PDA

View Full Version : How do I upload locomotive into Trainz (from Sketchup)?



SDFG8001
June 18th, 2016, 11:11 AM
https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/s/?view=att&th=15564322ad213a0c&attid=0.1&disp=emb&realattid=ii_15564319f539de4c&zw&atsh=1

oknotsen
June 18th, 2016, 01:51 PM
Hi and welcome to Trainz.

Please supply us with a bit more details. Currently your post only shows a broken link / image. That tells us nothing.

But before you do:
Start with registering a version of the game to your account. To do so, go here:
https://www.auran.com/planetauran/SN_Enter_Serialnumber.php
Once you did that successfully, that version will show up next to your forum name.

Next, tell us what you already have done so far, what research you have done, etc, etc.

Note that as long as you do not have a legal version of the game showing next to your forum name, a lot of people will simply ignore your posts as a lot of us don't want to run the risk of helping people with an illegal version of the game.

pware
June 18th, 2016, 04:51 PM
Next, tell us what you already have done so far, what research you have done, etc, etc.

... and most importantly, did you create the locomotive yourself or did you simply find it on Sketchup?

cascaderailroad
June 18th, 2016, 06:10 PM
Sketchup produces ridiculously high poly assets, and is not a good CG program, sure you can reduce the poly somewhat, but it will always be way too many poly, which severely affects framerates

pware
June 18th, 2016, 07:18 PM
I agree with cascaderailroad, while Sketchup is far, far easier to learn and use than 3D graphic design programs like Blender, GMax and 3D Max, there is a severe penalty that you pay for that convenience.

The objects (e.g. locos) created by Sketchup contain far too many "polys" (or polygons - the geometric shapes that are used to construct 3D graphical objects). This reduces the animation display speed ("frame rate" or frames per second) of Trainz/TANE because the GPU needs more time to draw each Sketchup created object on the screen. At 30 frames per second, which many regard as a "good" frame rate, the GPU has to draw every object on the screen (as well as those behind the "camera") 30 times every second. If even one object has an unusually large poly count then it could, depending on the graphic card installed, make it impossible to achieve that moderate frame rate. The result is a very noticeable "stuttering" on the screen.

The same objects created using Blender, GMax or 3D Max have much lower poly counts without reducing the visual quality of the objects themselves. As an added bonus, some of those programs can also create even lower poly versions of the same objects that can be placed further away, using Trainz LOD (level of detail) feature, to even further reduce the work load on the GPU.

For these reasons, Sketchup created objects are not popular in the Trainz community.

PEV
June 18th, 2016, 07:25 PM
As well as the high polygon counts Sketchup does not handle attachment points and animations that are essential for trainz moving assets such as wagons and locos.

If you are new to modelling then I suggest that you get Blender and learn how to use it. There are lots of online tutorials and even some relating to Trainz. We also have an exporter that will make the correct mesh types for this game.

All these items are available via links from posts within this forum. Also there are plenty of people here who are happy to help modellers starting with Blender.