PDA

View Full Version : Track direction markers



ccowan2126
July 25th, 2016, 04:16 PM
Can one place too many Track Direction Markers? If I want to keep traffic flowing onto certain tracks through a yard in northerly and southerly directions, will I run into problems by placing too many markers on the tracks? I am attempting to "head off" problems with running AI trains though some large yards.

stagecoach
July 25th, 2016, 04:35 PM
Yes as it restricts movement of all trains. Trains that need to use the yard, runarounds and couple to consists in the yard may all get stuck. Use TM's on the exit tracks and use drive via to keep them out of the yard. This will not prevent the other operations from working.

ccowan2126
July 25th, 2016, 04:40 PM
Good point, thanks.

oknotsen
July 25th, 2016, 05:54 PM
To keep "regular traffic" out of the yard, I use track priority markers. By default a train will try to use tracks that do not have a different priority marker. So putting a prio 3 on entrance and exit tracks of the yard and put direction markers on the through-tracks next to it and your problem is solved with just a hand full of markers (though I usually flag all yard tracks with prio 3 as I like the collor recognition on the map as a nice side effect).

cascaderailroad
July 26th, 2016, 04:40 AM
To help guide the blind AI drivers I place many opposing track direction markers in their path, so they don't travel the shortest route ... I also place train priority markers so that passengers take the train priority 1 path ... and freights take the train priority 2 path (I have no idea what a train priority 3 does, possibly for MOW or special trains) I set my consists so that passengers are priority 1 ... and freights are priority 2

My AI trainz drive very well automatically with only a handful of trackmarkers

JCitron
July 26th, 2016, 07:38 AM
Yes too many direction markers can impede, and sometimes confuse, the AI.

I place direction markers to keep opposing traffic on separate lines. It's not true prototypical US running where CTC territories allow drivers to swap tracks and passing, however, it keeps the AI in tow. :)

I also use direction markers as do not enter signs to keep the AI from taking the long way around on a siding or through industries. This is on a case by case basis as it's not always needed. If I am switching an interactive industry that is blocked, I will manually cross over the direction marker and then let the AI do the work.

What I find helpful in cases of large yards with run-through traffic is to allow for a bypass line, whether that line is through the middle, or off to one side. I direct the AI with a few track markers using simple names like Alliance Yard East Main, Alliance Yard East Middle, Alliance Yard East Exit, etc.

ccowan2126
July 26th, 2016, 12:03 PM
Thanks to everyone. I am experimenting with Track Markers and Track Direction Markers to see what combinations work best. I lot of the route I am altering (Reading & Northern) has double track and I am trying to keep trains using the "right-hand lane" if you will, to keep AI traffic flowing so as not to interfere with me running a separate switcher or local engine.

martinvk
July 26th, 2016, 01:30 PM
I don't think you can have too many of either. Track Markers are just addresses and unless you have a command (Drive/Navigate via/to) one of them, they are just pretty colored pointers. Track Direction Markers can cause confusion if they contradict each other. Since each one affects all of the track between two junctions, a Direction Marker can affect a junction choice very far away. It is easy to make each junction choice a No Entry track because a distant Marker is against you. That is what they do, prevent a train from entering a track if the pointy end is facing that train. They will not force a train to take a specific track. If there are two tracks, both with a Direction Marker pointing in the right direction, other rules will apply; Track Markers if they exist or the path with the shortest distance, etc.