you are doing to get the Train tab closed without actually clickig on the Train tab.

HPL
August 26th, 2018, 07:02 PM
1. Yes.
2. Opening map via M key closes Train Tab and it does not re-open once map is closed.
3. I didn't say it can't be closed...
4. Not for me.
5. Nothing particular: as said above, it closes on its own.

Tony_Hilliam
August 26th, 2018, 08:14 PM
Thanks - this appears to be a conflict with the hotkeys. M = minimap, M = Move tool in the train tab.
In theory the Train tab has focus, so how you're able to get the M to opne the map view is the tricky bit here. (the bit we can't repro)
1. Are you on PC or Mac?
2. Are there any other steps in between the route being loaded and you tapping the M key?

HPL
August 27th, 2018, 05:56 AM
1. PC.
2. I select the Quick Drive session, it opens, train tab automatically opens too, I press the M key to open the map, nothing happens. Yesterday it closed on its own, today I'm forced to close it myself. Further operations remain identical as those stated in first post.

Tony_Hilliam
August 27th, 2018, 07:03 AM
1. I press the M key to open the map, nothing happens.
>> I am pretty sure you will see the "Move" tool selected in the Train tab (and clicking A will change the selection to the Add tool).

2. You are "forced" to close the Train tab since Trainz doesn't know when you are finished placing trains. Please explain why this is a problem?

3. Further operations remain identical as those stated in first post.
>> Are you saying that:
(i) Clicking Tools Menu > Edit Trains does not open the tab again?
(ii) Selecting a train and ensuring that you have the "Add" tool selected, then clicking on the track does not place a loco?
(If you clicked M then closed the Train tab, you will have the move tool selected).

HPL
August 27th, 2018, 07:31 AM
1. Yes. In T:ANE, train tab is closed when the session opens, so no problem.
2. The session doesn't start in the place I want to place my train, so first I must open the map to select one, that's why the train tab must be closed otherwise the map won't open. Once the starting point is correct and the map closed, train tab is gone on its own, then I must click on "Edit Trains" to make it go back, I place rolling stock on track and close it. All operations (add, move, rotate, delete...) work as intended at this point. Say a few minutes later I decide to rotate it: as train tab has vanished, I click again on "Edit Trains", it opens, then I rotate my train, everything is OK, except train tab vanishes again when I close it to drive my train. Now if later I want to re-open train tab...
3.
(i) ...clicking on "Edit Trains" seems to have no effect (no train tab showing).
(ii) Cannot select anything as there is no train tab showing, but if I click on my train, it rotates: in fact, train tab is open in the background but invisible.

Tony_Hilliam
August 27th, 2018, 03:39 PM
What screen resolution are you at? Are you sure the tab isn’t off screen?

Have you considered creating a session rather than using quickdrive?

Has anyone else seen the issues described?

HPL
August 27th, 2018, 04:18 PM
2560x1440 (but I tried in 1920x1080, same problem); the tab shows correctly when session opens and when I click on "Edit Trains" for the first time, why would it be off screen later? No such issue in T:ANE.
Not yet created sessions in TRS19 (waiting for new routes...).

HPL
August 29th, 2018, 09:46 AM
I installed from DLS Hafenstadt Rohmrath route (<kuid2:400048:100483:1>), which is version 4.6. Quick Drive is unplayable: when session opens, train tab is active, but invisible, and can't be closed via "Edit Trains" (error message).

tdstead
September 8th, 2018, 02:52 AM
Running it in trs 2019 no user trains to drive but watching lots of ai ones, they do take a while to startup and between them

Tom