PDA

View Full Version : Trying my first route...



titaniclover
November 27th, 2006, 08:02 PM
ok guys i ve gone through my own procedure in making my first route its fictional but i want to use some real locos for the route but which ones. it can be steam but if you seugest one please tell me where i can get the locos, and NO PAYWARE. :) :)

Overview:this route is fictional. the mainline runs from Farewell to Locke. most of the branch line are industrial but i am currently using larger paper to fit some of the suggestions given for passenger. in the middle and most importatnt industry of the route is Montauk Logging. other industries inclueded at the moment are Logging, Coal, fuels, possibly cattle, hot metal, iron ore, intermodual, and others if you suggest them. the Ports of Kinney, Hollis, Scranton and Spokaneare i will soon have a rough draft of the layot of them.

if you have a suggestion of what season to put it in industry ideas and other line ideas(i am debating if i should put in a NG line here put your comments on that if you would like). loco ideas would also be nice i hope to have an idea of what to do near the begining of December so i can start and possible finish near Christmas time. but that will be decided later. the map below is the overview of the layout. the key is right below it. if you have any questions comments or concerns about it please post i want as much feed back as possible. thank you.:D :cool: :) http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r96/conrailman/HorizonRRKey.pnghttp://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r96/conrailman/HorizonRR.png

WCL
November 27th, 2006, 09:16 PM
Wow....That looks like a route that will take down the PC in frame rates....That more looks like a maze then a train route even though it says fictional but wow all I can say is good luck on that one....For your first route heck I'd just do a circle track with a yard or something and a few industries and go from there just to get the feel of things...But if ya wanna take the big leap and go for something like that...Go for it....Id stick with a 1-5 baseboard just for starters and work your way from there...:) I wish ya luck....

It looks easy on paper...But when ya try it on here....It's a lot harder then you think ;)

titaniclover
November 27th, 2006, 09:18 PM
opps sorry the brown lines are the opptional NG lines. also what season should i put it in?

titaniclover
November 27th, 2006, 09:19 PM
amazing we both came up at the same time

TrainMan12
November 27th, 2006, 09:21 PM
I'd say summer, that's just a sugestion. Also, will it be mountain or just flatland or hills? If this is your first route, mountains might give you trouble. Lol, trust me, I've been there. But hey, it's your route, do whatever you want.

leeferr
November 27th, 2006, 09:30 PM
Looks great, but if this is your first route, you may find it a little overwhelming unless you have a lot of patience and time.
I'd like the fall as it looks like a mountain route.

WCL
November 27th, 2006, 09:40 PM
Yeah thats what I said...If I were him I'd do a lil route first and get a feel for things...Then work your way up to something like that....But that's just my opinion...:)...Good luck ;)

titaniclover
November 27th, 2006, 10:26 PM
i fell pretty confident. ive done quite a few 5-10 basborder diesings. the prblem ill have is signaling. trainman12 part mountain hills flat a little bit of each ya know. im 13 and have school im hoping to get it done before christmas but id highly dought it. yet i get all HW done in school so i have a lot of time at home after school and during weekends. ill probly do all seasons if i can. yet i know that the mainline will mainly be used by CSX so thats a start. my dad says take some of the big companys and put them on the branchlines. but if you think its a good idea ill start in about a week. see what else people say.

WCL
November 27th, 2006, 10:57 PM
Thats a good idea that your dad suggested :)....Sounds like it will be a nice route...What I have seen done is if you wanna do like all seasons...Go in a tunnel and have another season on that side of the mountain...Go in another tunnel and come out the other side for another season...That's one way ya could do it....Hope to see some pix of your progress when you get it rolling ;)

leeferr
November 27th, 2006, 11:24 PM
I wasn't trying to be discouraging. Just want you to be ready for a lot of work. I look forward to seeing some progress screenies along the way and good luck to you.

titaniclover
November 28th, 2006, 08:38 PM
well i put screens if you tell me where i can find the file.

ZapperJet
November 28th, 2006, 08:50 PM
titaniclover,

As far as season, I suggest a high mountain line that ventures into the snow covered terrain. That way it is both Summer and Winter... :p

Edit: I would also like to wish you a plentiful amount of hair! :)

titaniclover
November 28th, 2006, 08:57 PM
:confused: :confused: huh????????:confused: :confused: ohhhhh i get it:rolleyes: :p ;) :) :cool:

Klinger
November 28th, 2006, 09:32 PM
its always better to start small

TrainMan12
November 28th, 2006, 10:54 PM
i fell pretty confident. ive done quite a few 5-10 basborder diesings. the prblem ill have is signaling. trainman12 part mountain hills flat a little bit of each ya know. im 13 and have school im hoping to get it done before christmas but id highly dought it. yet i get all HW done in school so i have a lot of time at home after school and during weekends. ill probly do all seasons if i can. yet i know that the mainline will mainly be used by CSX so thats a start. my dad says take some of the big companys and put them on the branchlines. but if you think its a good idea ill start in about a week. see what else people say.

Lol, I'm 13 too! :) Anyway, mountains might be a breeze for you, I might just suck at them. But, it looks pretty good on paper and good luck! Oh, and worry about signalling at the end. You don't even have to use it if you don't want. You'd be surprised how many lines are in Dark Territory (unsignalled). Just put trackmarks at all of the sidings and junctions, and just tell the AI trains to drive there if there will be a meet. After you've passed, tell them to keep going.

One of the biggest problems I have is staying motivated. You can work all day and only get 4 or 5 boards done. But that's just me, and I have no patience!

Tokkyu40
November 29th, 2006, 12:03 AM
If you don't have signals the AI will treat the whole layout as yellow and run at half speed.
The on-disc manuals in the start-up menu have good instructions on how to do signals. It's pretty easy. You should get the hang of it in no time.
If you do want to run without signals, you can use Invisible Signal Thingies (I think that's the actual name) to make the AI happy without visible signals in Driver.

:cool: Claude

leeferr
November 29th, 2006, 01:09 AM
It's really good to see some young people taking such an interest in this hobby. Any encouragement or help that we can give you, feel free to ask. Someone will know the answer. I would guess that most of the time, you know better than us. :)

titaniclover
November 29th, 2006, 06:43 AM
its goood to see someone the same age as me around here

ZapperJet
November 29th, 2006, 08:10 AM
Lol, I'm 13 too!

Same here! But this is no thread for ages!

titaniclover,

Is there any chance that one of those many branches could be a 2ft Gauge line? It would be convenient for Bdaneal's 2ft Gauge generic shay, and would fit in with the logging scene! :)

Cheers,

~Zapper~

titaniclover
November 29th, 2006, 03:38 PM
possibly im still trying to figure out most of the layout industries.
2ft huh im going to put stations or goods sheds on branches and mainlines to serve for NG. it might be possible to put that in. where do you find some locos and rollingstock mabey scenry or industries for NG. the more i think into it the more im deciding to put it in the route. ill look for signal place ment in the manual. also what are some good programs to use for FREE to change screenshot from what ever to jpg or something no Irfanview.

trainzmainiac2006
November 29th, 2006, 05:38 PM
best of luck to you! your main problem will be to stay motivated. after a few base boards you start to want to do somthing different. but good luck.

john:)

code_red
November 29th, 2006, 09:17 PM
This sounds like a nice route taking shape:)...But take your time and don't rush things...like I usually do and there half arsed done lmao...but the route sketch looks exelent!:)...btw I am 15...16 in Jan:)

titaniclover
November 29th, 2006, 09:28 PM
my father is getting me bigger graph paper. i will then be able to put the route in more track detail.heres the steps
1:sketch out 2-3 plan of route coded in colors
2:ask on forum(what im doing now)
3:using larger paper put in more track detail
4:bit by bit work your way down the line start with mainline
5:dont get to fancy just general buildings and track
6:also do topology in 4&5
7: create brachlines and NG using 3-6
8:last touches signals people ect.
9:show in forum
10:put on DLS!!
note along the way put screenshots and updates in this section to draw more attention.
thats it!

leeferr
November 29th, 2006, 09:56 PM
sounds like you have a plan. Keep steady on course.

titaniclover
November 30th, 2006, 06:23 PM
i hope what i said will draw attention so people that havent made routes before might try this system. trainzmainiac2006 thats what i do all the time but this time i will not. code_red i will make sure i wont do that. i want to get my fist immpression in making a route good. leeferr i have a plan and im sticking to it. and if someone asks me my age ill answer 13 and i aint gettin any younger.lol

titaniclover
November 30th, 2006, 07:23 PM
? when i start where should i start?

leeferr
November 30th, 2006, 07:24 PM
I'm sure that you'll adjust your plan a little as you go along. 13 is a great age. I used to be a member of a model railroad club on one of our very best modelers was about your age. Glad to see you here.

titaniclover
November 30th, 2006, 07:25 PM
really i should start a model RR cloub at school...

sfrr
November 30th, 2006, 08:27 PM
hey you guys no offense but that picture looks A LOT like this thread

http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?t=417

scroll down untill you see the map....

TrainMan12
November 30th, 2006, 08:32 PM
Same here! But this is no thread for ages!

titaniclover,

Is there any chance that one of those many branches could be a 2ft Gauge line? It would be convenient for Bdaneal's 2ft Gauge generic shay, and would fit in with the logging scene! :)

Cheers,

~Zapper~

How would that ultimatley work out with other standard gauged track? The branch line wouldn't be able to re-connect with the other line, but it would be interesting to have a NG line independent from the other line.

titaniclover
November 30th, 2006, 08:57 PM
sfrr your right and i never noticed that before!! i got the idea of graph paper from there i probly did accidently copy it with out knowing it... well should i scrap this or not....
well im not!!!

leeferr
November 30th, 2006, 09:08 PM
really i should start a model RR cloub at school...

good idea. The problem is having a place to put it. You could solve that by building a modular system. Maybe the school would let you set it up on some weekends or some other time for display and operation. The club that I was a member of started out that way. Now, they still have the modular system, but they're graduated into owning and running prototypical stock.

titaniclover
December 1st, 2006, 10:17 PM
tommarow mornin bright and early im starting at Montauk Logging Central. destination 101% comleted and to my best ability. bring camera if i can get film(get screenshots to work)and my freinds on the Trainz Forum to help me through this. this is Adam Wiethuechter top engineer of Horizon RR (mabey) signing in. dispatcher:your all clear kid now lets blow this thing together and go home but make sure its neat and well done. yes sir.

titaniclover
December 3rd, 2006, 06:32 PM
there is to be a delay in the consturction of my route. as the christmas season is coming up i will not have time to start and to delay even more my third marking period is ending this week! and i would like to keep on top of my grades and get a good start in the 4th marking period i will be on the forums but not in surveyor. i would also like to do somemore reasearch and get some track plans of yards to use in the route. because of this im going to start the route near the end of January 2007 hoping to be finished by September the same year. most construction will go on during vacations and summer break. thank you as i am terribly sorry for the enconvinence i will get back as soon as possible. if anyone would like to be a Beta Tester when the route is finished Email me at vaderrunner (at) yahoo (dot) com. i already have CozmoR, as i have emailed him asking yet i have not got a word back from, so i will need 2 more testers and a back up just in case. thank you for your support.

titaniclover
December 3rd, 2006, 06:37 PM
i also have a cold so this will as well keep me down.

redline41190
December 4th, 2006, 10:02 AM
being sick never stopped me:D I actually work more on things when i'm sick than ever. I've always had this idea to make a huge layout in trainz, but never go to finishing it. Over the summer I might (its a 2ft!! NG route, in wales!) But being in High school and having 3 AP classes makes it tough to get work done..;)

The only two that i've almost or finished is the first Rhieds Railway (which is the only 2'3" on the DLS :D ) and the one in my sig, the Alaric Vale (both summer and winter versions), but that one needs the small details (like trees and stuff...:D)
Just keep pluggin' along you'll get there!

titaniclover
December 4th, 2006, 02:51 PM
thank you for that comment but i wish not to work while im sick.

titaniclover
December 24th, 2006, 09:53 AM
im going look at Cayuga Jct. thread.